Silk shawl

I have to start by telling you that the comments about poor Maggie made me laugh – it wasn’t the conference call that made her look that way.  She has two looks – maniac dog and sad dog.  Sad dog usually gets her treats so she does the face all the time (maniac dog means its time for her to go out and run).  So no worries – she’s actually a happy, if not spoiled, dog.

You know it is summer when the first zucchini is picked. 

458

This one is really little – we seem to get either little ones or giant baseball bat zucchini.  I was really excited to see it, though – it means that soon we’ll have lots of good things to eat out of the garden.   I love having a garden – I actually don’t do anything in it – Larry does, but I get to eat it.  Perfect!

OK, knitting blog….

On Saturday, I cast on for the Shetland Triangle from Wrap Style.  I used the laceweight silk from Sunnyside Ellen that Larry gave me for Mother’s Day.  Love the yarn – amazing color and sheen.  Just didn’t like it in the pattern…

449

OK, part of it is that the pattern calls for fingering weight and this is laceweight (the whole time I was knitting I was telling myself that it was almost fingering…and I didn’t realize it called for fingering until after I started it).  But it was on size 6 needles and just looked blah.  I couldn’t really see the pattern, and I knew that its days were numbered when I kept on stopping and looking at it and trying to find the pattern.  Rip.

I looked through my Ravelry queue – the skein had 660 yards so most of the laceweight shawls in my queue were out.  But then I found it – Swallowtail Shawl (Ravelry link) – I have plenty of yarn, and it is just so pretty – a much better fit for the yarn…

454

What do you think?  I think it looks much nicer – smaller needles, smaller pattern.  I can’t remember what repeat I’m on (always a good sign!) but the 6 row repeat is perfect train knitting….I took this on Sunday, but it is probably double the size now….

456

It is amazing what the right pattern does for yarn, isn’t it?  I’m looking forward to the nupps section!

OK, off to knit – have a great week! 

20 Responses to Silk shawl

  1. Awesome Mom says:

    Much better! I saw some pretty silk while I was on vacation and ever since then I have been pondering an excuse to get some. It was so soft! Have fun with your new project.

  2. That’s such a big difference from one pattern to the next. Both of those shawls are on my list for someday but I’ll remember that the Shetland Triangle really needs fingering.

    The zucchini really looks like summer, I saw some in the store recently and have been playing with them ever since. You’re so lucky to have a garden.

  3. Wanda says:

    The Shetland Triangle definitely didn’t look right with the needle size you were using. But Swallowtail Shawl looks just right as the perfect pairing

  4. Josiane says:

    Yeah for that first zucchini!
    The yarn is really pretty, and will make a gorgeous Swallowtail shawl!

  5. Stephanie says:

    I think that’s the best way to eat food–find someone who’ll garden it for you. 😉 My dad keeps a vegetable garden which began because of my love of homegrown tomatoes. Soooo good. I’m going to have to figure out how to grow them myself once I’m fully moved out.

    I think it was a good decision to switch to Swallowtail. Shetland looks kind of ragged, honestly. It IS amazing how the right pattern has to converge with the right yarn!

  6. Definitely a better pattern choice for your yarn! And the shetland triangle looks good with anything from fingering up through Aran, so you’ll have a lot of choices there.

  7. Lisa says:

    That’s going to be lovely – you are on a real lace knitting streak!

  8. Arleta says:

    That shawl is going to be awesome. Lace is so fun. Now, where is that ufo of the lace shawl I was working on? lol

    Maggie is a cutie. I told Lil AR what you said about her ‘getting treats face’ and she thought that was funny.

  9. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- That’s such a pretty color. I enjoyed doing the Swallowtail, I want one in every color.

    Is it zucchini time already?

  10. Jeanne says:

    You are right…the swallowtail shawl is a much better choice for that yarn. It’s going to be lovely when it’s done.

  11. Rachel says:

    Nice demonstration! I love your second choice, will knit it one day too,,, maybe 🙂

  12. weezalana says:

    Definitely a smart move switching to Swallowtail! (btw, Shetland also looks really good in worsted.)

  13. Carin says:

    You have a good discerning eye. Choosing the right yarn for the project can be half the fun or angst.
    What’s your favourite way of serving zucchini?

  14. nvrenough says:

    Just wanted to say thanks about your comment. I joined the 10 minutes a day group on Ravelry. I hope it helps the spinning.

    Your shawl is gorgeous.

  15. Jennifer says:

    Oooo! Very pretty!

  16. hakucho says:

    Your shawl looks perfect to me. Yes, You HAVE to find the right pattern for the yarn you are using…this is a perfect example 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

    Enjoy your zucchini 🙂 Yum , nothing better …

  17. Opal says:

    I like the smaller needle version better too. What a difference a few mm’s makes! Now I’m in the mood to knit lace. You know I bought some Alpaca to make that shawl. *hrm*

    That zucchini looks scrumptious.

  18. tiennie says:

    Yes to the smaller needles.

    Mmmm… zucchini and squash roasted with olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic – my favorite way to eat them!

  19. donna lee says:

    The swallowtail shows off the yarn much better and the pattern is easier to see. It’s such a pretty summer color!

  20. Kim says:

    Lovely!

    Are you going to make it to specs or increase the size? I was a little disappointed that mine was so small. Guess that is an excuse to make another.

Leave a Reply

