Icarus

I hope you don’t mind if I gush a little and post just a few pictures…but I’m just so pleased with how it turned out….

433

I blocked it the other night, and tonight I finally weaved in all the ends.  And it is done. 

Pattern:  Icarus (Ravelry link)
Yarn:  Yarn Chef Buttercream, Meadow Pond colorway
Started:  April 18, 2008
Finished:  June 17, 2008

I didn’t realize it took me two months to make this (no wonder I was getting bored!). 

437

I am always just blown away by what blocking does to lace.  I thought the shawl was nice unblocked – but seeing it blocked – wow.  What an amazing pattern!  I really did enjoy knitting this (for all my whining and complaining) and I think it would make a good shawl for a beginning lace knitter.    And now that I’m done and see how nice it is – I want to make another one.

432

What can I say about the yarn?  It is simply beautiful.  I wish you could see this in person because the colors are actually a little deeper.  And you can’t beat the yardage and price – I bought two skeins (each 880 yards) probably have 700 or so yards left of the second skein (totally unscientific guess – but I added in the second skeins around chart 3, so I didn’t use much).  The yarn is so soft and it is just so pretty.  I love Yarn Chef yarn, and would recommend it.

439

I am so glad to be done with this project, and I love it.  I’m very tempted to start a new lace project – and I just might.  I need train knitting – but I also think I need to finish at least one of the projects that has been hanging around in the basket.    But those are a little big for the train…so maybe a nice silk shawl….what do you think?

Just in case you are tired of all the lace pictures, I thought I’d show you Nipper who has a drinking problem (and yes, I know – its terrible that I let her do this long enough so I could take a picture!).    Just in case you are concerned – it is milk in the cup, not coffee or a drink.

426

Have a good rest of the week!

36 Responses to Icarus

  1. chris says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous!!!! And I think a nice silk shawl would be a perfecct project.

  2. Cookie says:

    Oh, Jeanne, it’s beautiful! You did a wonderful. Isn’t it amazing what blocking can do?

  3. Lisa says:

    I was going to write gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous – but I see Chris beat me to it! Consider it written anyway – it is absolutely stunning. Now go find a great shawl pin and go flaunt that baby!!

  4. Denise says:

    Oh that looks beautiful, I wish I had the patience to knit it! Nipper is so sweet.
    🙂

  5. Jeanne says:

    Beautiful!

    I let Pudding drink out of my cup all the time. Michael thinks that is gross, though.

  6. Stunning! Just beautiful and perfectly blocked! You’ve reignited my desire for an Icarus shawl of my own,

  7. Jeannie says:

    It’s very pretty and I like the color!

  8. Peggy says:

    Absolutely beautiful!

  9. Opal says:

    Gush away. That shawl is to die for! It’s dripping gorgeousity. (I know there’s no such word. I had to make up one just for this shawl of yours.)

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- It’s beautiful-

    and handy to have a daughter as a model.

  11. Josiane says:

    Beautiful! It’s fun to see how quickly it can go from “it-got-a-bit-boring-at-some-point” to “it-was-all-worth-it” once it’s done and blocked!

  12. Natalie says:

    I’ve always been a bit “meh” about that pattern, but yours makes me want to knit it!

  13. Nichole says:

    I hope to knit Icky someday…. its just beautious!

  14. weezalana says:

    Wow! That is really beautiful! All the lace you’ve been knitting lately has rubbed off on my- I just invested in my first skein of laceweight and plan to cast on Seascape soon!

  15. weezalana says:

    P.S. Cat picture – AWESOME.

  16. Sourire11 says:

    It’s beautiful!!!

  17. Linda says:

    Its so beautiful, I love the blues and greens of the yarn. It looks big – did you add repeats?

    Congrats and enjoy wearing it. I’ve already worn mine twice in cold restaurants.

  18. tiennie says:

    Gush some more! It turned out beautifully!!!

  19. Oiyi says:

    That is a fantastic looking shawl! I always admire people that knit lace.

  20. titianknitter says:

    Welcome to the addiction that is lace knitting! Two months sounds about right for a full-size shawl. Looks like that yarn has really good stitch definition.

    Damn, I miss cats.

  21. Chelle says:

    Icarus is absolutely perfect! Don’t you just LOVE lace knitting? You did a fantastic job. Congrats.

  22. lobstah says:

    Spectacular, Jeanne! The color is divine–perfect for summer!

  23. Lisa says:

    Wow! It’s gorgeous!

  24. Wanda says:

    Icarus is just beauitful. I’ve really got to try some of the Yarn Chef yarns. I’ve seen them on her Etsy shop, but have not yet succumbed.

  25. Carin says:

    You’re too modest, you should be gushing and not just a little bit, your Icarus is gorgeous!

  26. Shea says:

    The icarus turned out fantastic! Great job! You have a perfect right to be bragging!

  27. jennygirl says:

    Alleluia! Alleluia!
    Gorgeous…..absolutely gorgeous.

    I would wait a while before you start another one. Just enjoy this one for now.

  28. Susan says:

    The shawl is beautiful. My favorite pic though is of Nipper, what a nice looking cat!

  29. Ren says:

    your icarus is absolutely gorgeous… i love the colors, too. : )

  30. lilypily says:

    Wow, this is stunningly beautiful. So glad I didn’t miss seeing it. :o) You HAVE been busy while I’ve been gone. :o)

  31. rhoda says:

    icarus is breathtaking! I love the color too. you did a fantastic job knitting it!

Leave a Reply

