Halleliuh!

Helleliuh!  I have something soaking in my sink….

417

That’s right – tonight, right before dinner, I cast off the last stitch of Icarus!  I was so excited – it was definitely time for me to be done with this project.  I thought that I was done last night when I did the last row of chart 4 – but the designer was sneaky and added four edging rows.  I was so bummed – but I finished them today, and its now socking in its bath waiting for me to block it.  I’m going to block it on the bed in the office – hopefully Larry will keep the cats off it tomorrow – and I’ll be able to unpin it after work.

I don’t want to be boring with a lot of unblocked shots, but I’ll give you a little hint of how it looks…

414

(is it me or does it look really crooked?  I hope its how I threw it on the chair!).  I really enjoyed this project – right up to the point where I hated it and it became a chore!  I think I’m going to love wearing it though – and I’m very pleased with it.  More details when I have blocked pictures.

I had a really great weekend – just in case you were curious, golf with Andrew was a lot of fun – and he only beat me by two strokes.  Two.  For all his trash talking, he couldn’t do better than that.  We did bet on the game, so I lost – but I think next time I just might get my money back.  I really played well – my best game ever – so perhaps the competition helps my game (Larry was rolling his eyes the whole time reminding me that I do this for fun, not to “crush” my kids….)!  But we had a really nice time, and Cieara joined us for dinner on the deck and it just was a great start to the weekend. 

Saturday was WWKIP day – and of course, I stayed home – and the knitting group came to my house!  I knit in public everyday so no big deal and we had a really nice time.  I got to spin and it was really nice to spend time outside.  I bought a little more roving this weekend – Lisa opened an Etsy shop!  I was so excited – I had to buy the roving I was drooling over.  She does beautiful colorways – go check it out!

Today was Father’s day  – a little running around, a little cooking, but enough time for a end of school year celebration pedicure with Cieara, and of course, time to finish Icarus.   

420

Dan came for dinner, and it was nice to have the whole family together for a meal.  They all scampered away right after dinner – as always – but it was just good to have them all back at my table.  It doesn’t seem to happen too often lately – I’m going to have to see if I can change that. 

Larry loves blueberries, so I made him a Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake – I love this recipe  – it is so good – I highly recommend it.    I’ve made this type of coffee cake before, but this recipe is different – just amazing (I really need to get back to going to the gym on a regular basis now!). 

OK, time to go pin out Icarus.  I’ll post pictures of it later this week….have a great one!

 

 

 

18 Responses to Halleliuh!

  1. Christianne says:

    Icarus is beautiful – can’t wait to see it blocked! That coffee cake looks delicious, too – glad you had a good weekend!

  2. Rachel says:

    Your Icarus looks very pretty and the cake – I am NOT going to try this one 🙂

  3. Congrats on getting it done… those last few stitches can sometimes be a chore. I can’t wait to see it blocked.

  4. hakucho says:

    Your Icarus is beautiful. The color is incredible. Your blueberry coffee cake looks delicious. I’ll have to give it a try sometime…thanks for the link 🙂

  5. Lisa says:

    Congrats on finishing Icarus! I nearly cried during casting off it took so long. Its going to be absolutely beautiful when its blocked.

    Your package is in the mail today!

  6. donna lee says:

    What an accomplishment. I am getting ready to start my first lace weight shawl and hope it turns out as nicely as your icarus did. I love the color. Now you have something for all those cold a/c filled buildings.

  7. Josiane says:

    How fun that your knitting group came to your house for WWKIP day! Your Icarus is beautiful, I’m sure you’ll enjoy wearing it a lot.
    That cake looks simply yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  8. weezalana says:

    Your Icarus looks great unblocked – can’t wait to see it fully blocked! (And I’m sure it’s just how you threw it on the chair.)

  9. tiennie says:

    It looks great!

    Sounds fun! I regularly try to crush my kids are karoake revolution and dance dance revolution. It teaches them humility, right?

  10. Jennygirl says:

    Yea! Yea! I think it’s the way it’s laying on the chair. Fabulous…absolutely fabulous, doesn’t it feel great to see this FO?
    Congrats. I know it was a labor of love 🙂

  11. Cookie says:

    Yay!

    Congrats on living to finish Icarus!

  12. Lauren says:

    Bravo! Icarus looks beautiful! Crooked? Are you nuts?!

    But does this mean I should buy some long johns because hell will freeze over now?

  13. Jeanne says:

    That last shot made my stomach grumble! I can’t wait to see Icarus in all her glory.

  14. Jennifer says:

    Ooo! Can’t wait to see a blocked Icarus! It already looks so beautiful.

  15. Lorraine says:

    Yay- it’s all but done.

    BTW- cats can be very helpful in the blocking process.

  16. ashley says:

    Gorgeous shawl!

  17. Punkin says:

    Your Icarus is beautiful. I want to try the coffee cake recipe. It looks delicious.

    Thank you for the congratulations on my son’s graduation. I teased him Sunday night by walking through the room where he was watching TV and asking if his homework was caught up. It made him stop and think for a minute.

  18. Opal says:

    I’m so happy you finished Icarus! Picture me doing a snoopy dance for you. Or not. It might scar you for life…

Leave a Reply

