Roving

I am working from home today – so instead of waking up at 4:30, I woke up at 6:45…ahhhh…   I probably could have slept a little longer, but I like to get started early   – I have a ton to do today – but rather than logging in, I decided to sit and watch the news for a few minutes and drink my coffee.  And then I started reading blogs….now its 7:30 and I decided that maybe I can take a few minutes and blog myself….so much for getting started early!

Last night, Larry and I went to NJPAC to see Movin Out – it was so good.  The dancing was amazing – I didn’t actually know anything about this other than it was based on Billy Joel’s music, so the whole thing was a surprise (yes, I know that some people do actually research things they go to see before they see them!).  It really was very good – if you ever have the opportunity, I highly recommend.  Before the show, we went to dinner at a restaurant in the Ironbound section – very good food – Larry had paella, I had shrimp and it was delicous (the martinis were very good too!)  All in all, a really nice night out.  

Chris and I were IM’ing earlier this week, and somehow she convinced me to order roving from The Loopy Ewe (she’s evil like that).  I had never ordered from Loopy Ewe before but what a great experience!  I couldn’t believe how fast I got the order – and the whole thing was just so easy that I’m sure I’ll be ordering from them again.  

Anyway, back to the roving – this is from The Dyeing Arts – it is 100% superwash merino and the colorway is Goth Chick duo – this is two different colorways (2 oz each) that go together.  I love it and can’t wait to spin it up. 

412

There were so many pretty rovings that I had a hard time deciding – so Larry picked this one out.  it is from Sakina Needles, and it is BFL in the Popsicles colorway.   Gorgeous and just so soft…

413

I really was trying hard not to pick anything blue – I have a lot of blue everything and I am trying to branch out.     But….did you see Lisa’s gorgeous roving that she hand-dyed (check out her Flickr slide show  – gorgeous!)?   I love this one particularly – I am always drawn to shades of blue and green.  Sigh.  Lisa is dyeing this all up for a local show, so if you are lucky enough to be in the area, you should go and check it out! 

I have 6 more rows of Icarus to go – I think I’ve said 4000 times that I’m going to finish “this weekend” but I’m actually hoping that I really can finish it.  I have knitting group tomorrow, so that will give me lots of time.  Cross your fingers for me – this thing needs to be done!

OK, I guess I should actually go work since “working from home” should probably involve work, don’t you think?  The good news is I’m actually taking a half day.  Andrew came home from college last weekend, so we are going to play golf this afternoon.  This is the first time I’ve played with him – and I’m a little nervous.  Andrew is VERY SERIOUS about golf and super competitive.  I’m not very serious about it at all, and although I’m normally pretty competitive – I suck at golf so bad that I can’t really do anything other than laugh (and cheat!).  But I’m looking forward to it – it is a beautiful day and being out in the sun is better than being in an office building! 

Have a great Friday!

 

13 Responses to Roving

  1. Beth says:

    Oooohhhh…. The Loopy Ewe is addictive. 🙂 Gorgeous stuff.

  2. Leigh says:

    Hi! Love your Sakina Needles colorway! 🙂 I’m definitely enjoying the one I have – so soft indeed. We gotta get together and color some yarn sometime… Have a great weekend!

  3. Jeanne says:

    Such pretty roving. Chris obviously needs to be stopped.

  4. weezalana says:

    Roving always looks so fluffy and pettable to me! Almost makes me wish I was a spinner! I got a drop spindle once, but never had the urge to pick it up (which apparently, didn’t stop me from buying the thing), so I sold it later.

    If Andrew gets too serious when you’re golfing, just send him to his room. 😉

  5. chris says:

    Mwahahahaha!!!!!! Gimme dat roving!

  6. Opal says:

    Yummy roving. I really adore that Gothic Chick Duo. It’s right up my alley!

  7. Lisa says:

    Ooh…I’ve never ordered from Loopy Ewe – may have to try that out. I often go to the site and drool all over my monitor.

    As for my roving…I’ll be emailing you this weekend!

  8. hakucho says:

    Your new roving almost looks good enough to eat…yum 🙂
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  9. Jennifer says:

    Ah, such gorgeous roving. Sheri has the most tempting things in her shop.

  10. Carin says:

    Do you know how hard it is to type with crossed fingers?
    Both of the rovings look like fun to spin…
    and it must be nice to have a bunchkin home from college.

  11. Peggy says:

    Gorgeous rovings.
    The golf adventure sounds fun – I’ve been taking my 3 and 5 YOs out and we love it, but it’s embarrassing when 5yo out-drives me!

  12. tiennie says:

    Pretty! Have a great weekend!

  13. Jennygirl says:

    These rovings are beautiful. I can’t wait to see them spun. It’ hard to branch out from what you like colorwise. I always try but tend to go to the hot side of the color wheel myself.

Leave a Reply

