Coloring

It was unbelievably hot here on the East Coast this weekend – and there was nothing else to do but stay inside in the AC, and do inside stuff.  Yesterday Cieara and I cleaned out her room (fun!), and today we all went to the mall and did a little shopping.  But I also had lots of time for fiber stuff – I’m half way done with chart four on Icarus (See Lisa I haven’t stopped on it and am still going on it!), and I even did a few rows on the Ballet Cami.  And I did a little coloring too…

404

I know its a bit blurry – but it was the only picture I took of this yarn that actually got the color right – every other picture made it look pink.  I used Kool-Aid and Knitty to dye this – and I think its really nice – sort of a coral.  I’m thinking that I may use this to make Ene’s Scarf (Ravelry link) – wouldn’t that be nice?

I also did some sock yarn – I’m not sure what I’m going to do with this – I obviously didn’t squeeze the dye through all the way and there is a lot of white still…

408

But I sort of like it, and think even with the white it looks nice.  But I thought that perhaps I should overdye it with another color – or with yellow.  What do you think?

I obviously shouldn’t quit my day job and become a full time dyer though, eh?  I really enjoyed myself though, and think I may try this again with “real dyes“.  There is something about the creative process of putting colors together and changing basic white yarn to something that you only saw in your mind (and apparently I saw popsicles in my mind!).

I also did a little more coloring today….

411

Yep, dyed my hair (aren’t you glad I didn’t use Kool-Aid?).  I usually go somewhere to have this done, but decided to see if I could do it at home.  And I sort of like it – even when I really didn’t brush my hair well!

OK, I’m off to knit a little more on Icarus….have a good week!

13 Responses to Coloring

  1. Denise says:

    Wow, well done on the dying (the hair and the yarn), love the colors.
    It’s hot here a lot now so I’m inside a lot too! (austin tx, mid 90’s nearly every day) (sigh).

  2. Carin says:

    Well, to be honest, I would have been amused if you did use the Kool-Aid for your hair.
    The yarn and your hair turned out quite nice.

  3. weezalana says:

    Great dye jobs (the hair and the yarn)! On that second one, it doesn’t look like there’s that much white in the pic, I’d keep it! But why don’t you knit up a little swatch and see how you like it?

  4. Opal says:

    I love the coral yarn! It came out perfectly. I’d love to see the sock yarn knit up. I think it will make a beautiful pair of socks.

    Funnily enough, I dyed my hair today too. 🙂

  5. chris says:

    awesome – how do you get your koolaid colors so bright? Whenever I did that they seemed washed out. It is still hot – I didn’t know NJ became a tropical jungle, but that’s what it feels like!

  6. hakucho says:

    Great job on the dyeing, both hair and yarn 🙂

  7. rhonda says:

    I thought it was about time I checked out your work. I think the dyeing turn out great. Ene’s scarf would be a good choice.

  8. Lisa says:

    Very pretty sock yarn…maybe swatch a bit to see how it knits up and then decide if the white bothers you? I’ve also been up to my elbows in the dyepot getting some roving done for a vendor market at a local event in two weeks…I’m nervous about whether anyone will like my stuff!

  9. tiennie says:

    Great job on the dyeing – yarn and hair!

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I did the same thing- dyed my hair, went to the mall with my daughter, she cleaned her room and I mixed up some dyestock in preparation for this weekend.

    Fun, eh?

  11. Jennygirl says:

    My Kool-aid experience was just okay as well. Thought I planned well, but not really.
    Fun but messy.

    Your hair looks great! I would have never thought it was not professional or natural. Great job.

  12. titus2woman says:

    I am enjoying finding your blog~even if you do have me lustin’ after YARN yet again! SOOO PRETTY! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  13. rhoda says:

    the yarn you dyed for ene’s scarf is gorgeous!! I love, love, love that color!

Leave a Reply

