Tuscany

Larry never reads my blog – I doubt he knows what the URL for it is.  He’s aware of it, of course – he doesn’t even blink when I take pictures of muffins, or force Cieara to stand on a chair so I can get a better picture of socks.   He’s supportive of my knitting and blogging, but just never got into reading it (maybe because he hears about knitting enough in real life?).  And that’s ok – especially tonight.  Because I can show you that I finally finished his Father’s Day socks….

393

Pattern:  Its something from Sensational Knitted Socks – can’t remember.  If I find it, I’ll update.  How is that for helpful?
Yarn:  Lorna’s Laces, Shepherd Sock, Tuscany colorway
Started:  March 24
Finished:  June 4

OK, not my fastest sock, eh?  No excuse other than I was spending a lot of my commute time on the shawl.  Now that the shawl is too big to take on the train, I went back to the socks.  Well, some of the blame for it taking so long is also that I’m more likely to sleep on the train than knit lately.  I’ve been trying to stay awake, but getting 5 or 6 hours of sleep is just not enough. 

Are you wondering why the pictures are particularly bad?  Its because I was hiding in the bathroom to take the picture so Larry wouldn’t see.  Terrible light in there.   But I wanted to blog them so I can wrap them.  If I get a better picture when he has them, I’ll post in Ravelry.

396

I do love Lorna’s Laces Shepherd’s Sock.  Really love it.  I think it may be my favorite sock yarn.  I just love the way it feels and the stitch definition.  And the colors.  I think I bought this at Loop last year during a knitting group yarn crawl (and I just realized its been a year since I went to Loop – I think its time for another yarn crawl!).

We bought the dogs a new dog bed – its huge and really squishy and nice.  And the dogs haven’t really had a chance to try it out…because someone has taken it over. 

391

Don’t you wish you could be that relaxed?  Have a great rest of the week!

 

16 Responses to Tuscany

  1. Rachel says:

    Wonderful photo of the cat, he looks so content! and the present looks really nice even in the little blurry photos.

  2. Opal says:

    Handsome socks! I think Larry will love them.

    Love the cat picture. If only I could have relaxed like that on the plane home. 😉

  3. The socks are striking socks, that pattern looks very interesting especially with the colours in the yarn. I love that you hid in the bathroom to get pictures… did anyone start banging on the door claiming it was their turn?

  4. Jennifer says:

    The kitty looks like he wants to become part of the bed. Ah, the relaxation.

    Gorgeous socks!

  5. Kim says:

    Love the color of yarn and the pattern. Looks great!

  6. hakucho says:

    Larry’s socks are wonderful. He’ll love them!! It will be a wonderful surprise for him 🙂

    Your sleeping kitty is so precious…yes, I think I need that kind of relaxation…maybe I need a new bed too 🙂

  7. Natalie says:

    That’s a good pattern for the LL. I have a pair of socks in LL Tuscany too:
    http://knitting.xaviermusketeer.com/?p=836

  8. Jeanne says:

    Very cool socks. He’ll love them. I am not surprised that the cat has taken over the dogs’ bed. Cats take what should rightfully be theirs, after all.

  9. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I love the socks-and he will too. ALot of people swear by Lorna’s laces.

    My DH never reads my blog either- he came to the conclusion that I was nuts years ago, and now I’ve found more crazies online.

    I mean that in the nicest possible way.

  10. jennygirl says:

    The socks were finished in time, that’s all that really matters.
    Ahhh to be that comfortable and relaxed.

  11. Sourire11 says:

    Very cool socks – Lorna’s is my fav sock yarn so far, too! That colorway is really great.

  12. Ooh, wonderful Father’s Day socks!!

    I hope *my* husband doesn’t read your blog, or he’ll wonder why his slacker wife hasn’t made him a pair!!

  13. weezalana says:

    Great man socks! Hmmm, maybe I should get around to knitting Hubster those Valentine’s Day socks I promised him er, in 2007…

  14. lilypily says:

    Oh great combination of yarn and pattern. They look wonderful. Hope he loved them.

  15. tiennie says:

    You’re too funny. Stealth blogging. 🙂 Great socks!

  16. Susan says:

    Great socks, but gotta love the cat pic!

Leave a Reply

