Portable project needed…

Yesterday, I had a doctor’s appointment and Larry came with me.  The last time I went to see this doctor, I waited for quite some time so I knew I had to have knitting with me.  Unfortunately, the knitting I am currently using as portable knitting is a gift for Larry for Father’s Day – so I couldn’t knit that in front of him.  So I had to have another project to bring as a backup portable project….what to bring…hmmm….

I joined the Sock Yarn Swap from your Stash swap a month or so ago, and its time to send out the package to my swap partner (No, really – its related…wait for it…).  When I was going through my stash looking for the yarn to send, I came across some handspun DK-ish weight yarn I spun last year.  And I knew that this would be the perfect next portable project (see?  it all comes together…)

386

This is from roving from Crown Mountain Fibers – its superwash merino in the Say a Little Prayer colorway (looks like that colorway is discontinued). 

387

I can’t say that this is consistently spun yarn – but I am sort of enjoying knitting with it – and I think the bumps are just adding to the squishyness of the sock.  These will be great socks to wear in the winter – soft and warm, but will remind me of spring with the colors. 

I really had a nice weekend – and I have to admit – I still haven’t logged into work yet.  After the doctor’s appointment yesterday, I had knitting group – always a nice Saturday afternoon spending time with fellow knitters.  Today was a beautiful day in NJ – Larry and I were supposed to go golfing, but this morning, I spent some time sitting on the deck and decided that I’d really rather just have some down time sitting outside, knitting and relaxing.  So we skipped golf, and I made some muffins…

388

Don’t they look good?  These are from a cookbook we bought last night – we don’t have anyone in the family with diabetes, but the recipes are for foods we are eating now – less empty carbs, more grains, healthy proteins, and lots of vegetables (I’m not sure how this is going to go over with the kids coming home for the summer!).  Anyway, the muffins are so good – blueberries and dried cherries…yum.   Anyway, the cookbook has lots of good recipes – I’m looking forward to trying them all.

I spent some time knitting out on the deck and finally got to chart 4 on Icarus (and I put in a new lifeline after the third chart).  I really need to finish this – we went out to dinner last night, and I would have loved to have it with me – it was so cold in the restaurant!

OK, off to make dinner (Moroccan Spiced Grilled Chicken – great recipe – highly recommend).  I think I’ll finish Larry’s father day gift socks tomorrow or Tuesday, so I’ll post pictures as soon as I do.

Have a great week!
 

 

 

 

16 Responses to Portable project needed…

  1. Josiane says:

    Why, yes, this muffin looks absolutely yummy! And your yarn is lovely! It will make gorgeous socks.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I love the handspun! They are turning into lovely socks.

  3. Opal says:

    Your handspun looks great knitted up! Way to go! And that muffin looks delish. Mmm.

  4. Rachel says:

    All your creations look really lovely and your dinner recipe looks like something I should try one day soon, thanks for the link!

  5. That is one yummy looking muffin you’ve got there and the hand spun looks like it will yield cozy socks.

  6. tiennie says:

    Your project looks great – from the colors to the spinning to the knitting!

  7. Lisa says:

    I can’t wait to see the handspun socks – they look very soft and squishy!

  8. Christianne says:

    You’re making me very hungry – muffins, moroccan chicken – yum!

  9. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne-I like the earthiness of handspun.

    Stick to your eating habits- I’m making what I want and too bad if no-one else wants it.

    There’s always Mickey D’s for them.

  10. Ashley says:

    Socks look amazing! I have some sock weight yarn that I really want to start knitting with too. Heck, I just need to knit up that handspun stash I have.

    You’re right, it was discontinued. All their handdyed rovings were discontinued last October I think when the dyer hurt her hand and turned the job over to the guy who runs the site. So of course no two dyers dye things the same so he had to create his own colors. 🙂

    I know I threw a fit when colors were discontinued and begged the BF to buy my B-day gifts early. He did so I ended up with 2 of my favorite old colors before they disappear.

  11. Jeanne says:

    Yummy! Muffins! I really like the way your socks are turning out.

  12. Carin says:

    Everything about your post is yummy.
    I have added the chicken recipe to my files, thanks.

  13. Ren says:

    the yarn and the muffins both look yummy. : )

  14. jennygirl says:

    That muffin looks delicious!
    It’s always a good idea to eat healthy, then you can feel less guilty those times you aren’t so healthy.

    Have a great week too!

  15. hakucho says:

    I love your new portable project. The minty green handspun yarn is gorgeous!!

  16. weezalana says:

    Oh man, that muffin looks tasty! And thanks for the link to the Moroccan Chicken! Hubster walked in when I linked over and yup, I’ll be making that sometime next week.

Leave a Reply

