Fit and Knit…

OK, was that the worst title ever or what?  But I just couldn’t resist….because when I got home from work last night, one of my Mother’s Day gifts was waiting for me….

Wii Fit

359

Terrible picture I know, but It was the only one I could get – notice Ruby looking confused?  The dogs couldn’t figure out what we were doing.  Anyway – Wii Fit is so much fun – and actually a good workout (no really, it is!).  I won’t tell you my Wii age….but if it were true, I’d be retired.  I guess I’m a bit out of shape.  Hm…and I apparently have balance issues – which explains the multiple times I’ve fallen, broken my arm, etc.  I’m looking forward to using this and hopefully getting a bit more active.   There is nothing like having your exercise disguised as a game to make you want to do it!

Speaking of not being active, I’ve started a new project

360

This is the Ballet Camisole (Ravel it!) and I’m using Knit Picks Shine.  I really like this yarn – it is so soft and silky.    I’m already thinking that I may be more for another summer project, but I do want to see how it washes and wears.  But so far, I’m giving it a thumbs up.  This project is perfect TV knitting  – I just have to keep track of decreases (and probably at some point, increases).   

If you are observent, you will notice that I’m posting this on a Friday morning – normally I’m sitting on a train at this time, but I’m home, sipping coffee, and looking at a long long weekend, a full knitting basket, a half bobbin of yarn…..aaaahhhh.  Yep, as you probably guessed I took today off.  And I just couldn’t be happier about it.   So this morning I’m going to a) Wii Fit  b) knit Icarus and c) spin.  This afternoon, Larry and I are golfing and then going out to dinner.  Doesn’t that just sound like a perfect day?  The rest of the weekend will be gardening, knitting, napping, and things of that nature.    And I just may check out an alpaca festival on Sunday (is the 10% on the actual alpaca or just the fleece?  Because I’m sort of worried that if I saw an alpaca on sale, I’d definitely have to put it in the backseat and take him home…10% is 10%!).

I thought I’d share a great blog with you – Sheep Gal – you have to go look at the lamb pictures.  So freaking cute…

I hope to have a close to being done Icarus to show you later this weekend…but for now, have a wonderful weekend!

 

 

17 Responses to Fit and Knit…

  1. Kim says:

    Good luck on fitness.

    If you get an Alpaca, can I part-time adopt it? What lovely pets.

  2. Aim says:

    Ooooh, Icarus. Can’t wait to see. So jealous about the day off 🙂 Enjoy every moment of it!!! And thanks for sharing that sheepy blog–cute, cute lambies!!!

  3. stitch-dom says:

    LOL…I’ve been using Dance Dance Revolution to workout…Wii Fit is next on my list! May have to buy myself a Father’s Day present (a single mother’s prerogative dontcha think?).

    My Icarus is about 50 cast off stitches away from done! The cast off is taking FOREVER since you are basically purling every one of those 523 stitches twice. I just want to quit work, finish the cast off on the bus ride home and go block this baby…do I feel the flu coming on?

  4. Opal says:

    I think it’s great that you’ve got the new Wii. I look forward to hearing progress reports on how it works out. (Ha! Works out!)

    Love the Ballet Camisole! The color you picked is really cute too.

  5. Sourire11 says:

    enjoy your 4 day weekend! I’m jealous!

  6. Lisa says:

    I think I’d be afraid to engage in something called “fit” wii.

    That alpaca thing looks fun, maybe we’ll see you there.

    ps. bring a blanket for your alpaca to sit on for the ride home.

  7. Jennifer says:

    Ooo, Wii Fit! We don’t own a Wii, but I think that’s a great idea.

  8. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I just watch other people play the Wii- my kids use it to send messages back and forth- so it kind of defeats the whole purpose.

    Enjoy your extra long weekend.

  9. Keep those Wii Fit reviews comin’ .. I’m thinking there might be one in our future.

    Have a wonderful long weekend!!

  10. Necia says:

    Hey Jeanne,

    I want a Wii. Are they more readily available now? I don’t have the room, so maybe if they’re not, it won’t be so bad! Lol. KP Shine washes and wears like a dream. I made a Picovoli out of it, and have washed and dried it numerous times!

  11. weezalana says:

    You’re the second person to mention Wii Fit in my readarounds this morning and now I’m even more intrigued!

    For the Shine, I’d recommend sewing down the loose ends after you weave them in. The shiny smoothness makes it hard to keep those suckers in!

  12. Carin says:

    Alpacas are social animals, you can’t buy just one.
    Have a great weekend!

  13. tiennie says:

    Yes! Wii Fit rocks!

  14. Christianne says:

    It all sounds like a lot of fun – I’m still hoping to find a wii fit – but darn – they are popular! Have a Great Weekend!

  15. kraftie says:

    LOVE the color you picked for the top you’re making. It’s great!

  16. Ren says:

    yay, wii! hope you have/had a great weekend!

  17. hakucho says:

    Your Wii Fit sounds like fun…might as well have fun while exercising.

    Your new project looks lovely…I love the color 🙂

Leave a Reply

