Spinning again…

Guess what I’ve been doing today?

355

Just a little spinning!  This is roving from Spunky Eclectic – I got it when I was in the Fiber of the Month club.  It was from last October, and the colorway is Monster Mash.  I don’t know about monsters – but it really got me craving apples and caramel.  The fiber is Falkland (which I think are sheep from Falkland?) – I really liked it – very easy to spin and soft and squishy.  I was iffy on this colorway until I actually started spinning it – and then it started growing on me.    I am tempted to restart in the club – but I’m trying to spin up my fiber stash before I add a lot more to it.  Her rovings are beautiful, though…

356

This is about 200 yards of what I think is a sport weight – I tied the skein before I checked the WPI.  The skein was pretty balanced, and for the most part I spun much more consistently than the last skein.  I’m happy that I’m spinning again – and I am looking forward to spinning up my fiber stash this summer. 

I gave the last skein I spun to a friend which kicked off a conversation about what I do with the yarn I spin.  I actually have only used my handspun once for a pair of socks (which I felted but still wear in the winter because they are super warm) – the rest is just hanging out in my stash.  I think I’m going to give this new skein away too (Lauren – still want it?) – but maybe someday I”ll actually spin something and use it right away.   

I had knitting group yesterday, and had a lot of fun (as always).  We are planning a get together to dye – I have yarn from KnitPicks, and some roving – but then I saw Weezalana’s blog  – she overdyed sock yarn.   I think I have some sock yarn that I could do that to – and I think it would be sort of fun.  So I may try that as well.     I’m looking forward to it – it isn’t for a couple of weeks which gives me time to get my materials together, and spend some time reading up on the various methods. 

Can you believe it is almost Memorial Day?  I’m fighting the urge to take next Friday off, and take a four day weekend….wel’l see what’s going on at work and if I can.   But it is so tempting…I could get a lot of spinning done (not to mention napping!)

Hope you are having a wonderful weekend!   

10 Responses to Spinning again…

  1. hakucho says:

    You handspun yarn is beautiful…lovely color combo 🙂

  2. Opal says:

    Gorgeous yarn. Not my usual colors either, but it’s really beautiful. You’re tempting me to join that fiber club now and you *know* I have more then enough stash to see me through the year!

  3. susan says:

    Oh go ahead and enjoy a mini vacation. We all need some play time. I clicked on the link to the overdyed sock yarns and that’s a great idea! Post pics if you decide to do it!

  4. Jeanne says:

    That yarn is fabulous!

  5. Lauren says:

    Are you trying to make me die and go to heaven? Of course, I’d love it!

    Need any landscape designing? Baked goods? We’ll have to figure out what I have that you want!

    Thanks again!

  6. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- *jumping up and down* I love it!!!

    I have some SE in Killer Tomato- I love her stuff.

  7. weezalana says:

    Yes, overdye! It’s great fun! (I used the knitty article as a guide.) If you do little test strands in the microwave, you’ll get an idea of the kinds of colors you’ll get before you do the full dunk.

  8. Ren says:

    that is some beautiful handspun… : )

  9. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous spinning!

  10. Jennygirl says:

    How crazy is this yarn? This would make a great halloween project. how cute!

Leave a Reply

