What will they think of next?

I finally made it to the last repeat of the first chart of Icarus – finally.  I forced myself to focus on it – I ignored all other distractions and temptations.  Although it was hard because I was so bored with it that I even contemplated working on Cobblestone for a while!  But there I was finally done with it and ready to do the fun lace parts – and I knew that I could not knit those repeats again if I made a mistake in the next pattern.  So I decided to put in a lifeline – just in case.  I have never done one before, so I googled it and found a couple of excellent resources.  Seems pretty clear cut.  I checked a couple of sites, just to make sure.  And then I read something about KnitPick Option needles and lifelines….

344

That’s right – if you tie the yarn to the hole in the KP needle that you use to tighten it, you can drag your lifeline yarn along as you knit….

345

Nothing to it…just knit as you do…..

351

And there you go!  The only thing I had to do was remove the stitch markers on the lifeline row so they didn’t get stuck in the lifeline.  I also had to watch on the row after the lifeline to make sure the lifeline didn’t get caught up in the real yarn and become part of the next row’s knit stich….but other than that, it was easy and fast and I was done.  And now I’m ready to take on the next three charts!  I am so psyched to finish this shawl now….seems like everyone is finishing before I am – like Lorraine (look at the beads – beautiful!) and Tiennie (ok, I just realized Tiennie didn’t make Icarus, but Seraphim is close – and its gorgeous!)….

One of the things that was tempting me this week is this….

348

Laceweight from the Woolen Rabbit.  The picture really doesn’t do it justice – it is gorgeous.  I’m not sure what I’m going to make with it – but it won’t be until I use the silk.  And yes, I do realize that this doesn’t seem like much of a yarn diet.  I’m not on a diet – I’m just handling my yarn obsession in a much healther way!

Well, I think I’m going to go knit.  I’m so happy that it is Friday – I have knitting group tomorrow, and I’m looking forward to spending some time with all of them – its always a good time, and I can’t wait to just relax.

Happy Friday!  Have a great weekend!

 

16 Responses to What will they think of next?

  1. Jeanne says:

    The Options needle thing is so cool! I may have to break down and buy some…

  2. Rachel says:

    Lovely trick with the needles!

    Oh and healthy choices are so much better than a diet of any kind 🙂

    Have a great weekend

  3. Lauren says:

    I can’t wait get my hands on your handspun! Um, I mean: I can’t wait to see you too!
    🙂

  4. That is the neatest thing ever! Have fun with the last three chart, I’m sure it will feel so much faster.

  5. hakucho says:

    Good idea using a life line…and I leaned something new about the KP options needles…very clever 🙂

  6. Christianne says:

    Beautiful Icarus and the new yarn is just lovely – I really need to buy all her colors!

  7. Kim says:

    Thanks so much for posting the life line tip! I eyed your new yarn on Ravelry – it is gorgeous!

  8. Opal says:

    That lifeline trick is pretty cool!

    Love the new yarn. So pretty. I don’t really believe in diets. It seems to just make me obsess even more on the objects of which I’m abstaining from.

  9. Cookie says:

    Not everyone is finishing their Icarus. :p

    Great lifeline tip and lovely yarn.

  10. Hoc Age says:

    Neat trick.
    At least when you are tempted, it is with really beautiful yarn.

  11. Linda says:

    I’m working on Icarus also, and I am so ready to be done with it. I’m in the middle of chart 3. Great idea about the lifeline, I’ve never done one – I guess I’m living dangerously and it will come back to bite my in the butt one day!

  12. Anne says:

    Very handy trick! I’d never have thought of it, but for someone who can manage it that certainly seems helpful!

  13. Wendy says:

    Thanks for posting about your lifeline. I really need to try this. I’ve put down a project and haven’t worked on it for a few months because I got tired of trying to frog back way too far in order to pick up stitches when something got dropped along the way and I couldn’t figure out how to fix it. Maybe I’ll put it back out again and get knitting with it.

  14. tiennie says:

    I have heard of that tip – it’s cool! Thanks for linking to me. I did knit the Icarus a few months back. It does look a lot like Seraphim. Can’t wait to see your Icarus!

  15. Jennygirl says:

    You are quite right? What a great idea? Can’t wait to see the finished project.

  16. Sourire11 says:

    Ok that is the coolest trick ever. I’m glad it worked out for you!

Leave a Reply

