Yarn diet

I’ve really hesitated to say the words yarn diet because it just seems so …restrictive.  But as you know, I’ve been trying to knit from the stash, and not buy yarn.  Thankfully, Mother’s Day was last weekend, and somehow Larry knew just what I would like (I’m sure it had nothing to do with the email I sent him with a link)….

342

Isn’t that gorgeous?  100% silk.  Yep.  100% silk laceweight.  Gorgeous – I honestly think I drooled a little when I unwrapped it (ok, I probably didn’t but I think it makes a better, if not grosser, story).  Want to know where its from?  Although I’m tempted to keep it to myself, I just have to share – SunnysideEllen.   My colorway is Ocean Crest, and its 660 yards of gorgeous silk goodness.  I looked all over Ravelry, and I’ve decided I’m going to make the Shetland Triangle from Wrap Style (Ravel it!).  I think it will be amazing.  The hardest part was not immediately casting on for it – and forcing myself into yet another row on Icarus.  Sigh.  But I will start this as soon as I’m done Icarus – I just can’t resist the yarn.  (Hey, Chelsea – you were right – I did get it!)

My knitting group is trying to put together a day to get together to dye some yarn….so I had to buy some yarn to dye (which has nothing to do with a yarn diet – its bare yarn – that doesn’t ever count!).  I got some laceweight and fingering weight from Knitpicks….and somehow something else fell into the cart…

343

 Nice, eh?  KnitPicks Shine Sport – I actually forgot what I bought it for, but I’ve decided to make the Ballet Camisole (Ravel it!).  I think it will make a nice tank for the summer….or maybe I’ll do Soleil – I made one the year before last – and it was huge  – so I ended up putting it in the Goodwill box.  So it would be nice to make one that fits me.  Decisions, decisions. 

Well, I guess I should go knit on Icarus – so I can get this done and start some new projects!  Have a great rest of the week!

15 Responses to Yarn diet

  1. Awesome Mom says:

    That is gorgeous silk! And that shop.. the mind is is boggled by all the possibilities.

  2. Pixie says:

    ….drool….

    It’s gorgeous!

  3. weezalana says:

    Wow, that laceweight is GORgeous! I looove that color, and lookit that sheen!

    You’re not on a yarn diet. You’re between yarns. 😉

  4. Ooh, that silk will make a gorgeous Shetland Triangle. Can’t wait to see it!!

  5. Opal says:

    Oh look at the pretties! I really like the look of that camisole. It’s going to look gorgeous in that red!

  6. Lorraine says:

    Oh dear, another Etsy maniac.

    The bottom pattern on Icarus is actually interesting- so stick with it.

  7. tiennie says:

    That is pretty! I’m right there with you – I’m not on a diet, just trying to work through the stash!

  8. Jennifer says:

    I have some sock yarn from Sunnyside Ellen. Very nice yarns! That is a lovely seafoam green.

  9. Wanda says:

    Dang, gorgeous stuff! That Larry is a keeper. Haha.

    I know the feeling about being a bit restrictive with the yarn purchasing. I was thinking about that tonite. I want to go tothe local sheep and woolfest this year, but I do have to have a plan of action for shopping. I can’t go too crazy.

  10. Hoc Age says:

    I find it interesting that your post “Yarn Diet” includes pictures of yarn.
    The silk is gorgeous.

  11. Jeanne says:

    Ah…I’ve been eying that Ballet Camisole myself. We haven’t done any dyeing here yet because it’s been too cold, but soon!

  12. lobstah says:

    Oh so gorgeous! I’ve been trying to stick to the stash this year too, it’s so hard!

  13. hakucho says:

    So much for your yarn diet 😉 I don’t blame you one bit…all your new yarn is lovely!

Leave a Reply

