Mmmm…banana….

I worked from home today – I started at 6:00 this morning and finally logged off at 5:40.  I work at my kitchen table, and all day I found myself looking at the fruit bowl.  I’d be on a call, look up – and look at the 4 bananas there that were just too ripe.  I’d look up from the document I was writing – and those stupid bananas were there .  So at 5:45, I took care of it…

323

Banana cupcakes – the recipe was from Fannie Farmer Baking and it is a really good banana cupcake recipe.  I’ve had this cookbook for years and years, and I’ve never made anything that wasn’t great.  I wasn’t quite sure on the frosting – I had planned on cream cheese – and then realized that we didn’t have any.  I thought about chocolate but Cieara doesn’t like chocolate.  I finally found the perfect frosting – Honey Cinnamon from Serious Eats.  These are so good – the frosting really compliments the banana.    If you’d like the cupcake recipe, let me know – I’ll email it (or post it).

So I’m off tomorrow, and just in time.  What a crazy week!  My organization is re-organizing, and we’ve been waiting for a while to hear the announcement.  Rumors are getting out of hand (rumor has given me at least 100 new managers in the last few months), and people are just getting more and more worried about their jobs.  That kind of thing just doesn’t make the best working environment.  The word finally came down this afternoon that they would be making the announcements tomorrow.  So I guess I’ll find out on Monday – I think I’ll be ok, but its just hard to have to deal with all this.  On top of that – it was the week for all my clients to be crazy.  Simply crazy.  So it was good to shut the laptop off, put it in my briefcase and hide it in the closet until Monday. 

I bought a little yarn last night…not saying what, but I may have bought some laceweight that I’ve been looking at for a while.  And I know there is no way that it could be in my mailbox today – but I have to admit I was a tiny bit disappointed it wasn’t. 

I have also managed to make suggestions for three totally different plans next weekend – I have knitting group on Saturday.  But I also suggested to some friends that we should go to the Webs tent sale.  And that we should go see the Yarn Harlot in Philadelphia on Sunday (side trip to Loop?).    It may sound like all three things are possible – but Webs is 220 miles from here – 4 hours each way.  I don’t think I’d want to then drive another 75 miles (each way) the next day.  I hate when too many things happen on the same weekend, don’t you?  And I also realize that I have stated over and over that I’m not buying yarn right now – that I’m knitting out of the stash.  Sigh.

OK, off to knit Icarus – hoping to get to the lace part this weekend – and I need to look up how to put in a lifeline. 

Have a great Friday! 

 

11 Responses to Mmmm…banana….

  1. Josiane says:

    This cupcake looks yummy, and the honey cinnamon frosting sounds awesome!
    Good luck with all that is happening in your work organisation. I hope the changes that’ll be made will be good for you.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Banana cupcakes…. Oh my that sounds delish!

  3. Rachel says:

    Very good looking solution to the banana problem and your yarn choice, hmmmm,,, but I am not buying any,,, I am not! 🙂 which colour did you get, please tell!

  4. Cookie says:

    I never knew I needed a banana cupcake until just now.

    Oh, and I’m frogging my Icarus. I’ll catch you up sooner or later, I’m sure.

  5. Kim says:

    My mouth is watering! I hope your yarn arrives today. My post man seems to know exactly when I need a yummy surprise like yarn.

    … and the muffin looks good, too.

  6. Natalie says:

    Apparently it’s going around. Last night, Kevin picked up our bunch of over-ripe bananas, and the stems just fell right off!

    Time to make banana muffins! So we did. Emily loved mashing them.

  7. weezalana says:

    When I see overripe bananas, I just put them in the trash. 😛 Now I’m feeling fruit guilt. Maybe I should bake some cookies…

  8. sourire11 says:

    mmmmm…. cupcakes.

    I usually throw overripe bananas in the freezer until I have time to make bread. It works pretty well. That and I use them in smoothies…

    I’ve heard there’s some sortof trick you can do with interchangable needles to make putting in the lifeline easier – don’t know what it is but it’s worth googling!

    Have a great weekend!

  9. Jenny Girl says:

    MMMM… cupcakes. I know it’s a bit repetitive but they look so yummy. Thanks for an idea for my bananas.

    The Life line is easy! Just thread some thread, since I think you have lace weight going there, through the first completed row of your repeat. Basically if you mess up, you can frog back to this row and know exactly what stitches you have as far as the pattern goes. Like a completed row 1. The life line acts as kind of a stitch holder. Just use yarn or thread thinner than what you have so it doesn’t distort your stitches.

    Good luck and have a great weekend!

  10. chris says:

    They were so delicous!!! Thank you, Thank you for leaving them in my mailbox, so fresh and still warm from the oven – they are so much better than the scones!!!!!!!!

    Happy Mother’s Day!

  11. hakucho says:

    I love my Fannie Farmer cookbook. Didn’t know there was a baking book too…I’ll have to look for it!
    The honey cinnamon frosting sounds wonderful. You are making me hungry….

Leave a Reply

