Lunch time!

I finished the lunch bag last night, and this morning I felted it.  Thanks to everyone for the great advice, especially Josiane, who sent me a separate email with directions.  I followed all the directions, I put the bag in a pillowcase, tied it with twine and threw it in the washer with a pair of jeans and a beach towel.   It took two times through – I may have been able to do it once more, but I didn’t want to shrink it too much!  I think its perfect for my breakfast and lunch during the week!

321

Pattern:  Brown Bag
Yarn:  Crystal Palace Iceland, Straw into Gold colorway (just a little over 2 skeins)
Started:  May 2, 2008
Finished:  May 4, 2008

I bought a button for this, and some big snaps, but I haven’t sewn them onto it yet (and knowing how much I hate sewing, I’d saw there is a good chance that they will never get put on!)  I put this outside on the deck today, and its pretty much all dry, so I think I’ll be able to use it tomorrow.  I was a little worried because there were several bags on Ravelry with the comment that they had felted too small, but this bag is big – which is great since I take my breakfast, lunch and snack every day.  I think I’ll be able to fit in my frozen ice-thing and it will keep everything very cool.  And it fits perfectly into my briefcase – I really couldn’t be any happier with it.   

This is a great pattern, and I can see making a few more of these as gifts – doesn’t everyone need their own brown bag?  I think it would be great with a handle as well…maybe next one…I really do love these little projects!

320

So I didn’t clean out the garage yesterday – we decided to hold until it was a little warmer to do it since yesterday was grey, chilly and misty.  In fact, we had a fire last night!  Today – gorgeous day here in NJ, and Larry and I played golf all afternoon.   It was so pretty out, and we had a great time.    It totally took my mind off of Maryland, and I didn’t mind not going at all today (but I am looking forward to reading about everyone else’s adventures!)

This is a short week for me at work – we are taking Friday off to see Andrew race in Philadelphia.  I’m looking forward to seeing him, and we are hoping to be able to take him to dinner (and I’m sure he’d enjoy a side trip to Loop, right?).   

Enjoy the week!

 

 

 

13 Responses to Lunch time!

  1. hakucho says:

    Your lunch bag is perfect!! Very pretty and I’m sure you’ll love using it!! I know if I worked outside the house I’d be making one for myself, too 🙂

  2. Your lunch bag is so cute. It sounds like the perfect gift knit for someone who “brown-bags” to work.

  3. Josiane says:

    It turned out great!

  4. Kim says:

    What a great idea. Your bag is really nice.

  5. weezalana says:

    What a cute lunch bag!

  6. Jeanne says:

    I’m glad to actually see someone successfully felt in a front loader. My washer is probably 25 years old and it’s only a matter of time before it goes…I was worried that was going to be the end of felting for me.

  7. tiennie says:

    It turned out awesome!

    Wish Andrew good luck!

  8. Robby says:

    That’s great! What a fun gift for brown baggers who also are interested in being green. I feel some Christmas projects coming on…

  9. Ren says:

    nice lunch bag! it’s a really great color, too. : )

  10. Lisa says:

    Great bag! I love felting. That reminds me I owe a couple of people some felted slippers.

  11. Jenny Girl says:

    Good luck and have fun at the Regatta. There’s nothing wrong with a side trip to Loop : )

    Lunch bag came out really cute. I like the colorway. I’ll have to remember those felting tips, because my first felted bag came out kiddies size. I gave it to my girlfriend’s 3 yr old daughter.

  12. Opal says:

    That lunch bag is so cute! Have a great time in Phillie!

Leave a Reply

