Sleeping in….

l woke up this morning at 6:45 and my first thought was that if I was going to Maryland, I’d be on the road already.  And then I went back to sleep until 8:00 – so I guess there is a silver lining to not going!  It is sort of a grey, misty day here – so its easier to think of not going than had it been a beautiful day.

Thanks for all the nice comments on the bolero – I think she likes it – she wore it to school the next day.  Didn’t come home wearing it, and said it was in her backback (she had switched to a sweatshirt because she was cold – I don’t know where she gets all these clothes at school!).  I think I’ll try that pattern again – it was fun and quick.  I may even try to make one for me.

I’m still working on Icarus – on the fourth repeat of the first chart, so I’m hoping to get to chart two sometime next week.  I’ve been primarily knitting it on the train, so probably not going as fast as I could if I also knit it at home.  I got an invite to a Icarus KAL on Ravelry – I joined, but haven’t looked at the discussion boards yet.    It will be fun to read about what other people are doing with the pattern – for example – Lorraine’s version is gorgeous and uses beads.

I take my lunch to work most days – and I usually just throw everything into my briefcase.  I’ve been looking for a lunch bag, but they are either too weird looking, too big, too just not what I want.  I want something that can still fit in my briefcase – I have that and a purse and don’t want something else to carry.    I didn’t want one of those plastic, insulated bags (I just hate the way they smell after a while), so I’ve been looking on Etsy – something like this or this.  I mentioned it to Larry and he suggested that I make my own.  I thought he was insane – I don’t sew and I can’t imagine making anything like that.  Then I remember – I knit!

So I did a google search for “knitting pattern lunch bag” – and guess what I found?  A Knitty pattern for a lunch bag!  Although I think it is really cute in the brown, I wanted to use stash yarn, so I found some nice bulky wool and started….

 316

This is one ball of Crystal Palace Iceland.  I bought this years ago at Tangled Yarns in Bethlehem – I forget what I was going to use it for, but it was something felted so this works out well!  I should have this done by tomorrow (if not today) and then I’ll have to figure out how to felt it in a front loader.  I’ve read that you can felt in them – and that you can’t.  So we’ll see.  But I’m hoping that next week I can take my lunch in my new bag.  Maybe then I won’t get smooshed bananas!

One of the reasons that I’m not going to Marylnad is that I am trying to knit from the stash and not buy more – however, I also think that I’m going to buy myself a present and just buy one skein of yarn.    The problem is I can’t decide what to buy – I’ve been looking all week, and I’m very torn – so many pretty yarns out there.  I can’t even decide between lace or sock weight – so I thought I’d ask you – any suggestions?  If you could only buy one skein of yarn, what would it be?

OK, I’m off – that garage isn’t going to clean itself!  Have a great day!

 

16 Responses to Sleeping in….

  1. hakucho says:

    I can’t help you with the front loader felting, but one thing I’ve learned from my top loader felting is that it need room to move around to felt well 🙂

    Good luck, you’ll love your new lunch bag 🙂

  2. Cornflower says:

    I’ve felted two bags in my washing machine – being British it’s a front loader – and they turned out beautifully. The pattern I used (by Debbie Bliss) says to put the bag into the machine with other objects – it suggests old trainers tied inside a pillowcase – and wash on the highest setting with the maximum spin speed.
    I hope that helps.

  3. Josiane says:

    I do have a front loader and I’ve felted at least three projects in it, always with very good results. I had started writing about my technique and observations here, but that was getting to be a very long comment, so I’ve decided to send you the info by email.
    That’s going to be a very cute bag!

  4. Jeanne says:

    Here’s an idea…invent a self-cleaning garage. Then you can retire a wealthy woman. I’ll be first in line to buy.

  5. Cookie says:

    You should be able to felt using a front loading machine. Just remember to place the bag in a pillowcase or something to contain the fuzzums. That’s going to be a fabulous lunch bag and it’s a much better idea than knitting a banana cozy. ;^)

    Just one skein? I would go with lace weight because it’s more entertainment value for your dollar. There’s a skein of pink silk lace weight at my LYS that I keep thinking about. I guess that’s what I would get.

  6. Carin says:

    I thought it was interesting that your husband saw the possibility of a knitting project before you did.
    I have to confess I wouldn’t have thought of a knitted lunch bag.
    I like the colourway of the yarn.

  7. I, too, have successfully felted in a front loader. It took several cycles however. Like others have said, throw in some towels or blue jeans to help with the agitation.

    Can’t wait to see it!

  8. Christianne says:

    The dreary weather here makes it easier not to go – but don’t look up the weather there. Tomorrow – it’s still supposed to be 60% chance of showers and t-storms there. Sigh. I miss not going. But I only need a few things – and I can order them online. But still – the whole festival, the people…..the sheep. I miss it.

    Cool lunch bag – looking forward to see it after it hits the front loader.

    Sigh.

  9. Elise says:

    Because it was my favorite and I want another skein (or 2) of it, here’s a suggestion – the Filatura Di Crosa Superior, Cashmere Silk Laceweight that I made the orange lace scarf with. I’m going to get the white at some point soon I hope ($24 each)

  10. I can’t wait to see the finished bag, good luck with the felting. Smooshed bananas don’t sound fun, rather like mashed PB&J.

  11. Rachel says:

    My advice, if you really want to keep the yarn diet, don’t buy this one skein, it is a dangerous little present! and I am on this same diet and very strict with it, so I don’t just say 🙂

  12. Jennifer says:

    Hmm, well if you were going to buy just one skein, it would be good to get sock yarn or a lovely laceweight. There are so many lovely choices!

  13. weezalana says:

    That is going to make one very pretty lunch bag!

    Hmm… just one skein, huh? Well, I recently finished a Clapotis with Lorna’s Laces Lion & Lamb, and that yarn was pure heaven. Soft, beautiful, all kinds of dreamy. That or STR. That’s the sock yarn mecca for me!

  14. Rachel says:

    But if you must, did you ever knit The Woolen Rabbit Whisper Merino Laceweight? She has the most amazing colorways and she has lovely sock yarn too. She is high on my NOT BUYING list 😉

  15. Jenny Girl says:

    I kept waiting for my bathroom to clean itself, and alas, it did not! Darn housework.

    I would buy sock yarn, because you have some wraps and stoles going on already. Although, just buy one of each. I won’t tell 🙂

  16. Opal says:

    Definitely buy sock yarn. That is if you haven’t already decided. 🙂

Leave a Reply

