Ribbed Lace Bolero

OK, I really should have had this done yesterday – but I just couldn’t stay up long enough to sew it up.  So when I got home tonight, I grabbed the needle, and then grabbed Cieara and the camera.

307

Pattern:  Ribbed Lace Bolero
Started:  April 26, 2008
Finished:  April 29, 2008
Yarn:  Cotton-Ease

Great pattern – but I think I should have either made this a litle smaller.  Or checked gauge.  Probably just made it smaller (I mean, really – guage for something like this? It would take me as long to do a gauge swatch as it did to knit it – and no, I don’t exaggerate at all!).  It fits her, but it is just a little loose – and I think she would prefer it a little tighter. 

309

I think it looks very cute on her – and I think it will be very nice this summer with her tanks or sundresses.    And it was a perfect break from the shawl.  I think I like doing these small patterns in between larger ones (or during) – keeps me excited and yet doesn’t get me too bogged down in a new project.

Again, great pattern – very easy, but interesting and just too clever.  I can totally see making more of these, and think they would make great Christmas gifts.  I would love to make one for me, but I bet it wouldn’t look as cute!

311 

I’m behind on my blog reading – and I’m sort of avoiding them as well.  I’m not going to Maryland this year, and although I’m ok with my decision – I’m still sort of sad about it. So its hard to read blogs that are talking about going.  I have gone the last 3 years, so its sort of weird to think of not going – not buying all that great yarn….fleece….roving….maybe a rabbit.  Sigh.  But the good news is that we are cleaning out the garage.  Isn’t that just as good as going?  Sigh.  Anyway, I’ll get over it, right? 

OK, off to knit – have a great rest of the week!

19 Responses to Ribbed Lace Bolero

  1. Denise says:

    She sure does look cute in it. I have that in my to do list or favs on ravelry, something I’d like to get to for myself one day!

  2. adrienne says:

    Very cute!!!!!!!!

  3. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I might go to Rhinebeck one day- and I know people who are going to Maryland too.

    At least you’ll have a clean garage.

  4. Kim says:

    She’s so tiny! Thank you for the sizing tip – this is on my list to make for my Bugg and she is tiny too. It still looks great and I’m sure will get lots of wear!

  5. Lisa says:

    It is a cute little project, and I don’t doubt how fast it must have knit up. You have a beautiful daughter, does she like to knit or spin, too? My little critter is interested in everything, just as all 1 yr olds are supposted to be, but she makes a bee line for the wheel if the door to it’s room is even cracked open a hair.

    Maryland will be there next year. In a few years my local guild plans to organize a trip there, and I’ve also wanted to go to Woolfest in the UK.

    It would be fun to see that bolero in a varigated yarn too!

  6. Opal says:

    It looks like it fits good! She looks so cute in it!

  7. Carin says:

    Darling! Both the model and the bolero.

  8. Ashley says:

    Such a cute project!

    Sucks about not going to Maryland. I almost went this year myself, but then just decided to hit the Great Lakes Fiber Festival instead of driving who knows how many hours form ohio to maryland. lol. It’s sad, the fiber fest isn’t for a few more weeks, but i’m already bouncing off the walls.

  9. hakucho says:

    Perfect for the summer…very cute 🙂

  10. chris says:

    Very Cute! I think she’ll get a lot of use out of it, too!

  11. weezalana says:

    It looks adorable on her! And yay for quick knits!

    I felt the same way when I couldn’t go to Stitches. Nor am I going to MDSW. I think we should both buy some yarn to console ourselves. 😀

  12. Shea says:

    Looks very cute on her, but then it would be difficult to find something that didn’t look cute on her. She’s the perfect model!

    Hey, while you’re at it, how about coming to clean out my garage?

    And don’t feel bad, I’m not going to Maryland either. But then, gas and airline tickets being so high, I won’t be going anywhere real soon.

  13. Wanda says:

    It is a pretty bolero. No, I don’t think cleaning your garage will be nearly as exciting as MDSW, but it will be productive, right? And it sounds like you’ll be happy when it’s done.

  14. tiennie says:

    This is so pretty on beautiful Ciera!

  15. Jenny Girl says:

    Absolutely adorable!

  16. Jeanne says:

    That shrug is really cute on her, just as I suspected it would. But would it be cute on me…that is the question.

  17. Ren says:

    how cute! : )

  18. Jennifer says:

    That is so cute!

  19. kitkatknit says:

    Cieara sure looks cute in the bolero!!! (gee guess I’m not the first to say that am I?)

Leave a Reply

