Weekend wrapup…

I was hoping to have a finished object to show you today, but the day just got away from me. 

304

No, that’s not Icarus, is it?  Yes, its something new.  And I’m blaming it on my knitting group – everytime I go and see all the nice projects everyone has it makes me want to start something new.  I can’t even tell you what they all were working on, but it didn’t matter – they were all nicer and more exciting than the shawl.  So when I got home, I looked at my Ravelry queue, and picked a project that I’ve wanted to do for a while – Ribbed Lace Bolero (Ravelry link).  So I pulled out some Cotton Ease from my stash, and started it last night for Cieara.

305

I only have about 1.5 inches left on the lace pattern, and then another 3 inches of ribbing.  So I thought I’d have it done today but….we went shopping for new bedding and stuff for Cieara’s room.  Since she’s 16, she asked that we repaint it since it was a very bright, and youthful, yellow  with cute flowered wallpaper.  It is now a more grown up white with a black stripe.  Very nice, but we still need to find a couple of things before it is done.   Shopping took longer than I thought, so it is late in the day now and I’m finally sitting down to knit.  Hopefully I’ll finish it tonight (and then its back to the shawl). 

Chris and I met for lunch yesterday at the restaurant where my oldest son, Dan, works on the weekends as a cook.  I didn’t think about what the impact of going there was until I heard the waitresses singing “Happy Birthday”…and realized they were heading my way.  Yes, my oldest bratty son told them it was my birthday (which it wasn’t).  Very nice prank, and I really enjoyed it.  Now I get the pleasure of planning my payback (so watch out Dan!).

It is cold again here today – in fact we have a fire going.  Probably the last one until the fall, but it is sort of nice to be inside, with the fire, and with my knitting in hand.  A good way to wrap up a nice weekend!

Have a great week!

10 Responses to Weekend wrapup…

  1. weezalana says:

    That Ciera’s a lucky girl – I was stuck with my childhood cheesy gold-trimmed princessy furniture ’til I was 18!

  2. Jennifer says:

    That sweater is looking very nice!

    Black and white sounds like a very nice color scheme for a teen girl.

  3. Christianne says:

    That is going to look adorable on Cieara! And lunch was too funny!

  4. Rachel says:

    We got “fire” going here too but it is all natural 🙂

    I like those not on your real birthday, birthday celebration, it was very nice of your son to arrange one for you 🙂

  5. adrienne says:

    Can’t wait to see what you are knitting!!!

  6. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- It’s cold here again.

    It makes nice knitting weather (I tell myself)

  7. tiennie says:

    I really like that stitch pattern! Especially in the white.

  8. hakucho says:

    The bolero looks great. I bet it will look fabulous on Cieara 🙂

  9. Jeanne says:

    That’s a fabulous bolero. I’ve had my eye on it for awhile, but suspect that it will look better on Cieara that it will on me.

    I woke up Saturday morning to snow. That was no fun.

  10. Opal says:

    That looks fantastic and I bet Ciera’s room does too!

Leave a Reply

