Is it 5:00 yet?

303

I’m sneaking away from a crazy busy day to post this.  I just couldn’t resist – because I’ve been looking at the martini glasses, my knitting….and I just can’t wait until I can finally close my laptop and start the weekend.

Tampa was really nice – what I saw of it.  OK, the view from the conference room was really nice.  My company’s campus down there is amazing – 3 buildings joined by pretty walkways with trees everywhere, ponds, alligators, Spanish Moss, the whole thing.    I saw it all briefly in the morning and night, but the conference room looked out onto a wooded area so I constantly saw butterflies and dragonflies floating about.  Wednesday night we went to a great restaurant in Ybor City  (where I got spaghetti sauce stains on a brand new shirt…sigh) and walked around a bit.  Very nice – we were told it was wild on the weekend – and I could see it – very much reminded me of Bourbon Street in New Orleans.   That was it – the rest of the time was work, work, work as I had to catch up at night on all the things I wasn’t doing during the day because of meetings.

I didn’t get a lot of knitting done this trip, except for a little on the plane there and back.  So I’m looking forward to sitting down tonight with my martini and getting another repeat done  – I’m just about at repeat 3 of 5 on the boring part of the shawl, and then I’ll get to the exciting lace part.  Can’t wait!

 I was excited to see an Amazon box when I got home last night – I finally got the new Yarn Harlot book.  I started reading it last night – and had to read a part to Larry.  It said “In my private, hopeful heart of hearts (and I know I can’t be the only knitter that has thought this) I have a secret wish:  to injure a lower limb” (should I footnote this for you, or will the link above be enough?).  I had to laugh when I read it – and Larry laughed when I read it aloud to him because I SAY THIS ALL THE TIME.  I don’t want to be permanently maimed or anything (and nothing too painful)  –  but I’ve always hoped that I’d break my leg enough to get out of working for a while so I could knit!  I was so glad I’m not the only one that has wished for it….have you?

OK, back to the grind – I have two meetings to go, and probably 100 emails.  Have a good Friday night – and I hope yours comes soon….

 

 

15 Responses to Is it 5:00 yet?

  1. Jeanne says:

    That picture represents the makings of a terrific evening. I haven’t read the book yet, but I have to admit to secretly wishing for the same thing.

  2. Awesome Mom says:

    It is nice to know that I am not the only person that fantasizes about that! For me it would extra fun because it means that my husband would have to take care of the kids all day. He would have a greater appreciation for me when I finally got back on my feet again.

  3. weezalana says:

    Oh, I’ve had that fantasy for aaaages – or at least for the last two years, since I learned how to knit. Heehee!

    Interesting how the martini glass is already empty… 😉

  4. Beth says:

    definitely not alone in that thought, although living alone would make it slightly less appreciated.

  5. hakucho says:

    Glad you’re back. Any excuse to just sit and knit…I think we(knitters) all think that way 🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend 🙂

  6. Kim says:

    It’s always 5…somewhere.

  7. chris says:

    I know – I thought of you when I read it!!! Too funny. I’m thinking maybe we can get broken legs for mothers day?

  8. tiennie says:

    I fantasize about having a reason to be able to sit and knit uninterrupted and without guilt too! Have a great weekend!

  9. Robby says:

    From the looks of that picture, you’re ready for a ‘slip and fall’ event. Sort of the knitter’s version of emergency preparedness. Hope you get to enjoy all of those things this weekend without any discomfort.

  10. KJ says:

    Wow… that looks like the makings of a great deal of fun! Enjoy!

  11. Opal says:

    I remember when I sprained my ankle. It was a blissful convalescence as I knit all the way through. Now I think I’d go a little crazy as I wouldn’t be able to spin on my wheel. Then again, there are always spindles. 😉

  12. Ren says:

    hope you have (had?) a good evening! : )

  13. adrienne says:

    Hope you started your weekend with a bang!!!!!!

  14. crimsonpurl says:

    Ooh the picture says it all!! Just perfect!!

    And yes the book is hilarious!! I have so many favorite chapters in it!

  15. Jenny Girl says:

    Isn’t that every knitters secrect wish?
    This just made my afternoon.

Leave a Reply

