Lace bug….

302

Thanks for all the nice comments about the Forest Canopy shawl – I have to admit I’m still amazed I finished it so fast, and I still pet it everytime I walk by it.  I’m going to pack it up today to ship it to my mother in California, and I’m looking forward to hearing from her when she unwraps it. 

Knitting up the shawl really put me in the mood for some more lace knitting, so I went to my lace yarn stash and pulled out some yarn that I’ve had for a while that I just love.  I bought it from Yarn Chef last year, and I just can’t capture the color right – this picture is much better in capturing the depth.  It is gorgeous.  It is 100% merino, and so light and soft and pretty.  And the colors make me think of the Carribbean.  A very summer kind of yarn.  As soon as I saw it in the stash, I knew this was the one I wanted to use next. 

297

Can you guess the pattern?  Its the Icarus shawl (also in Interweave Knits Summer 2006).   I’m really enjoying it – and I have to admit that I haven’t worked on anything else since I started it.  The yarn is so nice to work with, and I think this will be a gorgeous shawl to have this summer to wear in air-conditioned restaurants, etc.  It just looks summery, doesn’t it?

I am using some special stitch markers on the shawl….Chris asked me to test our her new lace stitch markers – of course, I was very happy to do so!  I love them – they are perfect – they don’t tangle in the lace, and are very easy to slip from one needle to another.   I highly recommend them  – and I already bought two more sets from her!  I’m not sure when she’s going to put them in her shop, but hopefully she will soon!

298

It is going to be a busy week – Tuesday I’m leaving for Tampa for a business trip – I’ll be home late Thursday night.  No fun this trip – just all day meetings.  But I will be bringing the shawl, so I should have lots of time to knit on the plane, at night….so who knows – maybe I can finish this in a week too!

Have a great week!

17 Responses to Lace bug….

  1. Rachel says:

    I think you can finish it in a week or two or,,, as long as you enjoy knitting it, who cares how long it takes, right? Have a great week with loads of knitting!

  2. Opal says:

    Beautiful Icarus! Pretty stitchmarkers! Such great eye candy.

  3. You are a lace machine! The yarn is beautiful in your pictures and in the Yarn Chef’s – her yarn is always lovely.

  4. Wanda says:

    you really have been on a lace bender! Icarus is another lace project that I want to work on. That yarn looksso pretty. I like a lot of Yarn Chef’s offerings.

  5. hakucho says:

    I LOVE the color of your new shawl! Have a safe trip!

  6. Christianne says:

    Beautiful yarn and you’ll be so happy with Icarus – it’s a really beautiful shawl. I’m glad the stitchmarkers are working out – let me know if you hit any “snags”!!

    Have a safe trip and I hope you get some downtime at least to knit in!

  7. Awesome Mom says:

    Those stitch markers look awesome! I have two sets and one can’t be used for lace, they have are awful and get tangled up in my lace.

  8. lilypily says:

    Have a safe trip! :o)

  9. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I’m working on an “Icky” as well, and I thought I would be bored- but it’s a lovely pattern when you have a terrific yarn to work with.

  10. donna lee says:

    That is lovely and so summery. The weight will be perfect for those cold a/c days. I’ve never used lace weight yarn but I think I could if I had something that beautiful.

  11. Ren says:

    wow, gorgeous yarn! you are on a major shawl kick! : ) hope you have a safe trip down to my neck of the woods (sort of)!

  12. weezalana says:

    Such a pretty color! That would make a great summer a/c protector!

  13. Cookie says:

    I love that colorway. Very summery.

    Your Icarus is looking good, and those stitch markers look wonderful. Nothing worse than having your yarn slip into your stitch marker when you’re working with lace.

    Have a good safe trip!

  14. Jeanne says:

    That yarn is beautiful. Yes, very summery. This shawl will be beautiful when it’s done, too.

  15. Jennifer says:

    What a gorgeous color! Icarus will be lovely!

  16. tiennie says:

    Icarus is so recognizable isn’t it? The colors of yours is so pretty.

  17. Jenny Girl says:

    The color is absolutely gorgeous! I love it and wish I could pet it too. Now you have to plan a Caribbean vacation 🙂

Leave a Reply

