Forest Canopy Shawl

I going to start by saying sorry – this is going to be a picture heavy post.  But I am just so happy with how this turned out that I can’t help myself.

Last night, I dragged myself to bed – with one row left to go.  I really wanted to finish it, but I was so tired my eyes were crossing.  And I didn’t think that was a good idea since the last row was the cast off row.  So I finished it this morning – one week after I started it.  That’s right – a shawl in 7 days.  And I love it!
288

I have to say I was a little iffy on this the whole time I was knitting it –  I was worried that it would be too loud and garish.  But blocking it completely changed it and I am just so happy with how it turned out.   The colors are just gorgeous and the pattern and the yarn are just so nice together.

291

OK, the details:

Pattern:  Forest Canopy Shawl (Ravelry link)
Yarn:  Manos Silk Blend, colorway Woodland (3109), almost 3 skeins
Needles:  US #8
Started:  April 11, 2008
Finished:  April 18, 2008

293

I think I did a couple of extra repeats on the pattern, but I stopped just in time – I ended up with just a little of the last skein leftover.  And I must say it made a decent size shawl.  The shawl fits me perfectly – and my mother is shorter and smaller than I am so it will be a little bigger on her – but hopefully not too big that it swamps her (maybe I should include a note to send it back to me if it doesn’t fit her!).    I really enjoyed this pattern – I give it two thumbs up.  It was a fast, but interesting knit, and I will be making it again.  I can see this as a good pattern for last minute gifts – how can you beat a week?

What can I say about this yarn?  I love it.  The feel and sheen of it are amazing, and I loved every single minute I worked with it.  It is a single ply, but strong and not splitty at all.  And it blocks out beautifully, and I think the stitch definition is quite good.   It is DK weight – it would probably make a gorgeous sweater (but a pricey one!).  Manos colorways are gorgeous, and the silk just adds something.  Manos wool is very scratchy, but the blend is so soft…sigh….love it. 

294

I just can’t stop petting and gushing over the shawl – I am really sort of sorry that it is not for me.  But I think my mother will like it, and although its a wool/silk blend, it feels so light and airy that I’m sure she’ll get some use out of it this summer (in air conditioning!). 

295

To sum it all up – I recommend the pattern and the yarn and I’m so glad that I decided to make her a Mother’s Day gift.  And if you haven’t made your Mom something recently – this is a good one to do!

Have a great weekend!

28 Responses to Forest Canopy Shawl

  1. rivercitystl says:

    Love that colorway! I’ve added both the pattern and the yarn to my Ravelry queue! You have a great weekend too!

  2. Robby says:

    I’d say that gorgeous bit of knitting says, “Mom, I love. A lot!” Amazingly fast and spectacular. In fact, if your hubby got you some more of that yarn right now, you’d have time to knit YOU one for Mother’s Day. Sigh, I’m going to have to start looking for some of that yarn.

  3. Josiane says:

    I knew you could do it! 🙂
    It’s beautiful!

  4. Awesome Mom says:

    Beautiful! I love woo silk blends too. That gives you the best of both worlds.

  5. Karen says:

    Your shawl is so beautiful! I can’t believe it only took you a week.

  6. weezalana says:

    You should never apologize for posting lots of pictures (and five is normal in my book ;))! It’s GORgeous! Really, really beautiful. You mom is going to love it!

  7. hakucho says:

    One word…exquisite!! Your Mom will LOVE it 🙂

  8. Beautiful!! It’s a perfect marriage of yarn and pattern .. really, REALLY lovely!!

  9. Kim says:

    You should be so proud – your shawl is incredible!

  10. Obviously you had no problem at all with the deadline. Your shawl is beautiful and the colours work well with the pattern at a distance and up close.

  11. Jilliana says:

    That shawl is gorgeous! Your mom is one lucky lady.

  12. Rachel says:

    Oh it is so beautiful and you knitted it so quicky, incredible job and a perfect mother day gift, way to go and you too have a great weekend 🙂

  13. Cookie says:

    Gorgeous!

    And you were worried that you wouldn’t finish in time.

  14. Jeanne says:

    It’s beautiful! Now you’ve got me thinking about knitting shawls.

  15. Opal says:

    I see I didn’t have to wait long to see more of the shawl! It came out beautifully, Jeanne! I love the colors and how they compliment the pattern. What a masterpiece!

  16. Shain says:

    It’s gorgeous! I’m sure your mom is going to love it.

  17. Christianne says:

    It’s stunning, Jeanne! And what a record shawl knitting time! Your Mother is going to be very, very happy with it, I’m sure.

  18. Ren says:

    wow! it is so beautiful! and congrats on finishing so quickly (i knew you could do it!)! : )

  19. Lucinda says:

    It looks fabulous! I’m sure your mother will be thrilled!

  20. evilSon#1 says:

    DA NA NA NA NA NA NA NAAA

    BATMAN!!!

  21. Wanda says:

    That’s quite an accomplishment to finish the shawl in a week. It’s very beautiful and sure to be a hit with your Mom.

  22. susan says:

    The shawl is beautiful. I think you need to ask for more of the yarn for Mother’s Day and make yourself one!

  23. Anne says:

    Simply stunning! And its so good to see it in a non-solid color – because I’d been wondering how it would turn out then. I love it. you should be so very proud!

  24. Irie says:

    No need to apologize for lots of photos – can’t get enough of these beautiful photos of your lovely shawl! Very nice!

  25. tiennie says:

    This is gorgeous!

  26. Chelsea says:

    This is so beautiful. Really lovely! Btw, I am makinng a shawl out of the same yarn from Yarn Chef. How funny is that? I really love it. Yours has prettier colors in it, though. 🙂

  27. sourire11 says:

    I love posts with lots of beautiful pictures of handknits! And this one is stunning. The shawl in that yarn… simply fabulous.

Leave a Reply

