Another long weekend

281

As you probably guessed, I did start the Forest Canopy shawl last weekend.   And I have to say – great pattern.  I’m really enjoying it, and I’ve worked on it exclusively since I started it.   The Manos silk blend is just amazing – I working with it, and the colors are so beautiful.  I definitely will be buying more.  I’m just finishing up the 2nd ball, and I think I’ll have the shawl done by next weekend (a fast knit in a DK weight!).  I think blocking will make this look like a shawl – right now it just looks like a big blob.    It definitely won’t be a muted, boring shawl, though – I’m a bit worried about how colorful it is, but I think it will ultimately work out (or at least I hope so!)

Andrew is on the Maryland crew team – we still haven’t been able to go see him race, but the other parents post pictures online sometimes, so we recently got these pictures.  I bet Andrew won’t appreciate this picture, but its just such an Andrew face I couldn’t resist.  This is usually the face I see when Andrew is about to say something sarcastic….

andrew2

Here he is (2nd from left) carrying the boat (?) to the water…I think they need a bit of self-tanning lotion on those legs!  Part of the crew tradition is that first year novices get their heads shaved – they did it last weekend and Andrew sent me a picture of him last night – yikes!  I’m still waiting to get permission to post it, but I must say – he looks a little different!

andrew crew2 3-30

I’ve took off work yesterday and today.  Larry and I went golfing yesterday – it was a bit cold, but we had a great time.  Today is his birthday (Happy Birthday, Larry!) – so we are golfing again, and then having a family dinner tonight to celebrate.  It has been a really nice long weekend – and it has been great to spend time with him and get out of the normal routine.   

Have a great week!

16 Responses to Another long weekend

  1. Adrienne says:

    That shawl is going to be gorgeous!

  2. weezalana says:

    Ooo, now I *really* want to try Manos Silk Blend! So pretty!

    HAHAHA! Self-tanning lotion! I could probably use some of that myself. 😛

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY LARRY!

  3. donna lee says:

    OOOh, the first leg exposure of the season. I look like that all through the summer since I gave up sunning myself. Days off like that are gifts. How nice that you and Larry got to have a good one.

  4. Happy Birthday Larry! Happy golfing.

    Now I need to get some Manos Silk in that colourway, it’s lovely.

  5. Cookie says:

    Happy Birthday, Larry!

    I think you’re right about the self-tanner.

    That shawl is going to be gorgeous. I am loving that yarn.

  6. Elspeth says:

    Hey, I went to Maryland too! No teams, though, but it was really fun!

  7. Rachel says:

    Pretty boy, pretty yarn!

    Happy Birthday Larry, Mazal Tov 🙂

  8. tiennie says:

    Pretty yarn! Great photo of A!

  9. Oiyi says:

    That manos colorway is gorgeous!

  10. Lisa says:

    That yarn is beautiful. It should make a beautiful shawl.

    Handsome guy! I love the sarcastic face.

  11. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Your kids say sarcastic things? How odd.

    The shawl will be amazing- I personally love all the mixed colors.

  12. Jeanne says:

    The shawl is going to be wonderful. Such lovely yarn! And Happy Birthday to Larry! (sigh, late again)

  13. Jean says:

    Hypoteneuse is gorgeous! Well done and congrats on finishing it. I love the forest canopy shawl. I’ve made three (one for me, one for my mom and one for my MIL). So I definitely support it as a gift for your mom. I think you’ve got plenty of time. I’ve used different yarns each time and they all came out great.

  14. lobstah says:

    Ooh, those colors are super-scrumptious!

  15. hakucho says:

    Your shawl looks lovely…very pretty colorway 🙂

  16. Opal says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Larry! I can’t believe Andrew shaved his head. What an initiation! Can’t wait to see more of your shawl. 🙂

Leave a Reply

