Hypoteneuse

I unpinned Hypoteneuse last night and couldn’t believe how nice it was – what a difference blocking makes!  But it was dark, so I had to wait until this morning when I forced my model to go outside and model it (can you tell how thrilled she was?)…

275

Pattern:  Hypoteneuse
Yarn:  Elesbeth Lavold Silky Wool
Needle:  US #8 (Knit Picks Harmony Circulars)
Started:  February 23, 2008
Finished:  April 11, 2008

274

I can’t believe how nice it is – completely different than what it looked like unblocked.  This is so light and airy.    I really enjoyed the pattern as well – definitely an easy pattern, and would be great for a beginning lace knitter.  This was my “don’t want to pay attention” or “I think I’ll have a martini” knitting project, so you know that it was easy to memorize and very easy to knit.    The pattern called for 17 repeats, but I stopped at 13, and I’m so glad I did – it is just the right size, and any bigger would have been too much.  Silky Wool is DK weight, so maybe if I had done this with laceweight or fingering, more repeats would have made sense.

 277

I’m so happy to have another project out of the knitting basket.  Now I just have a few more to focus on and finish….of course, I also may have started a new project instead!  

Have a wonderful rest of the weekend! 

 

26 Responses to Hypoteneuse

  1. Rachel says:

    WOW, Gorgeous! I love they way it looks in this yarn.

    I knitted 2, one in angora and the other in a merino and cashmere combo and it looks lovely in all three yarns; different but lovely in all!

  2. rivercitystl says:

    Both the model and the wrap are beautiful! Nice work!

  3. Awesome Mom says:

    Beautiful! I am going to keep that pattern in mind. I am becoming addicted to lace, it is so much fun to knit.

  4. chris says:

    It’s Beautiful. I should have taken it while you weren’t looking yesterday – but I’m not like that. So you should give it to me.

  5. Shea says:

    This turned out gorgeous! I might have to try this one.

  6. Josiane says:

    Beautiful! It’s interesting to see the difference when blocked, and to get the perspective conveyed by the modeled shots, as from all the pictures I’d seen of Hypoteneuse I wouldn’t have imagined that the “squares” would end up that big. It makes for an impressive piece!
    Do you remember how many skeins you’ve used? I’ve got some Silky Wool in my stash waiting for the right project, and I’m wondering if that’s the one…

  7. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- It’s lovely- the color, and the model- it all came together.

    And if you can knit and have martini’s- all the better!

  8. Kim says:

    Beautiful! I love the blocking – what a difference! This pattern definitely needs to go into my queue. Cudos to your model. She did a great job!

  9. hakucho says:

    Your shawl is gorgeous…lovely color, bet it goes with many of your outfits. Hope you enjoy wearing it 🙂

  10. weezalana says:

    I’m always amazed at how blocking can completely change the look of a piece. It was lovely before, now it’s even MORE so!

  11. weezalana says:

    I’m always amazed at how blocking can completely change the look of a piece. It was lovely before, now it’s even MORE so!

  12. Carin says:

    Very nice!!!
    By the way, how do you like your martini’s…
    shaken or stirred?

  13. Jeanne says:

    Beautiful! Hmmm….I have some silky wool in my stash, I do believe.

  14. Opal says:

    It’s just beautiful! I love the color.

  15. Lisa says:

    It looks so wonderful and drapey!

  16. anne says:

    gorgeous! i love it in that color and on that model (she’s adorable!)

  17. Ren says:

    beautiful… : )

  18. lilypily says:

    Wow, it looks totally transformed and totally wonderful too. :o)

  19. madalyn says:

    It looks great! Kinda sorta makes me want to knit a shawl…. maybe….

  20. tiennie says:

    This turned out beautifully!!!!

  21. Oiyi says:

    WOW!! So beautiful.

  22. Kathleen says:

    Great job with the knitting. I would not call that mindless or martini knitting. That is why I ahve made so many Marine Morning Mitts.

  23. sourire11 says:

    It’s beautiful! Isn’t blocking fun!

  24. Jenny Girl says:

    Amazing! It looks like a completely different shawl. How many skeins did you use?

Leave a Reply

