Re-falling in love

I had to laugh at how many comments I got on the last post – did you really think I’d burn such pretty yarn?  I ended up ripping Mr. Greenjeans out – I agreed with a lot of comments that it was only 4 stitches, but I was really not in the mood to figure out what the impact of the 4 stitche less in each sleeve – and the impact of the 8 additional stitches in each section.  So the yarn is sitting in my basket, enjoying a timeout.  I thought I’d have already cast on for Cece, but something strange happened before I could do that.

I didn’t want to start Cece when I didn’t have the focus to make sure I started it right – so I thought I’d do it Friday.  While I waited, I started working on the projects in my basket again, and the strangest thing happened.  I fell in love with them all over again!  I’ve been working on Hypoteneuse primarily (with a couple of switches to the 9-5 socks and the Autumn throw).  I am really enjoying it – this is Silky Wool, and it is just so nice to knit with. 

268

I’ve finished 11 repeats, and have 6 to go – and the end is starting to look near.  I don’t know if its reaistic, but I even think I’ll be done today.  OK, if not today, then maybe this week.  And because of that – I just don’t want to start anything new.  I want to finish this – and then just maybe I’ll start working on the throw and finish that.  And then I’ll start something new – what do you think?  Not having these two major projects in the basket will make me feel virtuous – and not as guilty about starting new things.  And you know what?  I’m really enjoying them both, so its not such a drag to put off the new sweater.   Does that ever happen to you?  Do you fall in love with an older project and find yourself only wanting to knit on it?

I’ve been having such a nice weekend – which got an unofficial start of lunch with Chris on Friday (she was off, I was working from home).    Nothing exiting about the weekend, but its just nice to relax and spend time at home with the family. 

One of the blogs I read posted that she was not going to blog any longer – its the second one that I’ve seen this week.  I wondered if this is a cycle thing, and people come and go, or if this is a larger impact of Ravelry.    I’ve seen posts where people say they don’t blog as much because of Ravelry – to me they are very different mediums.  I don’t post a lot on Ravelry forums – I mostly use it to look up yarns and patterns.  What do you think?  Do you think people blog less because of it, or is it something else that make people stop blogging? 

OK, I’m going to go knit on Hypoteneuse….have a great Sunday!

19 Responses to Re-falling in love

  1. Hypotenuse looks wonderful – and yay for finding the love again! It happens to me too.

    I think my blog is very different from my Ravelry – but then again, I do not post in the forums over there much and my blog is my voice. I don’t think I would give up my blog because it’s mine, it’s a seperate and different medium for me. But I have seen quite a bit of that too.

  2. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- No room for guilt in knitting. Your scarf is lovely- enjoy the process.

    Ravelry does initially take up alot of time. But a blog is more a dialogue, and a diary, whereas Ravelry helps you keep track. I like the ability to look at other’s projects that I’m thinking of doing.

    I spend very little time on the forums and groups. I guess it depends on how involved you get.

  3. lobstah says:

    I have definitely not been blogging as much lately–but that is mostly a function of the fact that I’ve been too busy to knit much, hence nothing to blog about! I have to admit I am pretty tired of blogging because I don’t really enjoy writing that much and I’m not great at it, plus half of my family members read it and I don’t like to write about really personal things that they would question me about. Despite all this, I’m not ready to give it up entirely yet!

  4. Karen says:

    Your hypoteneuse is beautiful! Love the color.

  5. Cookie says:

    Do I dare ask after Cobblestone? ;^)

    I think there is slightly less blogging as spring hits because we are busier doing all those things that we avoided during the winter.

    Ravelry is a lot of things, but not a replacement for blogs because it cannot be the personal place that our blogs are.

  6. hakucho says:

    How nice to find love the second time around…that worked out nice and your hypoteneuse looks fabulous 🙂

  7. Jean says:

    Oh good for you! Remembering you love your wips and making substantial progress on them is a wonderful feeling.

    There were some wonderful blogs I read, who simply stopped blogging. No official announcement or anything, they just… stopped. I think in those cases, it is that people do cycle out for any number of reasons.

    I think Ravelry definitely influences how one uses her time on the computer. Do you work on writing your own blog, reading others, or get sucked into the Raverly vortex? I find I’m reluctant to post pictures to Ravelry until after I’ve blogged them. So in that way, my desire to put pictures up on the Rav, can give me a kick in the pants to update my blog. Speaking of which…

  8. Rachel says:

    Oh Hypoteneuse, it looks so lovely, no wonder you fell in love with it again, good for you 🙂

    I use Ravelry like you, mainly to check out patterns I want to knit or what other people do with some yarn I have and want to knit with.

  9. weezalana says:

    Timeouts make the heart grow fonder!

    They’re both very different mediums to me. It’s great for looking up patterns and checking out projects, but doesn’t have the knitbonding like blogging does. I stopped going into the general forums a while ago, and now only post in my groups- and even then pretty rarely. (Well, rarely now that I dropped out of the destash group. That place was getting… er… hazardous to my checkbook.)

  10. Awesome Mom says:

    I don’t know about Ravelry distracting people from blogging. I suppose if you had a very strict knitting only blog then it might be easy to let Ravelry get in the way of blogging. I love using it to find patterns and to discover new ways of doing things.

  11. Wanda says:

    It’s great that you are re-faling in love with your projects again. I’ve had that happen a number of times and sometimes I think just putting it away for awhile and coming back to it can be good. That way you do get to experience the falling in love again with the project.

    I was working away on my Everyday Tweed, but not necessarily loving it. Then I could see the finish line and i kept working on it and it’s finished this weekend. i’m pretty happy with it and i think it’s a good thing.

    I don’t see Ravelry as a way to give up bloggling for me. For some, especially imo, those who never had a blog, I could see throwing up a pic and posting in the forums and that’s your way of bonding with others in the knitblog community. I pretty much post primarily about knitting, a little bit about my life, but mostly knitting. I enjoy the writing of my blog and can’t imagaine not blogging. Ravelry is blocked at my work, so I can only look at it at home. And if I want to blogsurf or spend time with my family, the Rav is another timesuck. I mainly look up patterns, yarns and post a photo with some notes, but link to my blog posts for most of it.

  12. Jennifer says:

    Hypotenuse is looking very lovely! I get that way about a project too, and just want to work on it until it’s done.

    I think Ravelry is pulling some people away from blogging, but I also think that some people just lost interest in blogging due to other things going on in their lives, or wanting to do something new.

  13. Ren says:

    hypotenuse is looking great! i hope you finish it as quickly as you want to. : )

    i think ravelry is a complement to my blogging. i don’t have to post all the pesky details about each and every project; i can just post them in ravelry. it seems like it saves me some blogging effort. i know i get lazy about blogging during the summer, especially, when i’m home and with my family, so there are definitely cycles.

  14. evilson#1 says:

    I need new socks…

    Green ones.

  15. Josiane says:

    Doesn’t it feel good to fall in love again? You’ll certainly be happy to have those projects finished, and to be able to enjoy using them. The sweater will follow soon enough!

  16. Opal says:

    I think I’m blogging less because of Ravelry, but it might also be because I’m spinning more. Spinning doesn’t really make for great blog content.

    Your Hypotenuse looks great! Now is the time to start feeling virtuous.

  17. Shea says:

    I think Ravelry has been good for my blog actually. I use it as a reference tool for patterns and to see how the patterns look on real people. This has managed to influence what projects I work on, yarn I order, etc. and it’s all ending up on my blog. I also use it as a project notebook to keep up with what I have done and used, but I do not use the forums on Ravelry. They aren’t intuitive and they’re kind of a pain. If I need a forum to ask questions about knitting, I’d rather go to the coffeeshop at knitty anyway.

  18. Peggy says:

    It’s wonderful to re-new your relationships with old projects, sometimes it’s like finding old friends you never realized you lost contact with.

    I hear you on the Ravelry thing, I use it about the same as you, but lately I’ve been using it as a shortcut from blogging, it’s a lot easier to input project info there than write a whole post about it – it’s the human aspect that makes blogging worthwhile.

  19. vicki says:

    I think you’re right about the whole Ravelry thing–it just adds (albeit pleasantly) time that you’re on your computer and when you add up all the time you look at others’ blogs, look at all the cool stuff on ravelry and then still manage your own blog ….the time can be enormous!
    Can’t wait to see your Cece–I have that queud up too!

Leave a Reply

