New directions…

I just don’t get it.  I’m a nice person (most of the time).  I give to charity.  I am kind to animals.  I eat my vegetables.  So why do bad knitting things happen to me? 

258

Isn’t that nice?  No skipped YO’s, nice and smooth.  Beautiful yarn.  And wrong again.  GRUGH!  I don’t even know how its possible this time – I used a row counter.  I carefully counted every stitch, every row.  And here I am, and the part where the sleeves are separated.  And I have the total number of stitches right.  But the stitch count is off in the sleeve section by 4 in each sleeve.  That means the 8 are somewhere else.  And I just don’t know what to do.    I think my choices are:

  • Go back to the beginning and figure out how many should be in each section, and hopefully from that figure out where I went wrong.
  • Burn it.
  • Rip it out, and try it again.
  • Burn it.
  • Rip it out, and do something else.
  • Burn it.

I thought about it all last night – even dreamed about it (I solved the problem in my dream by realizing that I cast on the wrong amount, and was using spaghetti for yarn – who knew?).  I thought about it this morning on the train, and while I was walking back to the train tonight. 

I was leaning towards either burning it, or calculating the right amount of stitches and figure out where I went wrong – and maybe just ripping it back.  But then I thought – maybe it is an omen that this sweater just isn’t right for me (ok, there was a good 15 minutes where I contemplated that NO sweater was ever going to go well for me again but I shook that off…).  And then I realized that I’m starting to hate the sweater (burn it!).  So I think I made a decision….take a new direction.

What do you think?

27 Responses to New directions…

  1. Robby says:

    Burning seems a bit drastic, and the EPA would surely object. Love the ‘new direction’. I saw it on another blog this morning and was starting to contemplate it myself. I say, fresh start in a new direction never hurt anyone. Also, maybe a fresh start after a relaxing evening that didn’t involve the offending yarn.

  2. rivercitystl says:

    will those stitches in the sleeve really make that big a difference? It sure is pretty…the yarn is way too pretty to burn, for sure!!!

    breathe…breathe…breathe!!!

  3. Jennifer says:

    If you are beginning to hate the knit, it’s best to go in another direction. Cece is a beautiful sweater!

  4. I vote for the new direction. No waiting, no trying to fix things, just the eternal joy of ripping and then knitting something you love.

  5. The new direction, I mean! Not the burning!!! LOL

  6. Opal says:

    A new direction sounds like the smart choice. You might want to hold off on burning the offending project though. Arson is a felony crime. 😉

  7. Jeannie says:

    While burning might be fun, I would hate to see such pretty yarn meet a sad end. Cece would look great in that color. Maybe you can give the yarn a time out and then start in the new direction?

  8. Wanda says:

    CeCe sounds like a good option.

  9. Awesome Mom says:

    Ooo cute! When I get projects like that I generally end up ripping it out and putting the yarn away for awhile. I think that the bad karma builds up on the yarn the more times you mess up. You have to give it time to dissipate from the yarn. Yeah I am a nut! lol

  10. Josiane says:

    I’m sorry to read that Mr Greenjeans is giving you that much trouble! I hope that Cece will be better to you.

  11. Hoc Age says:

    Maybe the yarn needs to be exorcised. I heard that wine is used as part of the process. I think a large glass would do it.
    Good luck with your new direction.

  12. Jacki says:

    Be realistic. At worst those 4 stitches are an inch!

  13. hakucho says:

    Sometime yarn just has a mind of it’s own and if it doesn’t want to cooperate, you sometimes just have to give in for health reason..Why stress vout…this should be enjoyable…right?
    Third time is always a charm…better luck with the next pattern 🙂

  14. weezalana says:

    Ooooo, CeCe pretty! Rip and knit, baby!

  15. Beadknitter says:

    I say A New Direction. When you start hating a project, it’s time to frog it. After all, we knit for our enjoyment, right? I went through this myself recently, trying to make an EZ Baby Surprise sweater. I hated every row I was knitting. Then I wondered, why am I doing something I’m clearly not enjoying? I ripped it out and knit some toys with the yarn.

    I wonder if that sweater pattern has errors in it? Entirely possible. It happens way more than you might think. Anyway, I say, find something else to knit/love.

  16. Lisa says:

    I’m with Beadknitter – rip it out! Time for something new…a fresh beginning for a tired yarn.

  17. Jeanne says:

    Could the pattern simply be wrong?
    But I agree with everyone else, burning, while satisfying, seems a bit extreme. Rip!

  18. sourire11 says:

    Oooh I say a new direction. That sweater you linked to is adorable! And very spring.

  19. Shea says:

    I agree, rip it! New directions can be therapeutic.

  20. Ren says:

    don’t burn it… the yarn is too pretty! maybe you could check on ravelry for other people that have knit the sweater and see if they had the same problems? but cece looks great, too! i don’t think you can make a “bad” decision (unless you burn!!). : )

  21. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Put it in time out.

    Bad knitting things happen to good people- all the time.
    I agree with Ren- check on Ravelry.

  22. Denise says:

    I love all those Chicknits patterns, so you can’t go wrong with your new direction. My advice is, in the case of little knitting inconsistencies like the one you described (and I had to look real close at the picture to see the boo boo) is to consider: would anyone notice this mistake if I was running to catch the train while I was wearing it? Also thanks for your recent comments on my stuff, I will post the pattern for Scrappy this weekend.

  23. Rachel says:

    Please don’t burn it!

  24. Kathleen says:

    Are you in a rush to finish? It looks to be a beautiful sweater. It took me 3 months to knit “That Little Scarf” I took apart 3x’s what I knit. BUT I now own a beautiful scarf.

  25. Lisa says:

    I’m sorry it didn’t work out for you because I love the color. However, I do love the new pattern, so I will just wish you luck with that one!

  26. Jean says:

    Ugh. Sorry Mr. Greenjeans is causing so many problems. Cece is really very cute.

Leave a Reply

