Overwhelmed

249

It is official – I have too many projects going and I’m officially overwhelmed.  My poor knitting basket is overflowing and I have to push down to get everything in (and even then there seem to be needles and yarn hanging over the side all the time). 

So what do I have in progress (actively in progress – not the stuff in my stash that we won’t talk about) – I have a sweater (Cobblestone), another sweater (Mr Greenjeans), a throw (Totally Autumn), a wrap (Hypoteneuse), a Chevron scarf, Nine to Five Socks…and also the above pair of socks.  Which I cast on earlier this week because Larry made a comment that it has been a while since I made him socks.  Of course I had to start something new – but I think this is the one that made the scales tip just a little too much and now I’m unhappy at the amount of projects I have going.  I like having options – but having this many projects means that I don’t finish things – and that just doesn’t work for me.  So now I’m focused – I’m going to finish all of them, and go back to my one big, one portable project only method.  No, really – I can do it.

250

The yarn is Lorna’s Laces, colorway is Tuscany – and I just love the yarn.  The colors are gorgeous  and I love the way it feels.   I wish I could tell you what the stitch is – I started with something else, didn’t like how it looked, so I used my iPhone on the train to go to Knitting on the Net and found it there.  For the life of me, I can’t remember which one it is.  Its easy, though, and I like the fabric it creates.  And it seems to be breaking up the colorway in a nice way  – no pooling!

I’ve been having just a really nice weekend – yesterday was knitting group, and always a good time.    Today I went clothes shopping – I was feeling a little frumpy lately, and needed something a little more current and seasonal than what I’ve been wearing.  Someone at knitting group mentioned that I buy sweaters that look like handknits – I’m not sure that’s true, but I do like this one – and it was on sale!  And I like how the 2×2 ribbing goes into the 4×2 ribbing – very neat!

253

Doesn’t the yarn look a little like Donegal Tweed?  I love tweedy yarns – and I’ve been thinking about making Central Park Hoodie (scroll down the page) with Donegal.  Chris made hers with a beautiful red, and its gorgeous.    Hmmm…maybe I should start looking for the yarn…

OK, I need to put my laptop away before I really go looking for the yarn.  Have a great Sunday!

19 Responses to Overwhelmed

  1. Josiane says:

    Looking for the yarn for a new sweater isn’t exactly the way *not* to start a new project! 😉
    The stitch pattern you found for these socks is really cute! I like the way it breaks the colours, too.

  2. That stitch pattern is fantastic with the yarn. Good luck finishing everything, although seven projects on the go at the same time is impressive.

  3. hakucho says:

    Love that stitch pattern…too bad you can’t remember which one it is 😉

    Your new sweater is lovely…it sure looks handknit!

    I have to keep to the one home project and one take take along. I do stray from that rule once in awhile…like this week. It happens…as long as you are happy that’s the important thing. It is so tempting though when you see so much you want to do…..

  4. Nikki says:

    Jeanne your socks are lovely, wish there was more choice of Lorna’s Laces over here – you’re so lucky.
    I don’t believe for a minute that you’ll stick with one project, I’ve been reading your blog for too long now!!

  5. I loved that yarn when I saw it yesterday – and good luck with the one project thing. Never worked for me, but you have more willpower….don’t you?

  6. Karen says:

    Love your socks…great color.

  7. weezalana says:

    Hmm…I might be having anxiety for you. But then, the three I generally max out at tend to make me twitchy…

  8. Jennifer says:

    I get overwhelmed if I have too much on the needles too! Sounds like you have some wonderful projects in the works though.

  9. Ren says:

    i really like the yarn and stitch pattern on the socks… it looks great.

    also, i love that tweedy sweater! i see no reason why you can’t have store-bought sweaters that look like hand-knits! : )

  10. susan says:

    I love Lorna’s Laces and that colorway is going on the list.

  11. Carin says:

    My suggestion is (drum roll please) get a larger knitting basket.
    Well… that has been my solution.
    Hang in there. You do complete a lot of projects. Some of those will call you back and the one’s that don’t… oh well, life is to short.
    I too really like what the stitch pattern does with the colourway.

  12. adrienne says:

    Hang in there! your projects look great!

  13. rivercitystl says:

    The Lorna’s Laces sock is beautiful! I am a firm believer that it is completely normal to have way too many projects going at one time. Yup. Thats what I believe and I’m sticking to it!

  14. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I admit, it drives me nuts when I have too many things started- of course, it IS a short drive.

    E-mail me, and I’ll tell you where to get the good Donegal- at a good price!

  15. Jeanne says:

    I’m going to second the notion that you need a larger knitting basket. After all, you wouldn’t have started all those projects if you didn’t want them all.

  16. Opal says:

    I can totally empathize with how overwhelmed your feeling. I have way too many shawls on the needles (4!!) and I need to get them done! Maybe we can lean on each other for support.

  17. tiennie says:

    The sock colors are so pretty. That is a lot of projects and it would overwhelm me too. You can get through them!

  18. Asa says:

    Phew! I’m exhausted just reading this blog entry. All I can say is good luck.

  19. Jean says:

    About a year ago, I made a pair of socks with LL Tuscany. I was head over heels with the colors in the hank, but very disappointed with the way it knit up. I gave those socks away. But you’re right — your stitch pattern is just perfection with the colorway. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

