Lucky!

I can’t believe my luck – I really can’t.  First I won a prize..and…I don’t normally work from home all that often – and this week, I get to do it twice!  Today AND tomorrow.  Because today I had to go to the eye doctor (which is fine now, of course) – so the person covering for my boss was all “hey, no problem”.  (I was even luckier because my boss, who is normally sort of grinchy about the working from home thing, is on vacation!).    It is so nice to be home at a reasonable time, with enough time to have a normal dinner, blog, knit.  Ahhhhh – so nice.  And the best part?  I’m here tomorrow too!  So I’ll be nice and rested for the weekend!

So there has been a lot of spinning lately on the blogs I read….which motivated me to start again….remember this?  Well, now its becoming this…

240

Dyed in the Wool – superwash wool/sea cell blend.  It is so nice to spin – very silky.  I’m really enjoying it, and the colors are just gorgeous.  I can’t wait to finish it – I want to make a scarf for it (right in time for summer!).   And did you read the new Spin Off?  Very good article on twist in plying – I’m still a beginning spinner, so I appreciate articles like that.    I’m starting to really think about SOAR – it is close to where I live this year – wouldn’t it be great to go?  Or there is a spinning retreat sponsored by the local spinning guild – I went a year ago and really liked it.  But it is sort of lonely to go by myself (hint, hint local people!). 

I had to frog Mr. Greenjeans all the way back – I don’t know how I did it but I had the wrong count in every single section – I don’t think I could do that again if  I tried.  Jeanne commented that she needs to keep a careful count with top down raglans….and I guess those are words to live by.  I need to be a much more careful knitter overall – and I think this proves it.  So I ripped it back, and cast on again.  And this time I’m making sure that I keep track of where I am.    

Ok, off to do some knitting!  Enjoy your Friday ….you know I will!

14 Responses to Lucky!

  1. Jeanne says:

    Bummer about Mr Greenjeans, but if the count was off in every section, that’s hard to fudge. I usually count every row, and then a get cocky and start counting less often, and then have to rip back. It’s tradition.

  2. weezalana says:

    That is so pretty! Heeee, shiny…

    Sorry about the froggin’. If it makes you feel any better, I had to redo the same 5 rows about 3 times on a sleeve Tuesday night because I kept forgetting which row I was on and when I was supposed to do the increases.

  3. Elise says:

    Nice to see you spinning again! Now I have to find a wheel by the fall so I can go to SOAR with you 🙂

  4. Ren says:

    have a great weekend! : )

  5. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous spinning!

  6. Josiane says:

    Your spinning is lovely! I’d love to go to SOAR, too, and I guess this year it is as close to home as it will ever get, so I’m really tempted… but still, I’m not sure, as I’m having a very busy year. I’ll see.
    That’s too bad about Mr. Greenjeans, but I’m sure it’s now on the right track and everything will go well.
    Have a great weekend!

  7. Opal says:

    Spinning! *squee!* Such gorgeous singles too! Are you going to make it a 2ply? 3ply? Is it laceweight?

  8. Kim says:

    You won something beautiful! It amazes me how it spins up totally different than it starts and both are uniquely beautiful. Great job!

  9. chris says:

    Enjoy the day! And the spinning is beautiful. Someone is bound to take you up on your offer…..or hint!

    Happy Friday!

    Sorry about last night – I feel asleep!!!!!!

  10. Necia says:

    Hey Lady,

    I’m definitely going to Fibre Fallout, and so should you! Thanks for calling my attention to Soar. Your spinning looks great to me. I have some Maggie roving too, and I will be moving it up on the q a bit.

  11. Rebekah says:

    That is awfully lucky! I wish I could work from home, but then I know myself well enough to know that would never work. I’d knit the whole time and not actually work.

  12. hakucho says:

    I’m sure you’ll do fine the second time around. Good luck and have a great weekend 🙂

  13. Jenny Girl says:

    Wow! I have never seen the difference with roving after spinning. That is cool looking. Love the colors, and glad you got to work form home.
    I only wish!
    Have a great weekend! Happy spinning!

Leave a Reply

