Always check the label!

I think it was the shrug that made me want to start a new project.  In fact, I know it was.  Ever since I finished it, I had this overwhelming urge to start a top down cardigan for me.  And I knew the one I wanted – the Eyelet Cardi.  I rummaged through the stash – I had some Dale Svale – it is a beautiful red, and I knew it would be perfect for the project.  But….I didn’t have enough in the stash.  And I couldn’t believe it – I didn’t have any DK cotton-blend yarn – wool, yes, but not cotton.  And since spring is coming, I really wanted something that I could wear for a while.

So I called Chris – and we went to Down Cellar on an emergency yarn run (always nice when you can call a friend, explain how you NEED to buy yarn and they are in, no questions asked!).    When we got there, the very nice salesperson helped us find the DK weight yarns – and suggested just the perfect yarn – such a beautiful deep red.  So soft.  So squishy.  Perfect.  Cascade Pima Tencel.
237

We looked around the shop and found a gorgeous sample of a lace shawl/scarf.  The yarn it was made out of was Berroco Seduce – gorgeous.  I’ll post a picture another day (it is upstairs, and you know I’m lazy).  We both bought the yarn – Chris bought a gorgeous grey, and I bought red (of course).   We had such a good time, looking at the yarn, talking about the yarn store we want to open some day.  Chris was even nice enough to buy me a drink! 

As soon as I got home, I cast on and did two rows.  Of course, I didn’t bother with a gauge swatch (why waste time?), but for some reason I decided to stop and look the yarn up on Ravelry – I think I was making sure there weren’t any comments of things to watch.  And so I looked it up – and WTF?  Ravelry had the yarn as worsted.  Ugh.  I checked Yarndex – nope, worsted.   

I deciced to swatch.  And yep – totally not the right gauge.  With a lot of encouragement from Chris, I tried over – with a smaller needle.  Nope – there was no way this yarn was going to make the gauge of the sweater.    I spent some time of kicking my own ass for a) not looking at the label myself and b) not questioning the salesperson at all (and I kept on hearing the comment she made “this is also in the worsted room – I wonder why?” – why didn’t I question that!).  I finally accepted that I bought worsted weight when I should have bought DK.  Grr.  So what to do?  It was now too late in the day to go back to the store…sigh….so I sat there, whining. 

But then, knitting friend to the rescue – Chris IM’d me with a link to another pattern.   Perfect (and this time I started with a gauge swatch!)…..I love it!

233

This yarn is just so nice – I love the way it feels and drapes. 

234

I can’t get a good picture of the color – it isn’t pink at all like it is showing up here – it is really a very deep red.    I think the sweater is going to  be gorgeous in it.  And of course, I’ve bailed on every other project to knit on it!  

We don’t really celebrate Easter – but we had a wonderful breakfast with the kids this morning.   Andrew is heading back to school this afternoon, and Dan had to work, so it will be just Larry, Cieara and I for dinner.  I miss the days of coloring eggs, baskets and big family dinners.  But times change, and the time we did get to spend together this morning was wonderful.   

Well, I’m off to knit on my cardi – have a wonderful week (and if you celebrate Happy Easter!)

21 Responses to Always check the label!

  1. It looks great! I’m glad you found another cardy that you wanted to knit – and I had a lot of fun yesterday!

  2. susan says:

    I like the new pattern and love the color of the yarn!

  3. Looks like you’ve made progress even with the false start. I can’t wait to see the final cardi.

  4. hakucho says:

    Glad you found another pattern…I like Mr. Greenjeans much better 🙂

    I’m happy you had a nice breakfast. We’re here having a quiet day, too. Just good to be around family even if it isn’t a big party 🙂

    Hope you have a good week!

  5. weezalana says:

    Glad you found another pattern! I might have just gone and bought more yarn. 😉

  6. Josiane says:

    I’m knitting Mr Greenjeans right now, except that I’m turning it into a pullover. In any case, it’s a fun and easy pattern, and it knits up quite fast. Your spring-y version will be great!

  7. Beth says:

    That will look lovely as a greenjeans 🙂 Improvisation in the face of mistakes sometimes nets the best results.

  8. Wanda says:

    That’s too bad about the original cardigan, but Mr. Greenjeans is a great pattern too. Cascade Pima Tencel is soft, nice stuff to work with.

  9. Lauren says:

    Love the pattern choice- I’ve daydreamed of knitting that one.
    Enjoy!

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Maybe it was fate that you knit that one instead?
    We don’t celebrate Easter as such, just an excuse to eat alot of chocolate-

    like we need one!

  11. Cookie says:

    That’s what you get for being so trusting. ;^)

    Mr. Greenjeans is going to be beautiful in that yarn.

  12. Jean says:

    That’s so crazy, I was JUST swatching some Cascade Pima Tencel for a baby sweater. Using bamboo US 5’s, I’m getting 22st/4″, maybe even 23st/4″. What needles are you using? In any case, I guess it goes to show the difference the knitter makes on the gauge. It is super soft with beautiful sheen and drape. I love your red color. It’s going to make a gorgeous sweater for you!

  13. tiennie says:

    Glad that it worked out in the end!

  14. Jeanne says:

    What did we do before Ravelry? At least it all worked out in the end. You’ll have to let us know what you think of the yarn. I’ve not knit with that one before.

  15. suzy girl says:

    I love the Greenjeans sweater. It’s been in my queue from day one but I’ve never gotten around to it. And what a great idea to do it in a cotton blend. The Pima looks lovely! Can’t wait to see it as it knits up!

  16. Ren says:

    that stinks, but i’m glad you found a new pattern to work with! as a sidenote, i really liked the pima tencel… very nice stuff, if you ever decide to use it for a project. : )

  17. Opal says:

    I’m so glad you found a pattern to work with that beautiful yarn. And it’s such a cute pattern!

  18. Lisa says:

    I love the color and the pattern. That should be a beautiful sweater!

  19. Jennifer says:

    Perfect yarn for a Mr. Greenjeans! I love mine and wear it all the time. I was thinking of doing a cotton version, and your pima tencel is giving me something to consider…

  20. Jenny Girl says:

    I like greenjeans better anyway. A little more going on with the pattern so you are not too bored.
    And the yarn store thing…I completely understand where you are coming from. Been there and done that. You are just so excited to buy yarn that you don’t hear people talking to you. You are too focused on the yarn and it’s mesmerizing effects 🙂

  21. lynne says:

    Oh, dang. When I run into that problem, I usually just knit a smaller size and hope for the best! ALthough, Mr. Greenjeans is a very good sweater….

Leave a Reply

