a little odd

I think I’m getting a little weird.    Not horribly weird, but just a little odd.  The other day on the train, I was looking down and noticed the guy next to me had nice socks on.  I stared at them for a while, looking at the pattern, wondering if they were hand-made.  I’m not weird enough to ask him, but I was weird enough to take a picture.  So I  Kinneared him – while I was pretending to do something on my iPhone.   That’s a little odd, no?  What makes it a little bit more weird is how happy I was that the picture came out (so happy that I showed a co-worker – who now thinks I’m very odd). 

IMG_0066

But isn’t that a nice pattern?  Big chevron.  Hmmm….I am going to see if I can’t replicate it.   They really were nice.  Maybe this will start a trend – and I’ll start snapping sock pictures all the time on the train and get ideas for new sock patterns. 

What a busy week!  I’m not sure why it was busy – it is a little slow at work, but it just seemed like a long, busy week.  I went out for drinks last night with co-workers and got home late….so it is very nice that I’m working from home today.  And slept in until 7.  Heaven.  We heard the birds singing for the first time this morning – spring is definitely on the way!   

Hypoteneuse was just too big to bring on the train – it was making my briefcase just too clunky.  So back into the basket it went – it will probably be there until after I finish the throw – which is coming along very nicely.  Because I always have to have train knitting, I started a new pair of socks. 

180

It was late at night, so I just grabbed something in the stash that had already been balled up.  This is Louet Pearl Gems – very nice.  I forget where/when I bought this, but it has been in the stash for a while.  So I felt very virtuous using it!  The pattern is Nine-To-Five socks (Ravelry link) from Nichole .  It is a free pattern (if you don’t have Ravelry, you can download it directly from her blog).  Very nice pattern – very easy, mindless, but I like the way it looks. 

179

OK, time to go back to work.  I hope you have a wonderful Friday – TGIF!

18 Responses to a little odd

  1. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I don’t think you’re weird- how else were you to remember the guy’s socks? You had to Kinnear them.

  2. Awesome Mom says:

    I think that every knitter that reads your blog will not think you are nuts at all. Non knitters will but knitters not a bit. I wish my camera phone took as nice pictures as that. Mine always turn out kind of grainy

  3. weezalana says:

    Very impressed with your sly photog skills! That looks like a stitch pattern I’ve seen in BW – I think it’s called Pinnacle Chevron?

  4. kim says:

    I think that is hilarious that you “Kinneared” those socks! And they are fabulous. They remind me of the Henry scarf on Knitty, but that’s knit sideways… I love your pinks socks too.

  5. Ina says:

    What a gorgeous mansock! And what a great surreptitious photo – I don’t think my digicam would capture as good an image as your iPhone. [Feels stab of envy, pouts] The pink sock is beauteous, too.

  6. Rebekah says:

    Well now I often look at other people’s clothing, try to memorize the pattern, amke mental notes, etc. But I don’t often take pictures.

    It is a nice pattern though. Very tightly knit, obviously machine, but it’d be nice to duplicate.

  7. Jeanne says:

    Taking photos of strangers’ socks is definitely not weird. No question.

    Thanks for the Ravelry link to the sock pattern. It made it very easy to add it to my queue.

  8. hakucho says:

    You are TOO Funny 🙂 I bet if I had a camera cell phone I’d probably be taking more pictures too…so no I don’t think you are weird 😉
    Love the 9 to 5 pattern…looks like another good one!

    happy knitting 🙂

  9. Jennifer says:

    I don’t think you are weird either. Cool looking socks pretty much have to be recorded.

  10. Margaret says:

    I am in love with your pink sock! Love the soft color, and the Pearl is just so easy to knit.

  11. Silvia says:

    Thank’s God I’m not the only one :).

    Apart from taking pictures of static people, I sometimes follow them in the street for a better shot, or go in shops and take garments in the dressing rooms just for the sake of taking a picture of the patterns :). No, I don’t think we’re weird :)).

  12. chris says:

    It’s not weird that you kinneared the guys sock at all. What is weird – he is wearing white pants before Memorial Day????? OMG!

    I love the sock – the pattern and the yarn look very nice.

  13. rhoda says:

    you kinneared him! i love it. hope you’re able to replicate the sock. i really like how your 9 to 5 socks are coming along. great color!

  14. Jilliana says:

    I used to kinnear things and people all the time. Sometimes you want to remember things and that’s the easiest way. There’s also those times where the guy walking by you as you sit outside the coffee shop is wearing wierd looking pants that your best friend would get a kick out of. It’s only right to kinnear!……right?

  15. lobstah says:

    Hee hee, maybe there’s an intervention program for things like this? Just kidding, it’s a very neat design.

  16. bonitapita says:

    Weird? Not at all. I try to look at people’s socks cause I want to meet other sock knitters. And I love it when other people totally out of the blue ask me about my socks!

    That new sock is going to be amazing. Must take another look at that pattern!

  17. tiennie says:

    Too funny! Your socks are pretty!

  18. jennygirl says:

    You are too funny! And I love mindless knitting projects.

Leave a Reply

