Plain ole socks…

175

We had a terrible storm on Saturday – rain, wind, rain.   For the most part, I spent the day at home – knitting away, watching TV, napping (just as I said I would).  And I was really close to finishing the socks when the power went out.  For 4 hours.  And there is just no way I can knit in dark on black socks.  I was really irritated – but it ended up being sort of nice.  We played Scrabble with Cieara, got take-out, and watched Family Guy on my laptop until the battery went out.    And just when I was ready to lose it and start whining – the power came back on.  And I got to finish the socks.

171

Pattern:  Basic 2×2 rib
Yarn:  Universal Yarn Ditto
Needle:  US #1 DPN
Started:  February 11, 2008
Finished:  March 8, 2008

173

I bought this yarn on my knitting group yarn crawl at A Yarn for All Season.  I hadn’t seen it before, and liked the color combination.  It is very much like Regia or Opal – sort of scratchy but I think it will soften with the wash.  I needed a good, workhouse, washable yarn for this one as it was a gift  – for someone with really freaking big feet – do you see how long those are? I actually bought 3 skeins because I thought that I wouldn’t have enough – but I have a whole skein left – and probably at equal to another half of the leftover skeins.  Probably enough for another pair of socks for someone with small feet.  Not bad yardage at all – because I don’t remember this being very expensive.

Yesterday was the first day of Daylight Saving time in the US – which I normally hate.  I hate losing an hour of sleep – and I always feel off.  But I have to say – when I got off the train tonight and saw the sun….and drove home in the daylight….well, maybe it isn’t too bad at all.  So much nicer than leaving for work in the dark, and coming home in the dark.   I was so happy to have the sun shining on me….

So tomorrow is a big day on the blog.  It is my second blogiversary!  Yep – two years ago I started with a post.  I’ve had a lot of fun doing this, and I’ve enjoyed getting to know so many different people.  So thanks for stopping by and reading my ramblings!   

Have a good week!

18 Responses to Plain ole socks…

  1. weezalana says:

    It’s like…the power company *knew*.

    Nice job on the socks! And Happy Blogiversary! 🙂

  2. Wanda says:

    Congrats on finishing the socks. They look great! And Happy Blogiversary!

  3. Josiane says:

    Of course, the power *cannot* go out during naptime, it has to be during knitting time! 🙂
    Happy blogiversary!

  4. Awesome Mom says:

    Nice socks! And congrats on making it to two years.

  5. chris says:

    The socks came out wonderful – I’m sure the recipient is going to be very happy to have them. And Happy Blogaversary – I am very glad to have found both you and your blog!!

  6. Adrienne says:

    The socks are great!!!! Happy blogiversary

  7. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Happy Blogiversary- wow.

    Those are honking large feet.

  8. Cookie says:

    Happy Blog Day!

    Now those socks have a story behind them.

  9. Karen says:

    Beautiful socks!

  10. Opal says:

    Happy Blogiversary! 🙂 And ya know.. I have size 6 feet. In case you were wondering about small feet or anything like that.. just sayin’.

  11. lilypily says:

    The socks are really neat. Love the way they look all rolled up in the top photo. :o) Glad you are getting some sun at last. I can’t imagine not seeing sunshine before or after work. I used to hate winter days at work when I couldn’t see the sky at all through the day. I guess this sort of thing just contributes to the S.A.D. syndrome. Roll on Spring eh?! :o)

  12. Jennifer says:

    Happy Blogiversary! The socks are very pretty.

  13. hakucho says:

    Love your socks. Very pretty striping pattern 🙂

  14. jennygirl says:

    I like your plain ole socks. You can wear them with lots of things, especially jeans. Wait a while and knit yourself up a pair.

    I too hate to lose the hour, but the daylight is worth it.

    Happy Blogiversary 🙂

  15. tiennie says:

    I like plain ol’ socks! Yours are great!

    Happy happy blogiversary!

  16. Rebekah says:

    Power outages can be great fun and annoyances, and I never seem to have a suitable project to knit during one. The power goes out a ton at our house.

    What a great time though spending time playing games with your kids, its a perfect way to spend time together.

    Although I do secretly want a portable DVD (battery operated of course) player for the next time the power goes out.

  17. Ren says:

    happy blogiversary! those socks are super long… but they look very nice! hope the recipient likes them. : )

  18. susan says:

    Jeanne Congrats on two years! I always enjoy stopping by and I love the new look. As usual you are so prolific in the knitting department!

Leave a Reply

