Dropping stitches

I’ve been working on my socks during my commute this week – I’m trying to get them done because they are a gift and I want to send them off to the recipient because he/she is going through a rough time right now and socks always make you feel better right?   And also because I want to start working on Hypoteneuse on the train so I can get that done (or maybe the Chevron scarf)…(or maybe I’ll cast on for a new pair of socks)…anyway, back to the socks.  I’ve finally got to the heel – so I did the flap, did the turn, clipping along on the gusset decreases….looks good, doesn’t it?

163

Or does it?

165

I use Knit Picks Harmony DPN’s – and love them.  The only problem is that they are too short for my DPN holder – so 50% of the time when I pull them out of my bag, some stitches have come off the needles.  And apparently that little guy stitcking out above fell off – and  I didn’t notice until I was 7 rows past it.  Sigh.  I had to wait until I got home for better light to drop the stitch back to the one I missed, and them pick them all up again. 

As I was doing it, I thought about how when I was a new knitter, I would have ripped the whole project back to that point…and I remember some projects that I frogged completely because I couldn’t pick the stitches up again.  I still have a lot to learn as a knitter – but I’m very glad I learned how to drop and pick up stitches!  Whew!  I’m also very glad that I have a really small crochet hook with me at all times!

I am so glad it is the weekend….I don’t have any planned but relaxing, knitting, napping.  I hope to finish the socks this weekend – and of course, do a lot of work on the throw (I was really tired the other night when I worked on it and I think I messed up the last row, so I’ll need to go back and see what I did – don’t you hate that?).    It is starting to feel a bit like spring here….although our winter wasn’t bad at all, I think I’m ready for warm weather, sun, and being outside. 

Hope you have a nice weekend! 

13 Responses to Dropping stitches

  1. chris says:

    Whew! Good thing you have the super mad knitting skillz!

    Enjoy your weekend!

  2. Jennifer says:

    When I was a new knitter, dropped stitches terrified me, now I do exactly what you did. I’m glad you caught it!

  3. Awesome Mom says:

    It is a good thing you caught it, imagine if you had missed seeing it. The Horror!

  4. Lisa says:

    Eek! A dropped stitch! I like knitting with shorter DPNs too, but after having the same problem I’m switching it up to two circulars for a bit. They’re much harder to drop a stitch from.

  5. Opal says:

    Good on you for picking up that dropped stitch, but… oh. my. god. I love that yarn! What is it?

  6. Lisa says:

    I was thinking the same thing last night when I missed a yo 2 rows back. Earlier I would have had to rip out those two rows, but last night I just quickly fixed it, saving myself time! Yay!

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

  7. Jeanne says:

    I have a dropped stitch waiting for me too….I dropped it in that car on the way home from the retreat, and couldn’t get it picked up again. No, I wasn’t driving.

  8. hakucho says:

    What would we – knitters – do with out our crochet hooks? I have to keep one near me at all times especially knitting socks 🙂

  9. lilypily says:

    Good old crochet hooks. They have to be good for something. ;o) I hope I don’t get hate mail for that. LOL. Hope you got some sunshine over the weekend. :o)

  10. tiennie says:

    That is a good skill to have! I totally remember frogging projects too. Now I know how to do quick fixes like you!

  11. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- There’s alot of us who have spent time in the frog pond.

    The sun is getting warmer, you can feel it.

  12. Ren says:

    i hope you got that stitch taken care of! isn’t there any other way to store them in your bag where the stitches won’t fall off?

  13. catsmum says:

    you picked that up on a moving train????

Leave a Reply

