Uh-oh….

I decided last year that I wouldn’t start a lot of new projects at the same time.  Although I do love starting projects, and certainly have quite a few in the queue, having too much going at the same time just means that I don’t get a lot finished.  And I like to finish things.  Also  – seeing an overflowing knitting basket just stresses me out.  So I limit myself to one big project, and one travel project.  Well…that’s the plan, and for the most part I have been sticking to it. 

Except now.  Because I got this in the mail…

162

This is SeeJayneKnits Chili with Jalapenos.  Gorgeous, eh? 

154

This yarn is really hard to photograph and capture the colors accurately.  On Jayne’s site the yarn looks like it has red tones – but it actually isn’t as red as that.  It is most warm shades of brown/red/black – maybe a touch of green.  The real color is somwhere between the first and second photo above.  I took one with a flash, the other in sun – and neither is right.  Funny, eh?  I was a little hestitant when I got it because I had wanted something with red…but after holding it for a while and petting it, I decided that I do like it.  I just had to adjust expectations.  Has that happened to you with something you ordered online?

I bought enough of this yarn to make Totally Autumn – and I couldn’t resist starting it.

156

This yarn is just so nice to work with.  Its soft and squishy and the colors are gorgeous.  Jayne is so nice to work with – I highly recommend her.  This was a custom order, and the whole process was nice and easy and I got the yarn fast – always good when I can’t wait to start a project.

So now I have a pair of socks, Cobblestone, Hypoteneuse, a chevron scarf, and the throw on the needles.  That’s a bit more than “one big project and one pair of socks”.   If I was being good, I’d finish Cobblestone, and then work on things in order of how long they’ve been going.  But I don’t think I’ll be doing that.  Because the only thing I want to work on is the throw.  And this yarn. 

So…if you don’t see my online, or posting on blogs….you know where I’ll be….

Have a great end of the week!

20 Responses to Uh-oh….

  1. stitch-dom says:

    OMG…that is totally gorgeous – yarn and pattern! I hadn’t seen that throw before…

    (runs off to queue Totally Autumn on ravelry)

  2. adrienne says:

    BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- That’s in my queue, but I’m making a wrap with some Wollmeise.

    I have a King’s ransom in Wollmeise.

  4. Karen says:

    Those colors are beautiful. I have this throw on the needles as well but haven’t knitted on it lately…I’m just lazy…because I have to wind a new ball of yarn.

  5. You’ll never finish things unless you start them… at least that’s what I tell myself when the ufo’s start multiplying. The colours in the yarn are gorgeous in both the photos, it’s funny how light changes how we see things.

  6. weezalana says:

    I generally keep around three going at one time. Any more than that and I start to hyperventilate.

    That is going to make a GORGEOUS throw!

  7. Natalie says:

    It looks very squooshy! It’ll be a very comfy throw.

  8. Jeanne says:

    That looks like perfect yarn for Totally Autumn. It’ll be gorgeous when it’s done.

  9. Jean says:

    So glad you had a wonderful time in NYC. Your new yarn is scrumptious. Can’t blame you at all for casting on immediately. It looks perfect for Totally Autumn.

  10. Opal says:

    What a perfect yarn for that pattern! Delicious. 🙂

  11. Jennifer says:

    That is going to be one stunning blanket!

  12. Beauteous! Lookit you, all blogging and knitting in the middle of the day!

  13. Kim says:

    Absolutely beautiful – great choice for the throw!

  14. lilypily says:

    The new yarn is beautiful! I can see why you found it hard to resist casting on! I think it will be beautiful worked up. Look forward to seeing it progress. :o) I’m trying to finish up current WIPs before starting anything else as I too get stressed with an overflowing basket. So far so good, though I’m itching to cast on for some new socks. :o)

  15. tiennie says:

    Oh it is very pretty! Have fun knitting it up!

  16. Kathleen says:

    I am still working on Twinings. I am so glad that you provided the link. I love the pattern and the yarn that I chose. I have thrown a few things in mostly because the lace yarn is so small I can not work on it for long periods of time, feels like my eyeballs are going to pop out.

  17. Peggy says:

    I guess this is like getting thrown in the water to teach you how to swim!

    The yarn is beautiful, I can’t blame you for having so many things going.

  18. Wanda says:

    I love that yarn. It looks perfect for the throw.

  19. hakucho says:

    I really can see why you only want to work on the throw pattern. It’s gorgeous and I love the yarn you picked to knit it with.

    Oh, well a few too many projects…but the important thing is that you are happily knitting :)…something!

  20. jennygirl says:

    This will be a beautiful throw. I really like the yarn. And you work on whatever projects calls you the most. That’s why I always have several OTN. Usually.

Leave a Reply

