Knitting everywhere…

We just got home a little bit ago after a really nice weekend  (and thanks for all your nice comments about my running away!).  There is something about being in New York – everytime I’m there (well, every time I’m there that isn’t related to being there for work) I want to move there.  I think it must be amazing to live there and have so many things just right there for you to do on a whim.  

Yesterday we went to the Metropolitan Museam of Art – I have lived in NJ for most of my life, and I hate to admit it – but it was my first time. 

124

Even the building is beautiful, isn’t it?  It is huge – we spent most of the day there and barely scratched the surface of it.  We saw paintings, sculpture, suits of armor, jewelry from 2000 years ago.  Amazing place…of course, I was hoping to find some fiber related things…

126

Would that make an amazing cable?  This was part of paneling in a medival room – just beautiful.  But as soon as I saw the design, I wanted to knit it.  What do you think?  I’m not sure I’ve ever seen such an intertwined cable….I wonder if I can figure out how to do it on my own?  I think it would be awesome on a scarf or pair of socks.  Hmmm…

138

Do you see the fabric on the horses neck?  Knitted.  Or something that looks like knitting.  See?  Knitting IS everywhere…

We had a wonderful dinner last night, and the opera was beautiful.  Our seats are on the highest tier (teeny tiny people on stage…), but we didn’t want to buy better ones until we were sure that Larry would like it.  Last night the woman next to me got sick during the first intermission.  She threw up everywhere.  It was really really gross – except they moved us to the orchestra section – in the 6th row.  Wow.  What a difference!  We didn’t need opera glasses to see the singers – and it was a completely amazing experience to see their expressions and to see the sets so close that we could see all the small details.  I really hope the woman feels better today, but damn!  I’m sort of glad it happened (and I was glad she didn’t get my coat like she got everyone else’s). 

So I’m home now, relaxed and happy after a nice weekend with Larry.  And no, I didn’t get to any yarn shops.  But…I did come home to a nice surprise..

148

Dyed in the Wool Handmade – this is Corriedale in the Plaintain colorway.  Just like my laceweight, I realized that I have a lot of blue roving.  So I’m trying to branch out.    The colors are a little stronger in person, but I just couldn’t get it in the picture.

152

This is pencil roving  – a superwash/sea cell blend – the colorway is Twigs and Berries.  I love it.  I can’t wait to spin this up.  I saw this pencil roving in another colorway on someone’s blog and it spun up beautifully.  So I had to get some.    The roving came fairly quickly and the whole experience was nice, so I recommend.  Go look – she also has hand-dyed and hand-spun yarn.  Very pretty.

OK, I think I’m going to go take a nap and then maybe do some spinning – a lot of walking this weekend and I’m ready to relax.

Have a great Sunday!

23 Responses to Knitting everywhere…

  1. The roving is beautiful, someday I’ll have to learn to spin. Your trip to New York sounds fantastic… thanks for sharing your adventure.

  2. Ina says:

    What a great get-away! I’m glad your night at the opera ended well. The fiber looks yummy.

  3. Opal says:

    I love the museum shots. I had all these things I wanted to say about them. Then I saw the roving and all coherent thought flew out the window. Oh the roving! The roving!!

  4. hakucho says:

    Sounds like you had a great weekend. What opera did you see? My son (high school sophomore) is going to NYC in April on a band field trip to see Ernani.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Ewwww about the lady getting sick part. Turned out good for you though!

  6. adrienne says:

    Glad you had a good weekend. Love those pics!

  7. Sounds like a very nice getaway. And the roving looks great!

  8. rivercitystl says:

    I agree! That cable on the column would make a beautiful scarf! I recently have fallen head over heels in love with cables…I see them everywhere now!

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I’ll be adding yours to my google reader!

  9. Lisa says:

    It looks and sounds like you had a great time. Gotta love getaways!

    Ooooh lala! The rovings are gorgeous!

  10. Lorraine says:

    The cables could be done- I’m not sure if they would look that round- worth a try.
    I love the chain mail and armour- so romantic.

  11. Ren says:

    oooh, looks like a wonderful trip! that first picture is really great! : )

  12. Josiane says:

    That panel would certainly make a wonderful cable! Of course, you can figure it out! Why not?
    You’ve got some really nice fibers there! I’ve had a quick look at that shop a few times in the past, but now I think I’m gonna have a closer look at it!

  13. elizabeth says:

    Funny – that’s the first thing I thought when I saw that panel – what a great cable it would be! I’d start with the BW Treasures and see if you couldn’t unvent it.

  14. tiennie says:

    What a nice getaway!

  15. Jeanne says:

    That cable should be completely doable. Let me know when you figure it out. 😎

  16. Lisa says:

    You are so lucky to live so close to NY!!! I love the Metropolitain Museum of Art – the one time I was there it was absolutely jammed packed. Oddly enough I still ran into friends of my parents there…yes, from here.

    That roving is going to be absolutely amazing spun up.

  17. Peggy says:

    Glad you had a good time.
    That panel could definately be a cable! It probably wouldn’t even be too difficult.

    And the making of chain maille is actually called “knitting”

    Glad the opers ending up ok, but yuck!

  18. weezalana says:

    What a fun getaway!

    That would make a very cool cable! I think you could get the same effect if you knit the first and last stitch of the cable and purl the stitches in between…

  19. Carin says:

    I love the pencil roving’s colourway and am curious how you will spin it. I haven’t heard of “sea cell.” Do tell what you think of it.
    Glad to hear you had a nice getaway.

  20. Terri says:

    I’ve been out of the loop for a couple of days. So I’m pleased to see you’ve had a nice trip away in that time. Looks like great fun. Love the idea of the museum of art. That cabling is fantastic. If you work out how to put that down the side of a pair of socks, I’ll be one of the first to knit them. :o) Gorgeous.

  21. jennygirl says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed your trip. Having fun with the ones you loves recharges you. And that museum sounds like my kind of place.

  22. Kathleen says:

    I have the book by Elsebeth Lavold, Viking Patterns and she shows in the book how to take items with “cables” and turn “them” into knitted cables.

  23. Maggie says:

    Thanks for the link and the kind words! Hope you enjoy the fibre!

Leave a Reply

