Just one of those days…

I’ve been having one of those days – you know, the type where things just don’t go as planned?  It started last night, actually – I couldn’t sleep.  At all.  I woke up every hour at first, then every 30 minutes…and then down to every 10.   So right before the alarm was supposed to go off for work, I decided that perhaps working without sleep wasn’t a good idea – so I took the day off.    Of course, I couldn’t go back to sleep.    But I finally did take a nap early this afternoon, so I feel much better now.  I hate when that happens, don’t you?

I’ve been planning on making lemon cupcakes for a few weeks.  I found a great recipe, bought all the ingredients.  Made them this afternoon (after my nap).  And they are now in the garbage – they were seriously concave and just a paper thing full of greasy crumbs…yum.  Sigh…I should have known when I was making it – the recipe didn’t sound remotely like a cupcake recipe (cornstarch?).  What was I thinking?  So now I have 1.5 jars of lemon curd to do something with (it was for the frosting)…any ideas?

Thanks for all the input on Gale – I did frog it on Saturday.  I realized that I just kept on asking everyone I ran into what they would do – and that was a sign that I just wasn’t into it.  I’ll keep on looking for another pattern for the yarn – it is beautiful and I loved working with it.   

So what to knit (and don’t say Cobblestone!)….I had seen a beautiful wrap on Margaret’s blog done in Silky Wool which I had in my stash.  But I was iffy – until I saw Chris’ at knitting group – she is doing it in a heavier weight , but it was gorgeous (Chris is having a contest too – so go check out her wrap and enter her contest!).  So when I came home from knitting group, I started it.

113

I can’t capture the color of the yarn accurately – it is a very nice teal (blue again…..sigh).   I’m really enjoying the pattern – I memorized it the first repeat so I can just sit and knit on it mindlessly.  Oh, what is it?  Hypoteneuse.    I think this will be a nice, warm wrap.  And I think it will be done fairly quickly – can’t beat that!

112

Fortunately, this is the one thing going according to plan today….

Have a good week!

19 Responses to Just one of those days…

  1. Lisa says:

    I had a blah day today too. Ugh. I hate them! At least you have a gorgeous wrap started!

  2. susan says:

    Oh that looks scrumptious. Nice pattern for a wrap.

  3. Robby says:

    I think we’ve all had *those* days. As for your lemon cupcake project, so sorry they didn’t turn out. How disappointing to have a recipe you’ve been looking forward to be a dud. Ina Garten (Barefoot Contessa) has a lovely lemon cake that has been very successful for me (including at altitude). If you can’t find it on the Food Network site, I can share it with you as it used to be there. It would be delicious layered with your lemon curd and a touch of whipped cream – berries would be gilding the lily. But after a Monday like today, why not? Hope the rest of the week improves.

  4. Ack! go for the Lemon cake. Hopefully you slept like a baby after a whole night of being up.

    Thanks for the link! And nice Hypoteneuse!

  5. Ina says:

    Oh well. At least the knitting looks great!

  6. Beadknitter says:

    Beautiful stitch pattern in your shawl.

  7. Cookie says:

    I think yesterday was hard on everyone. I hope today is going much better for you.

    I vote lemon cake. Or lemon tarts. Or sending it to me. ;^)

  8. Opal says:

    I’ve been having problems with sleep too. Wonder what’s up with that! Lovely wrap. It looks so cozy!

  9. jennygirl says:

    Mmmmm lemon cake. Or do a goolge search for a recipe.
    This will be a warm and comfy wrap.

    Hope your week gets better 🙂

  10. Kim says:

    ooh, I haven’t been sleeping either. Hypoteneuse is beautiful.

  11. Jean says:

    You could always make the lemon frosting and just sit with a spoon and eat it straight out of the bowl. No? Just me then? Your Hypoteneuse is off to a smashing start.

  12. Peggy says:

    Sorry about your day, I do know how those go!

    Love the hypotenuse, what gauge do you like for teh Silky Wool?

  13. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- You just described the past 2 weeks of my life- but keep smiling- things will get better.

  14. Lisa says:

    I think its that time of year! Your hypotenuse is going to be lovely!

  15. Jennifer says:

    I hate waking up all the time like that. Ugh! I like the look of hypotenuse.

  16. Ren says:

    looks like your shawl is coming along nicely! i hope the rest of your week follows suit and improves. : )

  17. weezalana says:

    Hmmm, cornstarch. Yup, sounds a little off to me. I say wrap yourself up in a cozy knit, scoop up a nice big dish of ice cream, and pour some of the lemon curd on top. 😀

  18. tiennie says:

    Hope your week is getting better. Pretty start to your wrap!

  19. hakucho says:

    Your Hypoteneuse is very lovely!! Glad something worked out for you.

    As far as the lemon curd goes – this is a simple but delicious dessert. Store bought, or mix or homemade angel cake. Split it in half and put the lemon curd filling in the middle then frost with whipped cream. You can chill it if youo want and it really tastes good. Haven’t done that in a while.

Leave a Reply

