Snow!

106

I know that if you live anywhere in the mid-west or north you are really tired of snow.  But we haven’t had any substantial snowfall this year – a couple of ice/slush storms that melted right away.  But yesterday we finally got some real snow…and it is so pretty.  Fortunately, I was working from home anyway, so I got to enjoy it without worrying about driving in it.    And the roads are clear today, so I get to enjoy it again while I drive without worrying about anything.  The perfect snow storm!

Knitspot has a new pattern out – Gale.    Of course, I bought it immediately – and spent the night looking at my stash to see what I wanted to use (I know, I know – Cobblestone is sitting there – but its almost spring now and what’s the point of a sweater?).  I finally picked out the yarn, and started it yesterday.  I did the border and got to the third row on the pattern  when I realized that it was the same pattern as Gust (I am really quick on the uptake, eh?).   I was shocked – I had no idea that it was just a bigger version.  I was a little disappointed (ok, I was a lot disappointed and may have ranted for a few minutes to Opal and Chris) – I liked Gust, but I just finished it and I don’t usually just repeat patterns right away.  So I let it sit for the rest of the day – I couldn’t decide if I should frog it or not.  I liked how it was knitting up, and I love the yarn.  But still…I just finished it! 

I’m still undecided – but I worked on it this morning…what do you think?

100

This is Lorna’s Laces Helens Lace and the colorway is Lakeview.  I love this yarn – its a silk/wool blend, and it is just so nice to work with.  And the colors are so pretty – for some reason it reminds me of Easter eggs…

104

So what do you think?  Frog it?  Finish it? 

I will say that when I went through my laceweight stash I realized that most of it is blue, or varigated with blue.  I need to branch out and buy some new colors.  Anything but blue!

I bought some roving this morning – gorgeous stuff.  I’ll show you when I get it – I’ve had a hankering to spin lately, and I think this will be the roving that gets me back into it!

OK, I’m off to lunch and then knitting group….I hope you have a great Saturday! 

16 Responses to Snow!

  1. Awesome Mom says:

    I would frog it and save the pattern for a later date. I have a hard time doing two of the same patterns one right after another.

  2. Jeanne says:

    The yarn is lovely. You should save it for something you are excited over. If Gale is basically the same thing as Gust, I would have a hard time knitting them so close together.

  3. Leigh says:

    Hey! Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier. I’m glad you got to enjoy the snow! I’ve felt left out since moving further east… *sigh*. Oh, well. The Gust is beautiful – but I agree with some other folks – I generally need something brain-dead after a fancy-schmancy project. Have a good one!

  4. Well, since I know the outcome, I can’t offer any new advice. But I think you’ll be happier with something different right now.

  5. Jean says:

    That’s the perfect snow storm for me, too. It’s in a pretty picture on a blog and nowhere near me! Your Helen’s Lace is beautiful. I say rip and save the yarn for a project you’re really excited about. Not that Gale isn’t lovely and not that the yarn wouldn’t make a beautiful Gale, but you’re clearly feeling too frustrated right now to really enjoy.

  6. Carin says:

    Welcome to my world, the gray/white one. And you are correct, this time of year we are a bit tired of the white stuff.
    The yarn is beautiful, use it on a project that you have excitement for.

  7. Wanda says:

    I was thinking that when I saw Gale that it was similar to Gust. After she finished Gust, I think there was demand for a stole version, so a larger pattern was written. That sucks that you bought it twice though. I’d hold off on knitting Gale so quickly after Gust.

  8. lilypily says:

    Well it is knitting up beautifully…. Such pretty colours. I’ve used this colourway before – in LL’s sock yarn, so I know just how pretty it is. But still…..you’ve just finished it….. :o) Sorry, no help at all am I. (g) Thanks for the snow pic. After a day at 40C here yesterday, a pic of snow is much appreciated!

  9. Kim says:

    Enough snow already!

    I like Gale a lot and think your yarn is lovely.

  10. debbie says:

    I wondered about Gale being the same as Gust. She’s got another recent lace scarf that’s different. Have you seen that? If you’re not feeling happy about essentially knitting Gust as a shawl, don’t do it. If you keep knitting on, your likely to keep being annoyed and will end up frogging after awhile anyway.

    Oh, I’d love to see the snow in person. It’s going to be 80 degrees here today. I don’t even want to think about summer.

  11. hakucho says:

    That’s too bad you didn’t realize it was the same pattern earlier! The yarn is very pretty…I would say if you aren’t really excited about it …it will probably sit there until you are ready to knit the pattern again. Maybe just wait a little bit and then decide…don’t be too quick to frog 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  12. anne says:

    oh i’m sorry you’re disappointed; when i polled my blog about whether to make two patterns, one for a stole and one for a scarf, the consensus was “YES, we want both!”

  13. kitkatknit says:

    I love the colorway if that makes any dif. The worst part of this was you paid twice! I would let it marinate for a while. I’ve done this with books. Books that get reprinted with a different cover and I read the liner and think it sounds interesting and buy it. Then 103 pages into the new book realize I’ve read it before. Crums.

  14. Punkin says:

    I liked Gale when I saw it, too. I didn’t realize it was the same stitch pattern as Gust. If it was me, I would set it aside and come back to it another time so that I wouldn’t get bored with it.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    I look forward to seeing the roving you ordered.

  15. jennygirl says:

    I like it so far. Colors are calming. It would make a pretty shawl or scarf.

  16. Shea says:

    I love the yarn, but I would frog and save the pattern for later too. I agree, it looks like Easter to me as well.

Leave a Reply

