Snarky

I am not normally snarky (ok, I actually am, but I hide it on the blog)….but I got two knitting magazines in the mail this week and I have to say that they both were extremely just ….blah.  Disappointing.  Puzzling. 

The magazines were Cast On and Creative Knitting.  I get Cast On because I belong to the TKGA – I belong because I want to get my Master Knitter certificate (and yes, I’ve had the program for almost a year now and haven’t started it!).  The magazine is usually disappointing, so I wasn’t too surprised when I got it and saw the patterns.  Frumpy always the word that comes to mind when I look at this magazine.  I don’t want to be mean – I certainly don’t have the talent to design sweaters  – but honestly couldn’t the designs be a bit more contemporary?  There is one design (#18 on the link) – I was speechless.  It is made up of what looks like coasters.  It is definitely one of those designs that seems to be more focused on being a clever knitter than actually knitting something flattering.    The rest of the sweaters look just blah and like they have been done a 100 times before.  

I got Creative Knitting because I thought it would be good to get another knitting magazine.   I found myself looking through it several times – and there wasn’t one thing I’d make.  And it didn’t seem like there was one thing that was actually in style.  And what is up with the big hats?  Again, it just seemed like they were easier versions of sweaters that have been done a million times….and these versions just aren’t adding much…

I can’t say that I’ve been too fond of Vogue Knitting, and even Interweave was disappointing last time.  I think that I’m starting to find that the independent designers are doing really lovely, innovative designs – and the magazines are just not keeping up.  I’m much more likely to buy single patterns now.  Did you see this – nice eh?   And I think I just may let my subscriptions go…how about you?

18 Responses to Snarky

  1. Wanda says:

    Actually I love IK and really enjoyed the latest issue. VK has always been rather hit or miss for me. And I’ve never been too enthused by Cast On or Creative Knitting.

  2. Awesome Mom says:

    I am too cheap to buy a subscriptions to magazines. I would rather just buy the one pattern I want.

    Those socks are beautiful.

  3. Snork! I’m drinkin my coffee here – do you mind??????

    I was disappointed in cast off, too. IK, was ok. To many similar designs but I do like some of them. That is my fav magazine, so I’m not apt to let it go…..

  4. weezalana says:

    That’s why I don’t subscribe to *any* knitting magazines. I wait for the issue to come out, then decide if I like enough patterns to actually buy it. Doesn’t happen often enough to warrant an ongoing subscription.

  5. Lisa says:

    I agree with you about the less than flattering and sometimes frumpy designs. I do like IK most of the time and I give designers lots of credit for designing sweaters, as I definitely do not possess that talent. I about spit out my beverage when I saw the pic of those hats though. They are just too big and ugly. Ewww.

  6. debbie says:

    I gave up my membership in TKGA because I wanted to avoid looking at Cast On. Ooo, how’s “that” for snarky?

    I still love Interweave Knits, though. I’m ignoring that at least three sweaters in the spring edition are virtually alike.

  7. Opal says:

    OMG. Those are hats are. so. fugly.

    I’m still a subscriber to IK, but I haven’t gotten my copy yet. Living in Hawaii has it’s downsides. 😐

  8. hakucho says:

    No knitting magazine subscriptions here. If I really want a pattern I rather buy the individual pattern or buy the magazine for a desired pattern. First time seeing those oversized hats…not for me thank you!

  9. Rebekah says:

    You know, I must say I agree. I used to have subscriptions to about 3 magazines. Now I only have INterweave and Wild Fibers. Now Wild Fibers isn’t a magazine for patterns, there is one in each issue. But it has wonderfully well written articles about fiber and lands and people, the photography is amazing and everything is very well written. I true joy to read.

    Interweave, I like it 50% of the time and dislike it 50% of the time. This issue, Spring, I’m still unsure which degree I’ll go – like or dis.

  10. Jennifer says:

    I still feel that IK has enough nice patterns to warrant the sub, but I have let all my other ones go.

  11. Peggy says:

    I only get IK, but I was also pretty dissappointed this time around. But that wasn’t too surprising as I like my knitwear to keep me warm! I have no use for thin summer layers.

    Anyway, I agree, it’s hard to find innovation in any publication that has to arrive on a deadline and predict fashion trends. Somehow it makes more sense to buy references and build things to suit.

    Snark Away!

  12. stitch-dom says:

    I agree absolutely – I hate Creative Knitting and have refused to buy it since they had fair isle coffee cup warmers in pastels a few years ago…horrifying!

    And Cast On…well enough said.

    I agree that the independent designers are so much more interesting.

    So…amen sister!

  13. stitch-dom says:

    OMG…just saw the big hats…why is that woman wearing a red octopus on her head????

  14. Beadknitter says:

    I let my IK and Vogue subscriptions drop too. Seems like a lot of same old same old to me. My favorite magazine is Knitters. I always find something I like in it.

  15. Jean says:

    I only subscribe to IK. I enjoy getting it in the mail and looking through it. Even when there aren’t any patterns I actually want to make, there’s still enough there to keep me entertained. Every so often, I’ll browse through the other subscription magazines at the store and just can’t wrap my head around subscribing to them. I can appreciate “experimental” designs but I rarely want to actually make them. At least they are better than frumpy, done-before designs.

  16. tiennie says:

    I never seem to really like something until I see someone else knit it up and then I will get excited to knit it. Weird, huh?

  17. kim in oregon says:

    I was very uninspired by the last IK…but I did buy Creative Knitting, just for the bunny pattern!

  18. jennygirl says:

    Crative Knitting can be hit or miss sometimes. I was not impressed with March’s issue at all. lots of baby and kiddie stuff. Sorry, I don’t have kids so I was bored with the selection. I have found some things in past issues to knit. My shrug for vacation is from the Sept. 07 Creative Knits. And Dec 07 wasn’t too bad either.

Leave a Reply

