A little housekeeping….

Ahhh….I slept in this morning until after 7.  On a Monday.  Normally, on a Monday, I get up at 4:30, so it was just heaven to not have to get up early.  I think we should have more 3 days weekends, don’t you? 

We had a really nice weekend.  Andrew came home for a bit on Saturday and we had a nice lunch with him.  Yesterday, we went to see Juno – what a good movie!  We really enjoyed it.  I highly recommend it – we took Cieara and she liked it too.  We had lots of relaxing time this weekend, and watched a bunch of movies.  And I got some housekeeping chores done….

093

All of our dishclothes were pretty bad – I was overdue to knit up some new ones.  I know – not very exciting, but we prefer these to using anything else now.  And I hate to admit – but I do like making them – they knit up so fast! 

The pink on is the Ballband Dishcloth   – I don’t know why, but this pattern always seems to take forever to do, but it is one of my favorits.

The dishcloth on the top is the Darrel Waltrip pattern –  it is a really good pattern and knits up very quickly.

The one in the middle is Chinese Waves –  always a favorite of mine.

I know, not very exciting – not lace or something complicated.  But on a long weekend, where I just want to take it easy, mindless knitting like this is perfect. 

097

I finished the first sleeve on Cobblestone – so I’ll start the second one today.  I am looking forward to getting both sleeves done and attaching it and getting to the fun part. 

Thanks for all the good thoughts you’ve been sending my way over the last couple of weeks.  My test came back ok – I have a cyst on (in?)  my liver, but the doctors don’t think its a big deal and not causing the pain I’ve been experiencing.  I am going for some blood tests  – hopefully there is a simple reason that it hurts…but I’m not as nervous as I was.  Must be all those positive knitter thoughts!

OK, off to the gym, and then I am going to be making some cupcakes – and trying to resist the lure of starting a new project….have a good week!

18 Responses to A little housekeeping….

  1. Josiane says:

    Hey, it may not be lace, but isn’t it the best kind of housekeeping “chore”?!!! Those are lovely dishclothes! I really like the Chinese Waves pattern too: totally mindless, fast, and gives great results.

  2. Jen says:

    I think every knitter deserves dishcloth weekends! What better way to cleanse the palate between projects.

    I’m wishing you the best with your health. Keep us posted so we can continue sending positive energy your way!

  3. stitch-dom says:

    You are so lucky to be off!! I love knitting washclothes – you feel like you accomplish so much but it takes so little time. Enjoy your day off.

  4. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I’m glad you’re feeling a bit better- sometimes the worry is the worst part.

    Nothing like making some stuff for the house to make you feel virtuous and domestic.

  5. Opal says:

    Beautiful washcloths! Small projects are just so much fun. That instant gratification they give is like a crack high. 😉

  6. Ren says:

    looking at your dishcloths makes me want to knit more from my cotton stash! : ) i have to say, yours are a lot looser than mine ever are… i may need to look into that whole gauge thing again!

  7. Jeanne says:

    No need to rub in that you get the days off! 😎 My MIL knits us dishcloths, so I get to knit them even though I never knit them.

  8. Awesome Mom says:

    Dish cloths are loads of fun. I love how quick they knit up.

  9. weezalana says:

    What bright, happy dishcloths! Reminds me that I’m way overdue to knit up a few more. The one I have is lookin’ miiiighty ragged these days.

    Will keep up the healthy vibes, hopefully they’ll keep working! 🙂

  10. Lucky duck – I was up at 6am again today!!! Love the warshclothes – you’re making me feel guilty because mine are really ragged.

    Glad you’re ok – the good vibes be coming you way!

  11. hakucho says:

    I love your dishcloths!! Very pretty 🙂 They really are easy and fun to knit because they are so quick… not exciting…no way (I alway get excited when I knit cloths just thinking about all the possibilities and color choices) 😉

    Sending you more positive knitter thought that all your health problems will be resolved very soon and you’ll be feeling much better 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  12. Jean says:

    Very pretty, cheery dishcloths! I’m sending more good health vibes your way.

  13. tiennie says:

    Great knits! I so want to see that movie!

  14. Rebekah says:

    I really wish I had had a 3-day weekend, although Tuesdays after a 3-day are rough.

    I can never get Nick to use hand-knit dishclothes. BUt my aunts love them, which reminds me I really should knit them some and mail them off.

  15. Carin says:

    Very pretty, but I wouldn’t want to mess them up. I would stand infront of my sink admiring them instead of doing the dishes.

  16. lilypily says:

    So glad you’ve had some good news about your tests. Fingers crossed now for your blood work! :o) I think your dishcloths are lovely. And I agree they would be perfect long weekend (no stress) knitting. :o)

  17. Peggy says:

    Love all the dishclothes. I don’t think I’ve ever made one!

    Glad your first batch of tests came through fine, hope you can get to the root of the problem soon!

  18. Jennifer says:

    Dishcloth knitting is comfort knitting at its best. I hope you find the reason for your pain.

Leave a Reply

