Birthdays, yarn…nice weekend!

23 years ago today, someone had a birth day, and I became a Mom for the first time. 

073

This was taken a couple of years ago – wow – a lot of years ago!  He was 16 and going to his first prom.  I think it is a cute picture  – he was so proud he was in a tux and it was the first time I saw him all dressed up like that (sorry that its a bit fuzzy – I actually only had it in a real picture).    I overheard someone the other day say that your first kid is the one you learn on, and I think its true.  Dan definitely got the early trial and error Mom, but I think he turned out ok.  As I mentioned, we aren’t seeing him today – he’s in New York seeing Spamalot.  I did call and wake him up this morning (payback for all those morning he woke ME up!), but I have to admit that I’m a little sad that I’m not going to see him today.  Happy Birthday, Dan! 

OK, on to yarn….my knitting group went on a yarn crawl yesterday.   We went to three stores –  A Yarn for All Seasons, Angelfire Studios and Down Cellar.  I highly recommend Down Cellar – great store, very friendly staff, beautiful yarn.  I can’t believe that I haven’t been there before – its not that far, and I think I’ll be going back again.  Angelfire was different  – very nice yarn, but sort of bare bones.  Yarn for all Seasons is nice too.  Of the three, I think everyone really liked Down Cellar the best…but all are nice, and if you are in the area, you can’t go wrong with any of them. 

I have to admit that I bought a couple of things….

071

This is Manos Del Uraquay Silk/Wool – and it is amazing.  I love Manos colors, but the yarn is a bit scratchy.  The addition of silk takes care of that problem – it is just so soft and silky and gorgeous.  I have about 450 yards, and I’m trying to find the perfect pattern.  Chris sent me some ideas this morning – Cream of Spinich Scarf, Best Friend scarf, Tiger Eye…or of course some Knitspot – so hard to decide.  But I have the yarn out in a basket in my room where I can see it and think about it – no casting on until I finish Gust. 

I also bought some sock yarn….I won’t show it all, but I will show you some hand-dyed Trekking…nice eh?

072

I got some other sock yarns, and I bought a pack of 10 Debbie Bliss Merino Aran in a nice orangey/red for 50% off.  How could I walk away from that?  I think I’ll use it to make Larry a sweater (some year).

We really had a great time together – shopping for yarn is always fun, but shopping with a bunch of other knitters that you are friends with is just so much nicer. 

I got the results of my ultrasound – and I have to have another test this Wednesday.   Which is a drag since I’d like the answer now please!   At least they scheduled the new test fairly quickly.  And it does mean that I can work from home that day and sleep in – as you can tell I’m trying to focus on the positive side of things today!

OK, I’m off to knit – I am going to finish Gust today and start a pair of socks for Larry.  I hope you have a nice relaxing Sunday!

19 Responses to Birthdays, yarn…nice weekend!

  1. Awesome Mom says:

    That is some beautiful yarn! I made a trip to my LYS and got some really pretty mohair to make a scarf with. I have been wanting to try mohair for some time now. I bet that silk blend is super soft.

  2. hakucho says:

    Oh, boy did you get some great yarn! Must have really been nice shopping with a bunch of knitters…but I bet you buy more because of it 😉

    Good luck Wednesday…fingers crossed(and praying) you’ll get good news 🙂

  3. Cookie says:

    Happy Birthday, Dan!

    Lovely yarns. I’m so glad you had a good time out with your friends. Fingers are crossed for good medical answers soon.

  4. Happy Birthday Dan!! I really had a great time yesterday – thank you! And I can’t wait to see a finished Gust. Good luck on Wednesday – I hope the answers come quickly.

  5. lobstah says:

    That Manos silk blend is so yummy looking!
    Crossing my fingers that your health issues are easily resolved.

  6. weezalana says:

    Happy Birthday Dan!

    Manos was intolerably scratchy for me, but I’m intrigued by the silk blend version. It’s so damn purty!

  7. Jennifer says:

    Very nice stash enhancement!

    And a very happy birthday to your first-born.

  8. Terri says:

    The new yarn is lovely. Hope you get the answers you want from the new test quickly!

  9. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Aw, what a cute guy. I love my son too.

    Well, when yarn is 50% off, what else can you do?

  10. Shea says:

    Just letting you know you’ve been tagged. See my blog for details! 🙂

    By the way, I agree. He’s super cute.

  11. Ren says:

    what gorgeous yarn! i hope everything goes well with your new test and happy birthday to your son!

  12. tiennie says:

    Happy Birthday Dan!

  13. Jeanne says:

    Happy (late) Birthday Dan! That’s some pretty wonderful looking yarn that you came up with there.

  14. Opal says:

    Happy Birthday Dan!

    Great haul, Jeanne. I didn’t know that Trekking had handpaints! Yum.

  15. jennygirl says:

    Nice yarn purchases. I like the manos. My scarf vote would be either cream of spinach (or rainbow in your case) scarf or the best friend scarf.

    And you just can’t say no to 50% off yarn.
    Hang in there regarding the medical thing. I know it can be frustrating.

  16. Carin says:

    Happy 23rd Anniversary of Being A Mom! … and Happy Birthday to Dan!
    Very nice yarn selections.

  17. stitch-dom says:

    Happy Mom-i-versary!!! Love that yarn.

    Oh, I guess a happy birthday to Dan too 😉

  18. Jen says:

    Oh, that’s funny! I’m the opposite of you – I like the yarn at both Angelfire and Down Cellar, but I much prefer Angelfire because you can actually walk around the store. If there’s one or two people in a room with you at Down Cellar, any of their rooms, you can’t get to half the stuff. The table is pretty small to knit at, and if you sit, you block off part of the room. At Angelfire, you can sit and knit at at big table, sit in front of the yarns and not block anyone, plenty of light . . . anyway. 🙂 If we all liked the same thing, Baskin Robbins would only carry one flavor, right? 😀 At least they both carry Malabrigo!

  19. Wanda says:

    Happy Belated Bithday to Dan!
    The yarn crawl sounds like a fun outing. OH, how could you resist the DB yarn at 50% off, that’s a great deal. The Manos silk/wool looks delicious and a great combo.

Leave a Reply

