Nutkins

I’m going to tell you right upfront that the pictures aren’t good – but it is nighttime and I won’t have daylight for pictures until Sunday. 

056

I finished these the other night…finally!   And although I think the above picture makes my feet and legs really fat (I swear they aren’t as bad as they look!), I do like them…

059

Pattern:  Nutkin
Yarn:  Lisa Souza Sock!, Gendarme colorway
US #1 Harmony DPN
Started:   January 13, 2008
Finished:  February 5, 2008

I really like the pattern  – people have mentioned that it biases, but mine didn’t (maybe I did it wrong!).   It is a very easy pattern, and interesting.    I love the yarn – great colors, and Lisa Souza is one of my favorite sock yarns.  However – I don’t like this combo.  I think Nutkin looks much better in a solid or semi-solid.  So I’ll be trying again sometime with a solid/semi-solid.  (And doesn’t the yarn look sort of like tiger stripes?  Every time I see the first picture I think of that stupid commercial for phone service “Roger, you tiger now”…sorry – got carried away). 

057

I’m clipping along on Gust – I think I may be done in the next couple of days (it would help if I didn’t fall asleep on the train!).  And I’m back to knitting Cobblestone sleeves at night – but I’m starting to think about what lace I want to do next.   And maybe a pair of socks…

Tomorrow is Friday  – yea!  We are taking Dan out to dinner to celebrate his birthday – which is Sunday.  And for the first time in his life, he’s not spending it with us.   Ouch!  I guess that means he’s really grown up now.    I’ll try not to cry through dinner…

Have a great Friday!

21 Responses to Nutkins

  1. Kim says:

    Wow! Love the socks – I don’t think I could pull them off.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog!

  2. Awesome Mom says:

    I agree, I think that the pattern would look better in a more solid colored yarn.

  3. Wanda says:

    Those socks are pretty, but I do agree that might look better in a semi-solid or solid-colored sock yarn.

  4. Shell says:

    Oh very pretty! I am going to have to try Nutkin – I keep seeing it, and its calling my name. I also want to do the Cobblestone pullover next too. Great Knitting!

  5. debbie says:

    Jeanne, I wonder if we weren’t separated at birth. First off, my middle name is ~ ta dah ~ JEANNE. Second, I’m now knitting “Gust” thanks to you. Third, I’m also knitting a sock out of Lisa Souza sock yarn and ~ drum roll please ~ I had a CT scan on Wednesday and am nervously waiting the results.

    I think we both need chocolate!

  6. Terri says:

    Your Nutkins are great! I love those colours. This pattern is definitely on my to-do list and after seeing yours, I’m even more eager to try them. :o)

  7. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- They turned out beautifully- and I really like the colors.

    Have you ever tried Lisa Souza laceweight? I have 2 massive skeins in stash- like gigantic!

    It does hurt to know they’re growing up, but in a good way. Have fun.

  8. Jeannie says:

    I think that they turned out great! I agree that the sock pattern might look better with a semi-solid, but I still like how those turned out. The colors are pretty and fun.

  9. Erin says:

    Um, yeah. I will be making those now. Very nice.

    Smiles,
    Erin

  10. weezalana says:

    Beautifully done! Me, I like the stripes. I myself often knit patterned socks in variegated colorways. Makes the knitting more fun! Sometimes, it’s about the journey. 😉

    I’d heard it biases, too. Good to know it doesn’t! May have to try these now…

  11. Cookie says:

    Very nice! I agree, though. I think it’s one of those patterns that would be better suited for a solid of some kind. Guess you’ll have to knit it again. ;^)

    Lisa Souza lace weight? Pardon me while I run off to google.

    Happy Weekend!

  12. Carin says:

    They look very comfy. I like the colours and the pattern. Looking forward to trying some Lisa Sousa yarn.

  13. Opal says:

    That is some wild yarn! I have to try some of Lisa’s yarn. So many lovely yarns, so little money. Do you know if she hits MDSW?

  14. hakucho says:

    My condolences to you…I know exactly how you feel about not being with your son on his actual birthday! Ouch!! Just be glad you are getting together around the same time…that’s nice 🙂

    Your nutkins came out great. I just finished mine last night and I really love that pattern. Your’s does look like tiger stripes, which makes them very interesting to look at 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  15. Shea says:

    I love the color of the socks. That yarn is seriously bright. I think the Nutkins are fabulous.

  16. chris says:

    I love how those socks came out – I really do like the stripes in that yarn. They look marvy. You are a knitting whirlwind. Happy Birthday Dan – have a great dinner – and don’t cry too much.

  17. Ina says:

    I think I must knit me some Nutkins!

  18. turvid says:

    Really nice socks. Have a happy weekend! 🙂

  19. Jean says:

    The nutkins came out great! They look very cozy. Your gust looks lovely. I saw the pattern at Knitspot, but it’s your version that makes me want to knit it!

  20. Peggy says:

    Great socks, I’ll have to try that pattern.

    Have a great weekend!

  21. tiennie says:

    Very cool nutkins!

Leave a Reply

