The waiting is the hardest part…

fibertarian

I’ve been an Independent voter for as long as I’ve been voting.  I come from a long line of Independents ….well, ok, my parents emigrated to the US from Canada before I was born, and I don’t know what party they were affiliated with in Canada…but they were Independents here.  So I have to assume they always were like that – and potentially their parents, and so on.  (well, maybe not my Mother’s family who actually lived in America before the War of Independence and moved to Canada when it started.  I don’t think they were Independents…apparently they were something else.  And we won’t talk about that). 

So anyway, I’ve always been a staunch Independent.  Until today.  Today I registered with a party to vote in the primary election (you can do it at the time you vote in NJ if you haven’t registered with a party).  And I voted.  I’m not going to say what party, or who I voted for because I was raised to just not get into that with people  – so I don’t ask anyone, and I don’t tell (no politics, no religion, no acrylic good or bad?).  OK, well, I asked my husband.  And I would ask my children if they weren’t slackers and voted (kids – you can find out how to register here).  Anyway, this election I felt strongly enough to want to have a voice as far as what candidate would be running.    I really wish there was a Fibertarian party….I think its time for a shake up – both parties suck and I really feel like I’m just picking the lesser of two evils!  Anyway, now we have to wait to see who will be running.  I’m already tired of the whole thing and it’s only February. 

I went for an ultrasound today to see what is going on – of course I’m completely paranoid about it (it seemed to take a long time!)…(he seemed to focus on one area!)….but I won’t find out until the end of the week at the earliest.  Of course, I asked the tech.  And of course, he said he couldn’t tell me.      The good news is that I stopped looking at WebMd….(although I think that there is nothing wrong with self-diagnosis and I’m sure doctors appreciate patients who already know what they have – saves time, don’t you think?)

I’m just about done with my second Nutkins…I think I’ll have it done tonight.  And then it is back to Gust all the time.  I did see Larry’s Cobblestone in the knitting basket today…and I have to admit – I felt a twinge of guilt.  Maybe after Gust….

Guess who went to the groomer’s today?

054

Have a good middle of the week!

17 Responses to The waiting is the hardest part…

  1. I hope you get your results quickly – and Ruby, she looks maaaahvelous.

  2. rhoda says:

    there was a woman on the news last night who also was independent but this election season, she registered with a party and voted just like you. I agree, this election was too important to pass up. And I also agree about picking the lesser of two evils. I find that’s always been the case with the presidential elections–but the perception of which one is a lesser evil varies from individual to individual. ha. I’m all for self-diagnosis myself! fingers crossed that the results won’t be too shocking!

  3. Jennifer says:

    I hope your results come in quickly and it’s nothing serious.

    I wish I could be a fibertarian too. Now that’s a platform I could get behind.

  4. Awesome Mom says:

    Amen to that. I did not have to register for a party to vote in the primary. The Democrats nicely allowed me to play in their election. I can’t believe how up in the air things still are wit this election. I thought there would be clearer winners by now.

  5. Opal says:

    I’m so glad you voted. Way to go! I have to admit I’m devilishly curious as to who you voted for now though. But that’s just my feline character showing through. =^.^=

    I can’t believe the test results are going to take so long to get back. Don’t these doctors know how valuable you are? Slackers.

    What a gorgeous picture of Ruby! She’s looking so adorable. Oh puppy love. Mmm.

  6. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- To be truthful, I don’t understand politics. So I have nothing to contribute about the subject.

    Nothing worse than waiting for test results, but I’m sure you’re fine. I can’t look up stuff online because I develop symptoms.

    Darling puppy!

  7. Shea says:

    Hope everything goes well with your exam. Your puppy is super cute. I love the idea of the Fibertarians. I also feel like I’m picking the lesser of two evils. I don’t like any of the candidates out there right now, but I voted anyway.

  8. Jeanne says:

    I’m sure doctors think the internet both a blessing and a curse. I find the ultrasound technician’s unwillingness to discuss quite annoying. They are the one actually seeing your insides, after all.

  9. Carin says:

    Can I steal that patriotic sheep? I’m ready to join that party. Fiber for All!
    Generally I think it is a good idea to research before going to a doctor, I believe this helps when you have questions.
    And what a cuite pie!

  10. deborah says:

    let’s see, the lesser of two evils or the evil of two lessers… why can’t I make up my mind?? oh, wait, i don’t have to maybe the supreme court will help me out again. ugh

  11. jennygirl says:

    Well, isn’t he the cutest little doggie. Although he doesn’t look like he likes the groomer.
    Count me in the fibertarian party!

    I know it can be frustrating waiting for face time with the physician, but please stop trying to diagnose yourself….you’ll drive yourself nuts. I should know because I do it all the time. I work in the medical field and a little bit of knowledge is a bad thing.
    Good thoughts and hugs your way 🙂

  12. hakucho says:

    I’m sure everything will be fine.(fingers and toes crossed)I get caught up trying to diagnose myself and I pretty much scare myself silly. Not good 😉

    I am so sick of the election already and we have so much longer to go…I’ll join your fibertarian party any time you’re ready…sounds very good to me 🙂

  13. Terri says:

    Oh what a cute pup! Looks so adorable. :o) And good for you for registering to vote. It’s compulsory over here, so we don’t get any choice whether we want to vote or not. In some ways that’s a good thing I think. I’m finding the whole USA thing very interesting to watch – from a distance. Glad I’m not hearing about it constantly all the time though. You must be getting sick of it. We’ve not long ago had a big federal election here and I was well and truely sick of it all by the time election day rolled around.

  14. stitch-dom says:

    Canadian politics works a bit differently – our parties have local offices which have delegates they send to party conventions to pick the party leader. It can happen at anytime – whether we are having an election or not.

    Of course during an election we also only vote in a party (or non-affiliated candidate) for our riding – so you pick a party and hope that everyone else does the same and that their chosen leader is someone you can live with.

    All this to say that unless your parents were REALLY involved in Canadian politics, they proabably voted with their hearts and minds at election time and weren’t involved in conventions for picking leaders.

    I hope your tests come back with something easily treatable! And Ruby does look damn cute!

  15. tiennie says:

    Cute doggie! Good for you for voting! I hope your tests come back fine.

  16. Jessica says:

    Ruby looks great!

    I totally feel your pain on the politics. I think we the people should be able to vote in open primaries. No party lines!

Leave a Reply

