Lace

I think I’ve mentioned this before, but I have a bit of a stash.  Just a little.   I have my stash sorted into bins by weight – so I have a worsted bin (actually, ahem…two), a DK bin, sock yarn bin(s)…and a lace weight bin.  I have beautiful lace weight yarn, and I have only made one shawl.  I have a lot of beautiful shawl patterns, but I never seem to get around to them.  Why you ask?  I think it is because I’m scared – I’ve tried several times to start a shawl and I always mess it up.  So I just avoid them…although sometimes I look at that beautiful yarn and wonder if I shouldn’t try again. 

On Friday, I decided to give it another try….Anne published another pattern, and I just loved it.  And thought that maybe because it was small, not a shawl, that I could do it…and guess what?  I was right!

046

This is Gust – just a small scarf, not a big intimidating shawl.  And it is extremely addictive….

047

This is the only thing I’ve wanted to work on all weekend.  I’m using KnitPicks Shadow in Jewels Heather.  The pattern only calls for 300 yards, and this is a single skein that I got in a swap a few years ago.      I’m also using KnitPicks Harmony needles and I love them – they are prefect for lace – smooth and pointy, but have enough grab to help keep the stitches on the needles.  I think that these needles will definitely help me knit lace much more succesfully.    The pattern is extremely easy, and memorizable…..and very addictive.

After I started the pattern, I saw someone else on Ravelry was doing this in Jade Sapphire Cashmere – doh!  I have that too in fingering and it would have been nice…maybe next time. 

049

But it is lace, and it is making me happy – and building my confidence up a bit.  I think next lace will be something a bit bigger….Twinings perhaps?  Although when I was buying the pattern for Gust, I also bought Ostrich Plumes…isn’t it pretty?

Last night I did put the scarf down for a bit and worked on my second Nutkins – I just turned the heel and picked up gussets.   It is time for this sock to be done – I want to work on other things (like Gust!).

050

It is Sunday morning – I was feeling iffy yesterday so we had a very lazy day at home.   In a few minutes, I’m off to the gym, and then I need to go buy an umbrella.  (This is the third umbrella I’ve had since I started working in New York three months ago.  The winds in the city are crazy and just snap umbrellas.)  Doesn’t that sound like a fun morning?    After that, we are planning another very lazy afternoon, and of course, watching the Super Bowl.  We have our munchies all lined up, and I have my knitting projects ready.   

Hope you enjoy the day!  And just to be nice, make sure to go to Opal’s blog and say “Go Giants!” (hee-hee!)

24 Responses to Lace

  1. Jennifer says:

    Gust is gorgeous! Isn’t lace fun and addictive? You should look at the Forest Canopy Shawl. It’s a small shawl with an easy lace pattern.

  2. debbie says:

    This is so incredible (I’m so excited it took me four tries to type “incredible”). As I got up this morning, I looked over at my chest of drawers at at several new skeins (well, new as of December) of Jade Mongolian Cashmere that hadn’t made it into the yarn stash yet. I thought “I really need to find something to do with this”. I had intended to make sleep socks out of it but changed my mind recently when I saw how badly my mother’s socks had pilled.

    Also, wanted to knit lace this year, too! I’ve started a cajillion shawls and always ripped them out.

    Ta Da!!! I grab my coffee, wander in to my computer, start going through my favorite blogs and THERE YOU ARE!!!! Yippee.

    Your scarf is so beautiful and well done. Hope I can do your inspiration justice.

  3. Jenny Girl says:

    I too am intimadated by lace. not sure why. Just am. I like the yarn you are using, Jewel Heather. The shade of blue is different.

    I have been a Colts fan for over 10 years, so I would love to cheer the GIants on….BUT the hubby has some $$ on Pats, so I’m gonna have to go with the $$ on this one. All proceeds go to my big vacation this year. Sorry 😦
    I am glad Eli has finally showed he can be a good QB. Was a little concerned about that for a while.
    Enjoy the game and good luck 🙂
    Happy Knitting

  4. Cookie says:

    Beautiful!

    I think the key with lace is to do simple patterns the first few times, so you feel more comfortable with the whole idea.

    Maybe you should get a couple of umbrellas since they don’t last long. ;^)

  5. Karen says:

    Love your Gust! The color is gorgeous. I ordered a kit for it from Ball and Skein and can’t wait to get it.

    Right now I’m working on totally autumn by Anne as well. I love her patterns.

  6. hakucho says:

    Good luck with your scarf! What I see already is beautiful 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  7. Josiane says:

    I’m sure Anne’s patterns are the best to build confidence knitting beautiful lace! And don’t worry about not having thought of using the Jade Sapphire Cashmere for this version of Gust: the pattern being so addictive, there will be a next time!

  8. Awesome Mom says:

    I just started my first lace last night too. I am making a scarf and it is so much fun! Lace if very addicting. I am not planning any shawls since I am not really a shawl person.

  9. Terri says:

    The lace is looking lovely. :o) So glad you are enjoying it so much. Enjoy your super bowl knitting!

  10. chris says:

    Gust is beautiful. You shouldn’t be so hesitant on Lace – you do so many nice lace patterns in socks – it’s just a bigger piece. Go for it! I love Anne’s patterns and they are so fun to knit.

    Yay Giants!!! They kicked some BUTT!!

  11. Lorraine says:

    Anne’s patterns are addictive- you can’t stop at one.

    Pretty color too.

  12. Ren says:

    how gorgeous! yummy color, too! : )

  13. weezalana says:

    Pretty! LOVE the color!

  14. stitch-dom says:

    Wait a minute – I remember an absolutely gorgeous stole you did – was it last year? The year before? – from Cheryle Oberle’s book! So you can knit lace! I do find that with lace I’m finicky and either the pattern works or it doesn’t.

    That’s going to be lovely! Hope you enjoyed your Super Bowl Sunday.

  15. Silvia says:

    Hi Jeanne,
    thank you for visiting my blog and thank you for your nice comments.
    I love your lace and the blue is such a beautiful choice. I bet you can see it into a FO very soon.
    best wishes, Silvia

  16. Opal says:

    Augh! What a friend you are! LOL

    Love Gust. It’s such a neat little pattern. And of course you can do lace! Let 2008 be the year of Fearless Knitter Jeanne!

  17. Jenny says:

    Congrats on the SB win. Great game 🙂

  18. I love your lace! 🙂 I’m not far from finishing my first shawl, and I’ve just been bemoaning the fact that I don’t have a stash of lace-weight yarn.

  19. tiennie says:

    It really is pretty! I have yet to finish a lace project.

  20. rhoda says:

    you’re such a bad influence! lol. I’m with you thought–lace is quite daunting! I’m on the heels of completing my very first shawl and it hasn’t been easy. It also hasn’t been so difficult that I’m pulling my hair out. So the key is indeed to start with something simple and repetitive. 🙂

  21. Wanda says:

    I’m glad you and the lace are working out. Gust is looking wonderful!

  22. Arleta says:

    Ooooh, pretty! Maybe I need to start a shawl to keep the winter blahs away.

  23. Rebekah says:

    It looks great, I think its smart to do a smaller project in lace or a larger weight project of a lace pattern first myself. It gets the rhythm in you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

