A little contest…

Well, here it is Sunday night again.  I had a really nice weekend – lunch with Chris yesterday and then knitting group.    The group recently got a few new members and it is just a lot of fun to get together and knit with them all.    We are planning a yarn crawl next month – three yarn stores not too far from me.  A Yarn for All Seasons, Angelfire Studios and Down Cellar – I’ve been to the first one, but not the other two but they look really nice.  We did this last summer and went to three yarn stores in Philadelphia – it was so much fun and I’m really looking forward to it.    Today was a nice relaxing day, and Dan (son) came over for dinner  – always nice to see him (and I think he likes going home with leftovers!).  And I went to the gym yesterday and today – I’m starting to not hate it (although I did think of going out to breakfast all the way there!)

Knitting wise, I’ve been working on the sleeve for Cobblestone and the Chevron scarf – until today. I finished the first Nutkin sock last week, and was waiting to start the second. But Chris started hers – and seeing how nice it is made me want to work on it again, so here I am tonight…

042

We’ll see how far I get before I get distracted again!

As I mentioned in my last post, I thought I’d do a contest.  I do look at my blog stats, and it looks like I have a few more readers than commenters.  And I’m pretty sure that most readers have blogs …..and I love reading new blogs (along with my current favorites!).       I know that sometimes its hard to comment on everyone’s blog – there are so many – but I’m hoping that you can take a few minutes and just post a ‘hey’ and a link to your blog (and if you don’t have a blog – that’s ok – just say ‘hey’!).    So how about this – post a hi by January 31, and on February 1, I’ll draw a random number and winner.   I have a couple of ideas for the prize but will give the winner a choice.  It will be knitting related (unless the winner isn’t a knitter – but then I’m really curious why you read this blog!).  Oh…and the winner can’t be someone I’m related to.  (Sorry, Andrew). 

OK, off to work on Nutkin – have a great week.

96 Responses to A little contest…

  1. kitkatknit says:

    Here to say Hey! or Hi! Come visit me (though I know you already do) at kitkatknit.wordpress.com.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I know you’ve visited my blog, but come on by if you want craftylilly.typepad.com . That is a very pretty colorway!

  3. 1120kat says:

    I don’t think I’ve commented yet, but I’ve been reading your blog for a little while 🙂 I have that same colorway, and will be casting on for Nutkin soon, my toes need some new socks!! 🙂

  4. Chris says:

    Love the blog. I also blog at http://madmorris.blogspot.com – it’s not about knitting, but we are all multi-faceted…right?

  5. Liz says:

    Hey! I don’t blog myself. I’m just addicted to reading knitting blogs…when I’m not addicted to trolling Ravelry…when I should be knitting my own projects! Thanks for sharing your projects!!

  6. KJ says:

    Hello, I started reading your blog recently- I just started reading knitting blogs recently, I had no idea that there were so many out there! I love looking at other peoples’ pretty projects and feeling a little more connected to the world. Thank you!

  7. heideho says:

    “Hey!” I found you via Teri down under. Please come by and see me at http://www.heideho.wordpress.com

  8. Jeannie says:

    Hey! I know you’ve visited and commented on my blog, but I’ll comment anyways. I’ve never heard of Nutkin, but it looks interesting for a sock in the picture. I’ll have to look that one up on ravelry.

  9. Wanda says:

    well, I know you come by on occasion and say hi to me and my comment shows my blog, so I’ll leave it there.

    I really like that Lisa Souza colorway. I’ve got to queue up Nutkin. A great pattern.

  10. Heidi says:

    Hi! I found your blog through Ravelry. I really like your projects, and I’ll definitely come back for more! 🙂

    My blog is at

    http://heidisknitbits.blogspot.com

    Happy Knitting,

    Heidi

  11. Arleta says:

    Hi! 🙂 Pretty colors. I just love socks!

  12. Karen says:

    Hi…I am a reader of your blog but never post…just look at the gorgeous knitting pictures. My blog is at http://www.hearts812.typepad.com.

  13. trek says:

    Ooh, pretty yarn. I’m wearing socks in those colors right now. Hand knit, of course.

  14. Jan says:

    Good morning! Just found you on Knitting Friends (reading blogs instead of knitting). LOVE those colors. You’re now in my favs. Can’t wait for my Ravelry invite to see your other stuff.

  15. Lorraine says:

    Hi Jeanne ((waving))!!!

  16. I found you on knitting friends and have been reading for just a few weeks. I just downloaded the Nutkin pattern a couple of days ago. I’ve just started my first pair of monkeys though so I guess I’ll be a year behind knitting the hip patterns! I blog at http://www.threegirlcircus.com

  17. Deb says:

    I found you on Knitting Friends also. I live near the 3 yarn shops you mention visiting on your “Crawl,” so I’d love to learn more about your group and where you meet–maybe I can join?
    Come visit my blog at http://rather-be.blogspot.com or on ravelry, I’m JerseyShoreDeb

  18. weezalana says:

    I always liked going home with leftovers when I was in college, too. And clean laundry. And stuff from the pantry…

    Just to be official – hiya! 😉

  19. Oopsadaisy says:

    Hi, I don’t have a blog but I love knitting and crochet, and stumbled across Knittingfriends just before christmas. I’ve been enjoying reading the blogs – and I’ve picked up loads of useful tips at the same time.

  20. Jean says:

    Hi. Good for you for getting the second Nutkin on the needles. Are those the Harmony wood dpn’s I see there? How do you like them? I think the colors are really pretty, but I just love my metal dpn’s for socks.

  21. LaurieM says:

    This is the first time I’ve stopped by your blog and I also found you through knitting friends. I’m off to check out your archives. 🙂

  22. Cookie says:

    I’m so glad you had a good time on your yarn crawl. I hope Cobblestone is going well.

    Oh, yeah… hai!

  23. melanie says:

    Hi – I’d love a visit!

  24. Monika says:

    Hehe, a contest always brings out the lurkers from their lurker doom. And so here I am, saying Hi there! As you said, I read many more blogs, but don’t have time to comment every time. :o)

  25. Natalie says:

    I read every post! Just don’t comment so much.

  26. monica says:

    I don’t have a blog, but I love to read them. Your (and Cara at January one)addiction to Monkeys made me wanna knit some, and I just finished my third pair! I’ll have to try Nutkins next!

  27. TheBon says:

    I just discovered Nutkins yesterday and I’m trying to decide if their cuteness is enough to overcome my lack of desire to knit socks. I think maybe.

  28. Tanya says:

    i admit to being a major lurker, sometimes just due to being tired and not talking/typing much, sometimes due to time. But i love reading and seeing the photos of what you have been up to!

    http://turtleslakeknitting.blogspot.com/

  29. Sarah says:

    I’d love to see pictures of your cobblestone. I’m thinking of making one myself.

  30. Jeanne says:

    Oh boy! A contest! I’m glad to hear that cobblestone isn’t fighting you this time.

  31. blogless in NJ says:

    I want to win, I want to win. I’m a non-blogging lurker.

  32. julie says:

    Hello! I’m sadly blogless though…

  33. Josiane says:

    Hi! I just came across your blog and now, thanks to you, I have to add the Nutkin pattern to my queue!

  34. Jessica says:

    Hi, I’ve been reading your blog for a while. I may or may not have commented before this and I’m blogless at the moment.

  35. chris says:

    Hey! Those nutkins are looking good. Guess what my blog is? I’m not related to you, so does this count?

  36. Opal says:

    I’m so tempted to leave a comment that just says “Hi!”, but I have to tell you that you and Chris are tempting me beyond reason to start up a pair of Nutkins. I’m *trying* to be good and finish up a pair of socks that I started last October though. So they’ll have to wait. Le sigh. 🙂

  37. Angela says:

    Ciao! I am drooling over the yarn colors there!

  38. Sharon says:

    Cruise by and take a peek! 🙂

  39. Cetta says:

    Hi there – I’ve been reading for a while now. Come see me!

  40. debbie says:

    Hi. I love your blog and would love to invite you over to my place.

  41. purple says:

    Hi – I’m another blogless lurker who climbs out from under my knitting now and then.

  42. Marlyn says:

    Hi.
    I’d be honored if you’d visit me at my blog and swap
    howdies.

  43. tinker says:

    Hi there! Here’s my blog and I’d love for you to come and visit.

    http://yarnandnomoreoil.blogspot.com/

  44. jersey jessie says:

    Howdy – yeesh this is a lot of visitors already!

    I’m blogless since I’m too busy being a voyeur reading yours and other blogs (and knitting)

  45. Jenny Girl says:

    Your blog is cute and am glad to have read it. I confess, I am a lurker, but will try to post comments in the future. Especially since you are so close by. I live in Philly. When you get a chance stop by and visit:
    http://twocrazyknitchicks.blogspot.com/

  46. Beadknitter says:

    Hi, Beautiful yarn you’re using there. My blog is:

    http://beadknitter.blospot.com

    Come visit me!

  47. Rachel O says:

    I’m essentially blogless. I lurk around other blogs (hey, I sound like a pervert here) admiring other people’s yarn and projects. I love some of the colors you’ve been using here. The Chevron is gorgeous!

  48. Mama May says:

    Well, i am not a lurker on your blog but I did find you via http://wiknit.blogspot.com/ and just am compulsive about contests. So Hi.

  49. Kenyetta says:

    Just saying Hi! Found you from Ravelry. My place isn’t as nice as yours, but please drop by sometimes.
    knittykittykat.blogspot.com

  50. Ashley says:

    I usually comment… I think. 🙂

    But I’d figure I’d say Hi anyways. (who could resist a contest!)

    🙂

  51. jacey says:

    heya! reader and blogger here — http://www.insubordiknit.com

  52. Carin says:

    Hello! Your site is one of my favourite places to visit.
    A blog from “The Great Land.”
    http://hocage.wordpress.com

  53. tantej says:

    Hi Jeanne,

    I just found your blog, and I think this may be the start of a beautiful friendship. I’ve been considering knitting Nutkin, (I’ve already printed up the pattern…) so I’ll be interested to follow your progress. You can find me at http://tantejknits.blogspot.com

    Tante J

  54. Elaine says:

    Hiya,

    I barely blog – it’s pathetic. But I love looking at other’s blogs.

    If you do check it out, here’s my blog:

    elaine-knitting.blogspot.com

    There’s a nice photo of a sweater I designed there. Other than that, it’s just plain embarrassing.

  55. Emily says:

    Hi! That yarn is really pretty. My blog is at http://rainberryknits.blogspot.com/

  56. Awesome Mom says:

    I am new to your blog but will be coming back. You have a lot of great knitting content on here. I love looking at other people’s knitting, almost as much as I like knitting my own stuff.

  57. malin says:

    Hi! I just found your blog, but will stay for a while – who knows, you might be a keeper!

  58. Bianca says:

    Just stumbled in to say hi. I love the yarn you are working with at the moment

  59. Triplet Mom says:

    Hi. I’m just getting into reading blogs. I’ve been knitting for a couple of years & am completely addicted. I enjoy reading blogs to see what other knitters are up to & how knitting enriches their lives. I do not currently blog myself – I have 3 year old triplets, so it is hard just finding time to knit & read blogs.

  60. dragonxser says:

    lucious colors in that yarn! Come have a peek at my blog at http://dragonxser.wordpress.com/

  61. lucette says:

    Hi. Come and visit me too. Glad you are making a Cobblestone. It is a great pattern and I get a lot of use from mine.

  62. edina says:

    I’ve been bad about updating my blog lately but come check it out anyway. 🙂

  63. adrienne says:

    say “hey”!

    i just had a contest on my blog. in fact, i should be drawing the winners instead of wandering around blogland.

    i’m over at http://bellybuttonknits.blogspot.com

  64. stitch-dom says:

    Well hey yourself (but don’t put me in for the contest – I’m a known fan)!

    I love that sock yarn – so shiny!

  65. […] Jeanne is hankering for commenters, so give her some more! […]

  66. turvid says:

    without the @ typo….

  67. Nicole says:

    Hi! I don’t have a blog, I just read them.

    I love the colours in that yarn.

  68. Kathleen says:

    I went to those 3 stores last year.First a yarn for all seasons, and you should stop in at Gabrielle’s next door. They make their own Ice Cream and it is GREAT! I was just at Down Cellar on MLK day. Look out they are wonderful colors of Malabrigo Lace. Angle Fire is in the A&P plaza next to my SIL’s house. Small but they do have some fun stuff. Every shop had a lovely person working there. Down Cellar were the most friendly. I can recommend eating at “The Store” next door to Down Cellar. Yummy!

    BTW do you belong to Gibson’s? I am usually ther at 7 pm m-th

  69. Tami says:

    love your blog,
    you can check my badly neglected blog at
    http://squiggi-knits.blogspot.com/

  70. Ren says:

    i don’t always comment, but i sometimes do and i know you’ve been over to my blog a few times. just saying hi! : )

  71. Kris says:

    I just found your blog from Keeping Me in Stitches!

    Stop over at my place for a chance to win goodies too!

    http://www.houseofwool.blogspot.com

  72. Julie says:

    Hi there! My blog isn’t knitting related, but I do. And that yarn… gorgeous!

  73. madalyn says:

    I’m saying “Hey,” too! My blog is http://www.lettucepieces.com/unravelme. And I heard about your contest/blog through Natalie over at Keeping Me In Stitches. 🙂

  74. Beth says:

    I know you already read me, but I’ll say hi too 🙂

  75. kathy b says:

    Hello! Kathy B here from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com

  76. hakucho says:

    I’m rather behind in my blogging…but wanted you to know I’m almost done with my first nutkin! Very different pattern than what I’m used to. A few new techniques. Your yarn is very pretty. I did mine in a solid this time. Good luck finishing your second sock 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  77. Shea says:

    I’m jumping in to say hi as well! Love the yarn you’re working with. Beautiful colors. I’m adding you to my regular reading list as well. Nice to meet ya!

    http://www.allthingsshea.blogspot.com

  78. Wendy says:

    Hello…..been blog hopping and came across your contest, I just LOVE contest, and I love BLOGS…It is part of my morning routine, to drink coffee and read blogs. Hope you pay me a visit…By the way, I am new to knitting, but have crocheted for 31 yrs…Have a great day……..

  79. Ina says:

    Hey! *waves hi* Thanks for a fun contest!

  80. Hey there! I found you from “keeping me in stitches”, and have added you to my favorites!

  81. rhoda says:

    just wanted to say how funny that it takes a contest to get people talking more! I hadn’t realized how many blogless people there were out there either. hope this cobblestone is going well.

  82. Erin says:

    What yarn is that?? It’s gorgeous!

  83. Pixie says:

    OH! I want to play! I love a good contest and I love reading your blog.

  84. Katie O says:

    Cool contest… I might have to do one!! I see so many people doing them and having a great time doing it!!! Yea for the yarn crawl… sounds like too much fun!!

  85. Chrsity says:

    Let me wipe the drool off my chin–love the yarn!

    Visit me at http://www.hissyknit.blogspot.com

  86. Aunt Kathy says:

    I love a contest, and I love comments too. I do the same as you, I have a contest and usually all required is a comment to be entered. I have one every other month that lasts for the whole month. Today is the last day for mine as well… I always miss the contest though so maybe I’ll sneak one in in February too, you never know.

  87. Amy says:

    Hi My name is Amy, and I’m a lurker. There I said it. I found your site from Wiknitsblog. I dont have a knitting blog, I can’t take the plunge. IF your on Ravely, My name is OhAmy. Thanks for the contest.

  88. Jen says:

    Meep! Found your blog via Ravelry. I don’t have a strictly-knitting blog, but I enjoy reading other people’s. (On Ravelry I’m cthulhulovesme, by the way).

  89. Shain says:

    Ooooh!! I love contests!! Here’s my blog link:
    http://journeysandreflections.wordpress.com

  90. Carin says:

    Did a yarn crawl last week with 7 shops and I drug my 13 month old. Say it with me..DIE HARD!!! 🙂 It was fun. Enjoy yours.

  91. Viola says:

    Ah, in the nick of time! Hey, does my blog have to be about knitting? (Of *course,* I didn’t read the rules. Don’t be silly.)

    There are a couple knit pieces in there, though.

    http://llagranola.blogspot.com/

    Hugs, L.

  92. amandacathleen says:

    oohhhhh…. I love a contest! : )
    It might be a little to late for this idea, but have ppl guess if Punxsutawney Phil will see his shadow or not.
    PS LOVE your header picture!

  93. Peggy says:

    We knitters must be a mercenary bunch. 😉

Leave a Reply

