What to do…

Don’t you love weekends where you don’t HAVE to do anything and have so many possibilities about what you can do?  That’s how this weekend is for me – nothing really needs to be done, but I have the next 3 days (Monday is a holiday here in the States) to do whatever I want.  Aaaahhh…..

Yesterday, I took the day off from work.  Larry and I joined a gym last weekend – yikes.  This is part of our overall plan to be more active and healthy.  So yesterday morning, we went and worked out for the first time. It was fun – ok, it really wasn’t.  It was a painful reminder at how out of shape we are.  But it was a good feeling afterwards that we did it – that I didn’t give in to my internal “this is crap – let’s just go out to breakfast”.   In the afternoon, we went with Andrew to the mall to buy him clothes (always a fairly painful process).    We also went to the Apple store – Larry bought an iPod for the gym, and I looked at the laptops – I’m not normally an Apple person, but damn – they really are nice! 

Afterwards, we hugged Andrew and sent him on his way back to college.  It was sort of lonely last night – always hard for the first few days after he leaves.  Not that we see him a lot when he’s home, but I know he’s “here”.  But on the plus side – I can see the floor of his bedroom again! 

So back to my weekend – other than going to the gym, walking the dogs (they really enjoy their once a week tromp through the woods and we hate to let them down) and grocery shopping – I don’t have anything I need to really do in the next three days.  And I’m so happy to have a weekend like that.  Nice to have some downtime and some fun time.  So this afternoon I’m meeting a friend for coffee – she has been trying to learn how to knit for the last few years.  We do this occasionally – get together and work on the scarf she’s been making for forever.  But it will be nice to see her, and it will give me some time to knit too.

Speaking of my knitting, I thought I’d show you that I have been working on Cobblestone…

037

I have a couple more inches on the body, and then I can start the sleeves.  Finally!  I have been resisting the lure of casting on for new projects because I really want to finish this.  But it has been difficult  – I keep on thinking about the Autumn throw, Hemlock ring blanket, shawls, sweaters…..too many nice things out there!  I need to stop reading blogs and looking at Ravelry!  But tomorrow is supposed to be very cold here so we are planning on just staying home with a nice fire and movies, so I’m sure I’ll get a lot done on this.

Of course, one other thing I plan on doing today is this….

018

Nothing like napping on a cold winter weekend!  I hope you have a nice one!

12 Responses to What to do…

  1. Cookie says:

    The sweater is looking good. Hopefully, it will go more quickly once you get to the arms.

    Aren’t long weekend fabulous? Remember to nap with the kitty. ;^)

  2. Jeanne says:

    I don’t get Monday off. *sniff* The sweater is looking pretty good…you are just cruising along on it! Enjoy your weekend. It’s -5F here and my plan it to not leave the house until Monday morning.

  3. Opal says:

    Good for you on joining the gym! I hold you in the highest esteem. 🙂 Are you very sore after that first workout?

    Cobblestone looks fabulous. I just love that blue!

  4. Lauren says:

    Going to the gym is a good plan.. I always wonder just how dorkie it would be to sit on the excercycle and knit.

  5. hakucho says:

    Your cobblestone is looking really good 🙂 A nap sounds good to me right about now, but unfortunately we’ll be off to basketball soon. I get to knit yay!

    Good for you joining the gym. You’ll be feeling much better once you get into a routine 🙂

    Lots of happy knitting this weekend 🙂

  6. lilypily says:

    Hi Jeanne!! Congratulations on joining the gym. Yes it’s awful for the first few weeks (months in my case) but I can’t imagine life without it now. Sad isn’t it. LOL. Seriously, you’ll soon be feeling so much better you’ll be looking forward to each work-out. Ok, well maybe not, but you won’t be fighting the urge to quit quite so much. :o))) I love the blue you’ve used for Cobblestone and looks like you are making great progress. Enjoy your weekend!!! Sounds like a wonderful way to spend one to me. :o)

  7. Ren says:

    i hope you’re having a great weekend! : )

  8. Jean says:

    Oh, sounds like a perfect weekend. Enjoy!

  9. weezalana says:

    Aren’t weekend naps the best? That Cobblestone’s looking good!

  10. adrienne says:

    CObblestone is looking great!!!

  11. Lisa says:

    You’ve made so much progress on Cobblestone! Enjoy your holiday today – I’m about to tromp out into the insane cold to catch my bus for work – think warm thoughts for me.

    Oh – and congrats on getting to the gym – it does get easier but I do think there are “working out is fun” people and those of us who see it for what it really is!

  12. Sarah says:

    Your cobblestone is looking great. Can’t wait to see the finished product!

Leave a Reply

