Year of the …?

Last year, the sock pattern of choice for me was Monkey. I made three pair (here, here and here) (damn, just looking at them makes me want to make another pair…)  Ahem.  Anyway, I just love the pattern – its easy, goes really fast, but yet looks so nice.  I love wearing my Monkeys, and have to restrain myself from casting on additional pairs.  I know I’ll never get tired of the pattern….

So I was a little shocked this weekend to realize that perhaps Monkey was just the pattern for 2007.  For 2008, I think there may be a new one….

029

This is Nutkin – and I have to tell you – I love it.  I saw the pattern on Ravelry (I know, people are tired of other people linking to Ravelry).  But there is a nice feature that lets you see what your friends are up to (or a stalker feature) – and I saw this pattern because someone put it in their queue (I forget who).  It looked nice, so I started it this weekend.    It is a very clever pattern – the cuff especially.  I’m actually already past the heel – and have already started thinking of what other yarn I have for another pair.  Speaking of yarn – like it?  Its Lisa Souza Sock! in Gendarme.  I really like this yarn – I think I bought it online, but I’ve seen it at Stitches (drat – should have gone this year and bought more!).

Although I love Nutkin, today I didn’t knit on the train.  I was completely and totally distracted and engrossed by a book.  I got “A Thousand Splendid Suns” for Christmas – started it this morning, and I think I’ll be up late tonight finishing it.  I read his previous book and really enjoyed it.  I really recommend this – it is an amazing book.  Wow.  That’s all I can say.  Wow!  Has anyone read it?

Have a great Wednesday – only two more work days for me this week!  And then a long long weekend…..

19 Responses to Year of the …?

  1. adrienne says:

    Love those colors!!!

  2. weezalana says:

    So would that make this the Year of the Nut? 😉

  3. Ren says:

    now i want to knit a pair of monkey socks! : )

  4. awanda says:

    That’s a beatiful sock and the pattern is a good one. Everytime I see it, it reminds me I want to try that pattern.

  5. 1120kat says:

    Your post could not have come at a better time! I literally just received that same yarn, same colorway in a swap, and it arrived today. I’ve been trying to figure out what pattern to use it for, and this one looks fantastic!! I can’t cast on just yet (serious case of startitis here) but this might be the pattern for the yarn! 🙂

  6. chris says:

    Coolio – I love the colors. I have Kite Runner, haven’t read it yet – just started Pillars of the Earth…..Big Book. Big.

  7. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I immediately downloaded the nutkin pattern as well, it’s perfect, like the embossed leaves socks-

    I love the color you chose as well.

  8. Jeanne says:

    Nutkin is on my list. I really like how yours are turning out.

  9. Carin says:

    Beautiful! I love your colour choices.

  10. Opal says:

    Gorgeous sock! Now I’m trying to think of which of my sock yarns would look good in it as I’m not using the Wollmeise for it.

    I read A Thousand Splendid Suns. Isn’t it fabulous? I also read The Kite Runner. I really liked the second book (A Thousand Splendid Suns) more. Maybe it has to do with the fact that it has to do with the female perspective of life in the mid-east.

  11. lilypily says:

    Nutkin is in my queue. Glad to hear such good things about it! Love the yarn you chose too – it’s beautiful!

  12. rhoda says:

    the colors are great. i love the way they’re knitting up. can’t wait to see the finished sock!

  13. Pixie says:

    LOVE this pattern! Thanks for giving me yet ANOTHER project to work on. 🙂

  14. Jean says:

    Oooh, that Nutkin pattern really is very cool. Thanks for the tip. I, too, have enjoyed the ‘spy on your friends’ feature on Ravelry. It’s fun and you can get some great ideas.

  15. hakucho says:

    I really love the monkey pattern ,too and a few days ago I bookmarked the nutkin pattern. I can’t remember where I saw it , but I thought it would be good to try with the 3 needle bind off. I’m not a big fan of kitchener’s. Can’t wait to see more of your socks…looking really good 🙂

  16. tiennie says:

    I love Nutkin too but I love the book even more! I really enjoyed both of his books!

  17. probablyjane says:

    Those colours just glow – and the pattern shows them off really well. Thanks for visiting my blog – the Swallowtail shawl is definititely on my list!

  18. knitoneblogtwo says:

    Oh. My. Word. I love that! Printing it off right the heck now. I made my first pair of Monkeys last month, and loved ’em, too…I’m Kirky on Ravelry.

  19. Awesome Mom says:

    That looks like a fun sock! I am going to have to try that. My Ravelry queue is getting to be massive with all the projects that I see on there that I want to try.

Leave a Reply

