Garter Rib

Did you miss me?  It feels like it has been years since I’ve blogged – either posting on mine, or commenting on someone else’s.  It has really been one of those busy weeks that didn’t  leave a lot of fun or down time.  I went to Tampa on Wednesday night (no fun – back on Thursday night) for a meeting, and work has been really hectic.    Which is good, and I’m not complaining – it was a little slow in the beginning but its picking up nicely and I’m really enjoying it.   

Going to Tampa did give me a little knitting time…so here is my first FO for 2008!

021

Pattern:  Garter Rib, Sensational Knitted Socks
Yarn:  Dream in Color Smooshy, Deep Seaflower colorway
Needles:  Knit Picks Harmony DPNs, US 1
Started:  December 28, 2007
Finished:  January 11, 2008

024

What can I say about this yarn?  I love it.  The color is beautiful – hard to tell in this picture but this has blues and purples – very pretty.  And soft.   I plan on buying more of it.   I am a little sad that these are going to Larry – but it has been a while since he has had new socks and one of his older pair had a hole and had to be tossed, so I suppose it was his turn.  

And how amazing is this – this is how much yarn I have left – probably enough to make a small pair of kid socks.  Maybe anklets for Cieara.  Definitely a good bargain.  I think that when I buy more for a pair for me – I just may learn how to do toe up because its sort of a shame to waste this yarn!

019

And the needles?  Love them.  I can’t believe what a difference it made in knitting to use the KP Harmony needles.  I switched them to my old bamboo for the flight to Tampa since I was paranoid the TSA would keep the KP’s – but I found I just didn’t like knitting as much with the bamboo as much as I like the Knit Picks.  So consider this a recommendation!

025

The pattern was good too – very easy, not complicated but looks a little nicer than a plain rib. 

I shouldn’t show you this (because I don’t want you buying the yarn that I want) but Opal sent me an email – her friend Rosegardenfibers finally got an Etsy shop.  Go take a look – this is hand-dyed Sterling yarn from Kraemer’s…..gorgeous.    So go look, but don’t buy my yarn!

I am so glad it is Friday – I’m looking forward to relaxing tonight, and tomorrow is my knitting group.  I have Cobblestone going, and I’m trying to think of what to start next – socks or shawl?  Decisions, decisions…..

Have a great weekend!

22 Responses to Garter Rib

  1. Ren says:

    those socks are beautiful! i love the colors!

  2. hakucho says:

    Oh boy, second post today I’m reading about the smooshy yarn…it’s got me drooling 😉 Those garter rib socks are gorgeous! I need to learn how to do toe up too.

    happy knitting 🙂

  3. Kathleen says:

    Yummy looking socks. I like it when there is enough left over for more. Shortie socks are my favorite. I am still knitting them for myself from left over Christmas present yarn.

  4. chris says:

    Nice socks – lucky Larry! And the smooshy is wonderful to knit with. I went to look at the yarn – but although I didn’t buy any – i think other peoples have!

  5. rhoda says:

    i love those socks! I’m going to have to check out that pattern. you’re just going to have to knit yourself a pair of socks in another colorway..did you really have to give us that link?? was your color the cattail pedicure??

  6. adrienne says:

    Your socks look fantastic!

  7. Peggy says:

    Beautiful socks! I have one Dream in Color sock done and the rest lounging in a ball, hopefully mine come out as nice as yours!

    Thanks for the recommendation in the KP harmony, I’ve been wondering about them.

  8. Jilliana says:

    Your socks look smashing! I just finished knitting some in that same pattern, and I have to agree it was a pretty good knit.

  9. Jeannie says:

    Those are some nice socks for Larry. You’re lucky that he actually wears colors. My DH sticks with neutrals–boring! I love the smooshy yarn too.

  10. Ashley says:

    The socks are gorgeous! It’s awesome that you had so much yarn left too! I always love finding new sock yarns.

  11. weezalana says:

    Those are GORGEOUS! Okay, now I *really* want that yarn!

  12. Wanda says:

    Indeed those socks are beautiful! I’m sure your dh is thrilled to have them.

    I hear lots of people saying that they feel they should use as much as the yarn as possible, and I’ve thought of learning to knit socks toe-up. But really I don’t like my socks to be very tall, so there will always be some wastage, but I just try to find a different method of using the leftovers. And if not, there are always people doing some crazy project where they are looking for leftovers, so I figure I get off the hook with it, by donating it to their cause/project, etc. 🙂

  13. Lucinda says:

    Great looking socks! Garter rib was the pattern I used for my very first socks. I love how it’s not-exactly-plain, but still something that doesn’t require carrying around instructions.

  14. Opal says:

    Beautiful socks! I should have some Smooshy coming my way. And I can’t believe we bought the same yarn from Shelly. Too funny!

  15. Shelly says:

    Thank you so much for your comment on my shop – just a quick note – the Pedicure that is in the shop at moment – is not the Sterling, it is from Kraemer though. I need to dye more of the Shimmer (our hand dyed sterling) asap!
    Thanks for the comment on it!

  16. Lauren says:

    Totally beautiful. You did a great job on these socks!

  17. Jo says:

    Wow, your socks turned out lovely!

  18. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- The Dream In Color is lovely, and you do get alot of yardage.
    I’m in one of those I’m-knitting-this-because -I-can’t-decide-what-to-knit phases.

    Only another knitter would understand.

  19. Jeanne says:

    Great socks. That’s one of my favorite patterns…it just flies of the needles. I got some Smooshy for my b-day….hmmmm.

  20. lilypily says:

    The socks look great!! Lovely colour too. :o)

  21. Charlene says:

    I also love the kp Harmony needles.

Leave a Reply

