Holy Crap It’s Cold!

One of the drawbacks about getting up at 4:30 a.m. (in addition to the obvious fact that its 4:30 a.m. and no one should be awake at that time!) is that I don’t watch the news.  It isn’t on that early in the morning – and even if it was – I don’t have the time to watch it.  I have 45 minutes to get ready (shower/dress/hair, etc) and be on my way.   While I miss is seeing what is going on in the area, I really miss seeing the weather forecast!  Unless I’m proactive and check the night before, I have no idea how to dress.    Its winter so I wear winter clothes – not that hard, right?  Wrong. 

Take today.  Today it was 12° F (-11° C) when I left the house.  14° F (-10° C) while I waited for the train. 14° in New York (again -10° C).  That is just freaking cold.  And what was I wearing?  A skirt.  Awesome.  Oh, what made it a little better?  The door on my train was broken – so the car was freezing.  And let’s review – wearing?  Skirt. 

So to keep my mind off freezing….I started to visualize.  My feet were cold (numb, in fact) so I visualized them in wool socks.  My hands were cold…I had these one…

006

Fabulous, aren’t they?  Part of my Christmas present from Chris (I’ll show the rest another time – its upstairs and I’m lazy but the rest is amazing).  I love them  – Fetchings and I didn’t have to make them.  The only problem is that when it is 14°, fingers tend to get a little cold.   So I visualized that I finished these – rather than leaving them in my knitting basket for the last two months….

905

As I walked the 300 miles from the WTC to my office (actually just a few blocks but today it really felt like a long long way), and felt the wind blowing up my skirt, I visualized knitting myself a pair of longjohns.  Out of really warm alpaca.  To wear under my skirt. That I shouldn’t have been wearing.

23-1

What do you think? Interested? Pattern here…..

When I finally got into my office, I put my iPhone into the charger – and hit the Weather button….guess what I saw? 

011
I saw Opal’s weather!  Just what I needed! (in case you are wondering – I am not stalking Opal – I was bored one day on the train – so I have Singapore, London, Juneau, New York and Honolulu weather – I tried to add Antarctica but it wouldn’t let me). 

I’m home now – in a thick sweater, wearing my Fetchings (thank, Chris!) and wool socks – with a fire going.   And you know what?  Visualization really doesn’t work – this is the first time I’ve been warm all day.

I hope you have a good Friday….and Opal?  Can you please adopt me? 

15 Responses to Holy Crap It’s Cold!

  1. If I adopted you, you would not be wearing a skirt on a day like today – stay warm!

  2. Wanda says:

    First of all, getting up at 4:30 a.m. is just ugly all the way around. Perhaps you should check your iPhone before you leave work in the a.m.

    You can wear a skirt in the winter, but for heaven’s sake, put on some tights or something. I know you were freezing!

  3. cbdom says:

    I think that you should make a trip to Hawaii. It’s really lovely there right now. Aron and I just went. 😀 Okay, I’m actually not flaunting. I’m just trying to talk you into going since it really is a great time of year to go. 🙂

  4. nat says:

    you could always adopt Terri or me! It is very hot here at the moment 78 – 91F for today and 75 – 90 for the next 2 days! Warm yet? Oh, and about 80 percent humidity…

  5. Opal says:

    You’re welcome here anytime. Just remember to bring your stash. 😉

    BTW, you can stalk me anytime. *heehee*

  6. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Elizabeth Zimmermann called hers nether garments- and she was one smart cookie. I always wish for a pair-

    stay warm-

  7. weezalana says:

    Suddenly I feel like a wuss, because I get cold when it drops below 70.

    Ah, Hawaii… *sigh*

  8. Rebekah says:

    Love the new blog design, by the way.

    Oh we watch the weather constantly! I can only imagine how cold you must have been. Those longjohn things are interesting, but really in that case I think I’d just order some already made 🙂

    Hope you are warmer today!

  9. Cookie says:

    Like the new layout.

    I’m glad you made it home in one piece. That’s just too cold for people to be and about. When do you cast on for the wool longies?

  10. Jeanne says:

    No question you should knit those long johns. For what’s it’s worth, it’s 40 here today, and in theory my weather should be traveling towards you…

  11. hakucho says:

    The tights pattern looks like quite the project. I wonder how long it would take to knit those? Back in the olden days when girls couldn’t wear pants to school my mother always made sure I had wool tights on in the winter time. They weren’t handmade, but they were warm. If you wear a lot of skirts I definitely would make a pair. They really would be nice and warm 🙂

  12. Kathleen says:

    BonTon has long undies on sale.

  13. rhoda says:

    wow, it was down to 12 degrees F??? I can barely stand anything below 50 but 12? I can imagine how freezing you were running around in a skirt. 😦 Ugh. I hate when it takes all day for me to warm up too. Glad you’ve warmed up–stay that way!!

  14. lilypily says:

    That even SOUNDS cold. Glad you’re warm now. Bet you wear thick tights from now on! :o)

  15. Lisa says:

    Goodness girl — a skirt?? Glad your knees didn’t freeze off!

Leave a Reply

