Happy New Year!

IMG_0122

There is something about New Year’s Day that makes me want to do things differently – how cliche, eh?  But I woke up this morning (at 4:30 the first time ….in preparation for tomorrow morning I suppose) ready to do things differently.  I don’t want to make resolutions per se, but there are a couple of things in my life that I’d like to do differently.

So after I got the pork shoulder in the oven for pulled pork (we are having a traditional Southern US New Year’s dinner), Larry and I took the dogs for a walk at Merrill Creek, a reservoir 6 miles away from us.   That we had never been to – even though we’ve lived in this area for 12 years.  It was beautiful, and the dogs really enjoyed themselves (although Ruby was really tired at the end of our walk).  Can you guess that the first thing I want to do differently in 2008 is be more active?

IMG_0121

Larry and I are trying to find new things to do together that are more active than sitting watching TV and knitting.  Not that I want to stop knitting, but I really have gained a lot of weight and rather than be on a diet that I will hate, we are going to eat more healthy and be more active.  And we really are in a rut – Andrew constantly tells us how old we are (gosh, it really is great having kids).  Becoming active, and doing things together will be good for us in a lot of ways.  So now we are shopping for these…..we did it on vacation in Maine and loved it. 

The next thing I decided to change was the blog.  If you are reading in Bloglines, go check it out.  Whole new thing.  Let me know what you think.   

OK, ‘nuf of that stuff.  The other thing I decided this morning was that I was going to start a new project (remember it was like yesterday that I said I didn’t want a lot of new projects?  Come on, you knew that wouldn’t last…).  I decided that I just wasn’t in a lace mood right now – although I do want to make both the Twinings and the Swallowtail shawls soon.  Nope – this morning when I woke up, the only thing I could think about was the beautiful throw that I saw yesterday.  So I rummaged through the stash and found two options…

1132 1133

On the left is Elann Peruvian Highland Wool in a cream color.  The right is Manos Del Uruguay in Stellar.    The Totally Autumn throw was in a varigated yarn and I love this colorway of Manos, but the single color ones that I’ve seen are gorgeous.  Decisions, decisions….

IMG_0128

I just couldn’t resist the colors of the Manos.  Its just gorgeous – and when the sun hits it, it is amazing. 

It is back to work for Larry and me tomorrow, and back to school for Cieara (lucky Andrew is still off!).  I’m ready to be back – I’ve had a nice week off, but its time to get back to normal.

I hope you have a wonderful New Year’s Day, and of course, a very good 2008!

15 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. Opal says:

    I love the new look of the blog! And that throw? OMG. So gorgeous! I can’t wait to see it knit up in that beautiful Manos.

  2. Happytee says:

    Your blog looks great, I love the pictures.

  3. weezalana says:

    Lovely blog makeover! 🙂

    Looks like it was a gorgeous day for a walk!

  4. rhoda says:

    beautiful picture! 🙂 it’s nice and calming in here. 😉 the throw is gorgeous. how could you not want to cast on for it!

  5. chris says:

    Nice blogover. And Merrill Creek is a great place – we spend a lot of time there – I highly recommend the kayaking – we have three and use them everywhere.

    Love that throw – it’s in my queue – but not for awhile – though it is chilly and would be nice to wrap up in – wouldn’t that be awesome in cascade?

  6. lobstah says:

    Happy new year Jeanne! I love the new look, very impressive!

  7. Lisa says:

    I love the new look – very serene and fresh!

    The throw will be gorgeous no matter what – can’t wait to see it.

    Then you can send it to me so I can keep warm! It snowed here all day today. 😉

  8. Jeanne says:

    I like the new blog look. I need to do that too…

  9. Terri says:

    The new look blog is great! Is WordPress easy to use? I’m really getting a bit tired of blogger and been toying with changing for quite a while. I’ve been putting it off because….well better the devil you know. But maybe the time has come.

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Every time I take my dog for a walk, she thinks it’s new years. We’re both out of shape.

    I love the throw- I have some Wollmeise Laceweight in Red Hot Chili that looks exactly like the featured color- co-incidence? I think not.

    Happy New Year to you guys!

  11. hakucho says:

    Your blog looks great 🙂

    Your new project looks interesting…can’t wait to see more!

    Happy knitting 🙂

  12. Rebekah says:

    What beautiful pictures! Your new project sounds lovely, I just love the colors of most Manos. But boy, I agree I’d have a hard time choosing too.

  13. Kathleen says:

    My husband and I have Kayaks. We go to Spruce Run, Round Valley, the Deleware River, Little Egg Harbor. Okay we have taken them lots of places or have they taken us lots of places. I do know that you can knit in kayaks. My husband fishes and I knit.

    Happy New Year

  14. tiennie says:

    Happy New Year to you too!

  15. […] in Cascade 220.  Totally inspired by, and Lemming-ed from Jeanne.  I was cold.  Then I read her post.  Then I had a lightbulb moment of what was in my stash, even though it’s not chunky, I […]

Leave a Reply

