Best of 2007

I’ve been thinking about my last post of 2007 for the last few days.  This has been another year of change for my family and I – another new job for me and Dan moved into his own apartment.  This has been a good year for us – lots of good times, and (knocking wood) everyone is healthy, happy and doing well. 

From a knitting perspective – this has been a busy year.  When I look at my FO2007 page and compare it to my FO2006 I realized that I really finished a lot more.  21 non-sock items and 14 pairs of socks (as compared to the same amount of socks in 2006, but only a few non-sock items and most of those were small)   I think it is due to my commute – having all that train time really has helped.  Plus since August, I’ve been trying to focus on completing (not starting) projects, and only working on one (maybe two) projects at a time.  Although I love the feeling of starting a new project, I just don’t like having a lot of projects hanging around.  And I think the feeling of completing projects is much nicer. 

I saw a meme on Knit Lit that I thought would be good for me to use to review this last year….

 1.  Best FO of the year….

This was a hard choice – I loved so many of the things I finished.  But I think I’d have to say that the best was the Kimono shawl

Knitting 032

2.  Best FO of the year made by a blog you link to….

This is really hard – there are over 300 blogs in my Bloglines, and each person has made amazing things this year.  I’ve been amazed and inspired by so many….a pretty shawl from Opal, a beautiful top by Chris, a gorgeous sweater by Lorraine, amazing socks by Tracey…this is just the tip of the iceberg.  I’ve been so inspired by all of the blogs I read this year and I know that half of the things on my Ravelry queue are because I saw them on someone’s blog….in fact, in one case, I was “meh” on the sweater pattern in Interweave Knits until I saw it on Tiennie’s blog (in fact, I’m constantly inspired by Tiennie’s gorgeous knits).    There are just so many that I could list – hard to choose.  Believe me  if I read your blog – I’m inspired.  And if I don’t read it  – please let me know who you are!  I always like new inspiration.

3.   Best yarn you tried.

OK, this isn’t glamorous – but the best new yarn for me in 2007 was Cascade 220.  I used it to make Ariann, and have loved it ever since.  This is my yarn.  I’m using it now to make Cobblestone for Larry, and I just love the way it feels, and how it looks.  If you haven’t tried it – you realy should. 

221

4.  Best new book/mag/pattern of 2007.

Yikes.  This is another hard one.  I certainly bought a lot of books and patterns.  I think the favorite book I bought was Knitting Classic Style (although I haven’t made anything yet).   As far as patterns – anything by Anne at Knitspot – I have purchased a lot of them – all are gorgeous and I really need to start making them.

 5. Best new knitting technique or gadget

I was sort of stumped on this and had to think about what I’ve done all year – and then it popped into my head.  The best new knitting technique I learned this year was cabling without a cable needle.  Thanks, Grumperina!  It really helped with the endless Fetchings and Dashings I did for Christmas this year. 

919

6.  Top 5 inspirations – what 5 things inspired me the most over the past year.

Ravelry is obviously the number one (and maybe 2, 3, 4 and 5) choice.  It is an amazing site and I can’t tell you how many times I browse through the patterns there and see what people have done with them.  I don’t really use the forums, and there is no way I’m putting my stash on it but I do think its a great site.  Other than that, I’d have to say that I’m constantly inspired by what I see other people’s blogs.  And I’ve also been inspired by my knitting group – amazing group of women and their projects are just wonderful.

7.  Designer who most amazed & inspired you throughout the year

Again, I think this would be Knitspot.   Her designs are gorgeous, and even if I’ve never made any yet – I love looking at them, and I think I’ll be starting one very soon. 

8.  Knitting resolutions for 2008 – what’s next for you and your blog.

In 2008, my knitting resolutions are:

a) Knit from the stash more than I buy new yarn.
b) Knit a large, triangle lace shawl
c) Knit a fair isle sweater

As far as non-knitting: 

a) Learn how to crochet (and make a ripple blanket)
b) Become a better spinner  – learn to spin a certain weight because I want that weight (now I get what I get)
c) Spin more! 
d) Attend more classes or retreats (SOAR is going to be very near me this coming year!)

As far as the blog – continue it as I have been.  I have really enjoyed doing this, and the friends I’ve made through it. 

So there you go – that’s my year in review.  It really has been a good year – knitting and otherwise, and I look forward to next year. 

It is time for me to get going, so I’ll end with a wish for you and your family to have a very Happy New Year – I hope the coming year is good for you in every way that counts!

9 Responses to Best of 2007

  1. A very inspiring post and meme! Happy New Year to you and your family!!!

  2. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I’m really flattered that I got a mention in there. Your blog has been very entertaining and inspiring. You really had a good year, but I think 2008 will be better. If you can swing it- try to attend SOAR, I know alot of people who have raved about it- and it will be something for YOU.

    Anne Hanson- she’s my lace hero.

  3. Ina says:

    Happy New Year! Great year end review. I’ve been wanting to make the Kimono Shawl ever since I saw yours!

  4. Jeanne says:

    I’ll agree with you on #3…I discovered Cascade 220 this year as well. And Ravelry…well, I do seems to spend an awful amount of time just looking around there as well. Have a safe and happy New Year!

  5. weezalana says:

    What a great wrap-up of the year! It’s amazing to see how much change – and growth – can happen in just 12 months. 🙂

    Have a Happy New Year!

  6. hakucho says:

    You certainly covered just about everything. I would say you had a very good knitting year in 2007. Hope that 2008 brings you lots of happy knitting 🙂

  7. Opal says:

    What a great meme! I wish I had seen it before my last post. As for Anne Hanson? Not only is she a marvelous designer, she’s one of the nicest people I know of in blogland. How she manages to do it all I have no idea.

    I’m really looking forward to reading your blog in 2008 and getting inspired by your knitting and your friendship. Happy New Year, dear friend!

  8. Kathleen says:

    Happy New Year
    Looking forward to seeing your Twinings

  9. Jennifer says:

    Have a wonderful New Year’s! I love your kimono shawl. It’s stunning!

Leave a Reply

