Green tea

I drink green tea almost every day…but today, I had a different type

1117

Yarn:  SeeJayneKnitYarn, Green Tea colorway
Pattern:  Stansfield 169,  More Sensational Knitted Socks
Started:  November 11, 2007
Finished:  December 29, 2007
Needle:  US #1 DPN

1119

I really enjoyed making this pair of socks – it took so long because I put them aside for Christmas knitting – I think  I would have had these done a long time ago without that.   The pattern was very easy to follow and memorize – I think this is the first pair I’ve made from this book but I marked a few of the patterns, and look forward to making them.  The yarn – just so gorgeous in person.  Jayne is on vacation right now, but once she comes back, I highly recommend stalking her Etsy site (like I do!).  Gorgeous color in this yarn – I don’t have a pair of socks like this and I’m so glad I stepped out of my normal colors to buy it.  

1122

My party went well – the kids and Larry helped to get ready and we all had a good time.  Lots of good food (and wine!).  But today I woke up feeling that the cold which had been creeping up on me for the last few days really was here.  Sigh….so I spent the day drinking tea and taking Zicam.  We were supposed to go to the opera tonight, but I just didn’t feel up to it – I’m at the tired and achy phase.  So I did this….

1125

I started the Swallowtail shawl this morning and got through the first pattern – and the needle slipped out of the whole thing.  Grr.  I was using KnitPick’s Options needles, but I think I’m going to order some Harmony needles – they won’t be so slippery. 

So instead of the shawl, I started a pair of socks for Larry…. 
1127

This is Dream in Color Smooshy – and I love the yarn.  I’m sort of sorry I let Larry pick it out for him – maybe I should have hid it better in the stash.  The pattern is Garter Stich rib (Ravelry link) and the needles?  KnitPicks Harmony DPN’s – I got them from Christmas from Larry (maybe so I would make him a pair of socks?).  They are amazing – wow.  I really can’t believe the difference between the Harmony needles and typical bamboo or wooden DPN’s.  I won’t be using anything but these – they are really smooth yet firm – no bending. 

Well, back to knitting – enjoy your weekend!

13 Responses to Green tea

  1. Terri says:

    Your socks are gorgous! I’m going to have to order that book. I keep meaning to and not getting around to it. Hope you get well fast!

  2. weezalana says:

    Those Green Tea Socks are SO pretty! Hope you feel better soon!

  3. Those socks are just gorgeous. I love that colorway. And I hope you feel better – just say no to the cold! That works…..right?

  4. Sylvie says:

    Your socks are really pretty, I just love that color!

    Hope your feeling better

  5. adrienne says:

    Love the socks! I will make a pair in 2008! I still can’t get past the snow lol

  6. Pixie says:

    I love this color!! Both Sensational Knitted Sock books are my FAVORITE knitting books and I almost always carry one or the other around with me.

  7. Cookie says:

    Beautiful socks!

    I hope you start feeling better soon.

  8. Opal says:

    Gorgeous socks and gorgeous photos! I think it’s so funny. I picked up my neglected pair of socks this weekend too. They’re just so rejuvenating. I was really getting burnt out on those all those gloves.

    Larry’s socks look so cozy. I love that colorway. Which is it?

    I hope you can get rid of that cold ASAP. I really hate to to think of you being sick.

  9. Lisa says:

    Those are lovely – and make me think of spring (dear god – is it time for spring yet? Pretty please?!)

    Enjoy your day and I hope youfeel better soon.

  10. hakucho says:

    Your green tea socks are gorgeous! Get rid of yiur cold quick 🙂
    happy knitting 🙂

  11. Leigh says:

    Oh, my! How beautiful! Those socks look superb, and I’ve been pondering what my next pair’s pattern should be…I ended up felting the tam a bit this evening, so we’ll see how it dries. Thanks for stopping by my page – holiday time is absolutely wonderful (this is my longest break of the year!). I do hope your cold scoots out quickly – if you haven’t tried it, I recommend the Celestial Seasonings Peppermint Green Tea. Or, you know, a shot a of Jack and a spoonful of honey. 🙂

  12. Wanda says:

    Those socks are really lovely!

  13. rhoda says:

    oh my gosh! they look magnificent! you just reminded me that now I’m back home, I need to check out my favorite etsy sellers to see if they’ve posted anything new!

Leave a Reply

