Getting ready…

We are having some friends over tonight –  I’m really looking forward to it as I haven’t seen most of them for at least a year.  But what a drag it is getting ready for a party!  We went grocery shopping yesterday, and last night I made a few dishes and desserts.  Today I need to tidy up the house (and do laundry so I have something to wear), and make a few more dishes.  And what am I doing? 

1115

Why I’m winding yarn for a new project!  How about Swallowtail Shawl in cashmere?  This is Just Our Yarn Myne – 500 yards of cashmere-y goodness.  I bought it at Maryland last May for just this shawl.    Isn’t it pretty?  And I think I need to do a small shawl to practice for bigger ones….and it is my Mother’s birthday in a few weeks – what do you think?  Possible to do this shawl by mid-January?

I was looking at Year of Lace this morning – so tempting.  But $250 is so much money and I have a lot of laceweight in the stash already.  And I didn’t really like being in the STR sock club – I got too much yarn that I don’t really like and I didn’t use one skein or pattern.  What is it about these clubs that make you want to join though?  Did you join any clubs for next year?

Well, I suppose I should go clean a bathroom (or cast on for a shawl….)….have a great Friday!

10 Responses to Getting ready…

  1. Rebekah says:

    ONe has to have one’s priorities straight. Now go cast on for that shawl 🙂

  2. Adrienne says:

    Hey, your page has snow falling on it!!!! LOL

  3. Jeanne says:

    I was in the STR club the last two years, and while 2007 was decidedly better than 2006 (I won a free 2007 membership or I wouldn’t have rejoined) I definitely won’t be joining any more clubs.

  4. Cookie says:

    You can totally do Swallowtail in time. Just don’t let the nupps scare you. ;^)

    I’ve heard so many stories about the STR club, there’s no way I’m going to sign up for something like that. Unless it’s a dyer I trust. I don’t need to get stuck with yarn that I’ll never use. I only have so much freezer space, ya know.

    Enjoy your party!

  5. Opal says:

    That yarn is going to make one gorgeous shawl! And the Swallowtail is totally doable in your time frame. I know you can do it!

    I know exactly what you mean about yarn clubs. It’s precisely why I don’t join them. I have so much in my stash, I’d rather add to it with a more discerning eye then with the wild guesswork a club brings.

  6. hakucho says:

    I don’t think I would join a club…I rather just pick out yarn myself. I need to use up what’s in my stash anyways before I go buying too much more yanr. I think I’ll wait until I have a project in mind 🙂

    I’d much rather be knitting than cleaning any day. We just finished tidying up our house. It allays amazes me how messy the house gets with Christmas! I’m always glad to get the tree down and everything back in order.

    happy knitting 🙂

  7. weezalana says:

    I’m not a yarn clubber. Exclusive or not, I’d much rather spend my yarn budget on colors and fibers I *know* I’ll love!

  8. Beautiful Yarn. I hope you were able to relax and cast on before your company arrived!

  9. Wanda says:

    Yup, as much as I think the clubs are nice, I don’t have to be a member. Too much random things that I might not buy. I’d rather choose. Besides most make them available after a period of time. And if I felt that I just had to have it, I could always get someone to dye something similar. Too many things are too easy to replicate now. And sending me yarn every couple of months does not ensure I would be knitting with it right then either.

    Good luck wth getting swallowtail done. That is beautiful yarn.

  10. rhoda says:

    ooh. that yarn is gorgeous! you know, I thought about joining the year of lace also but $250 was a bit much for my wallet as well. though I am in the sundara season’s, zen string, and probably my last chewy spaghetti club. I need to swear off these clubs already!!

Leave a Reply

