Finally!

We had a very nice Christmas – Ruby woke us up at 5:15 by bursting into our room…which scared the crap out of me.  She was soon followed by Cieara at 5:30.  I’m not sure why my kids don’t get up any later on Christmas as they get older – but we were all up and milling about at 5:45.    We had a good time opening gifts, and playing….and just about everyone had a nap later in the day.

Now that Christmas is over, and gifts have been given – I can show some FO’s….

1069

Dashing for Andrew and Dan and Fetching for Alex and Carrie (girlfriends)
Yarn:  Knit Picks Swish Superwash

Love the yarn, love the pattern  – and won’t knit either pattern for a while!

1070

Andrew’s hat (red) – A Hat Fit for a Boyfriend, Knit Picks Swish Superwash
Dan’s hat (black) – Twisted Rib Watch Cap, Knit Picks Swish Superwash

I thought both patterns were great, and I’ll keep them in my pattern folder.

So yesterday, after all the gifts were given and things quieted down, and we had some downtime….and I cast on for something that wasn’t a mitten or a hat….

1077

This is Cobblestone pullover for Larry in Cascade 220.  This is the second time with this pattern – and I must say I’m much happier knitting it in this yarn than the Skye Tweed I originally used.  Everytime I use this yarn I want to go and buy more – its just so nice to knit with and I love how it looks.  I’m so happy to be knitting this – I couldn’t wait to get up this morning and get back to it. 

Larry bought a surprise family gift yesterday – Guitar Hero for the Wii – and we had a blast playing it.  I’m terrible at it – but it was a lot of fun even so….this is Larry right before he started doing scissor kicks (kidding!)…

1063

I’m heading out today with Chris for some post-holiday away time at a couple of yarn stores and lunch. 

Hope you have a good day too!

15 Responses to Finally!

  1. Oiyi says:

    Love the fetchings and dashings! My hubby bought Rock Band for the X-Box 360 and it has the guitar, drums and a microphone for singing.

  2. Cookie says:

    Ya’ll were up how early?!

    Love the hats and mitts. Well done! And thanks for the link to the boyfriend hat. I may need to knit that soonish.

    I hope you’re having a fun day out and avoiding the masses.

  3. Jeanne says:

    Wow. That’s early. Your knitted gifts look wonderful.

  4. Opal says:

    Love the knitted gifts. How do you like the Swish?

    Good luck on Cobblestone 2.0. I think you’ll find the second time around is much easier. At least that’s how it usually goes for me.

    I hope you have a great time with Chris. I wish I could be there with you two!

  5. Great knitted gifts – boy you were productive! And that guitar hero looks too fun – I want it – but you’ll have to play it with me – no one wants to here!!!!!

    Had a great time today – even without the yarn!

  6. hakucho says:

    Glad you had a happy holiday 🙂 All your knitted gift are beautiful and I so understand the burnt out feeling when we knit too much of one pattern…now we get to knit what we want. 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  7. Rebekah says:

    What great presents you gave your family! I love the picture of all the fetchings.

    I’m so jealous on the Wii.

  8. Wanda says:

    5 a.m.? That’s crazy talk! Too funny! I’m happy that everyone was so excited to wake up for Christmas! Enjoy your day off.

  9. weezalana says:

    Great job on all the knitted gifts! The mitt pic reminds me of the Wonder Twins. 😉

    Isn’t Guitar Hero totally geeky fun?

  10. Lorraine says:

    My son got Guitar Hero for his Wii, and it is hilarious. Sounds like everyone had a great time.

    Have fun at the yarn shops!

  11. stitchdom says:

    Sounds like a fun time for all – Great knits and tell Larry he IS a guitar hero!

  12. tiennie says:

    Happy holidays to you too!

  13. Terri says:

    My daughter and her partner got one of those guitar thingies for Christmas too and they also love it. DD looks hilarious playing it as she’s 21wks pregnant and has to hold the guitar below the belly. :o) Too funny. Looks like you had a great Christmas. The knitted mits and hats look great! Glad they were well received. :o)

  14. Arleta says:

    Great knit gifts! We want a wii. Lucky! We love to play GH on the Play Station2, but a wii would be so much more fun!

    I had to wake everyone up on Christmas morning. I still can’t sleep if I know Santa’s been to the house! hehe

    Happy New Year!

  15. rhoda says:

    5:45 in the morning?? goodness. 8 is the earliest I can get anyone up at my mom’s house!! thanks for the link to ‘a hat fit for a bf.’ I’ll definitely be making one of those. 🙂

Leave a Reply

