New York

We had a really good time in New York on Saturday….

1031

We didn’t get to ice skate at Bryant Park because the line was so long that the girls didn’t want to wait.  So we did a little shopping – and a little coffee drinking.   It was so cold and so crowded it was unreal.  At some points it felt like it was just impossible to get through the crowds.  You would think with it being so cold that everyone would stay home, wouldn’t you?

We had dinner at Hard Rock Cafe and here we finally got to embarass Cieara by calling attention to her birthday – very loudly.    They stood her on a chair while the waiter yelled that it was her birthday, and everyone cheered.  She was a good sport about it, and we had a good time with her and her friends.

1038

The first thing we did when we got to NY was to check out the holiday shops at Bryant Park.  OK, I have to admit – part of this was me being selfish….because there was a qiviut store there….and I have to admit – I fell off the yarn diet in a big way….

1018

This is about 200 yards  – its laceweight-ish.  It is so soft.  And it was freaking expensive.  But…I think I may make a half-Montego Scarf for me – I figure that the full size took 400ish yards, so I’ll cast on 1/2 the stitches.  I wish you could feel this – amazing.

OK, I need to go talk to Andrew, watch the season finale of Dexter….and pay attention to Ruby.

1012

Don’t you just love that face?

12 Responses to New York

  1. tiennie says:

    Glad you had a great time! Cute cute doggie!

  2. chris says:

    Looks like everyone had a lot of fun! Including those that broke the the yarn diet for beautiful yarn!

    Ruby is just the cutest – I want her.

  3. Opal says:

    Oooh qiviut. That yarn is so worth breaking the diet and the price. I can’t wait to see you knit it up.

    Ruby is too cute! I do love that face.

  4. hakucho says:

    Your trip sounds like fun…too bad it was so crowded. I’ve heard of qiviuk, but have never seen it in person. It will be interesting to see it knitted up. Ruby is adorable and I love her sweater…too cute!

    happy knitting 🙂

  5. Jeanne says:

    I’ve never seen qiviut in anything but various shades of brown before. (I don’t do brown) Very pretty and I can imagine how soft and how expensive.

  6. Lorraine says:

    What a memorable night in New York. No matter how cold it is, people are still outside.

    I fondled some quiviut at SMW-it’s hard to resist, isn’t it?

  7. Linda B says:

    Merriest Christmas Jeanne and family! Love seeing your beautiful work. Wonderful, too, hearing about your lovely family; happy belated birthdays, Andrew and Cieara!

  8. Terri says:

    Glad you all had fun. What a great experience for you all though. I just love that cute little doggie photo…is this Ruby? Too unbearably adorable!!

  9. weezalana says:

    Sounds like it was a fun evening!

    Yeah, I wish I could feel that quivuk, too.

  10. Carin says:

    What fun for Cieara to be able to go into the city with some friends.
    And if you are going to fall off a yarn diet, qiviut is worth falling for.

  11. Oh my… Qiviut! **drool**

  12. Jessica says:

    I keep walking past that qiviut booth and trying to pretend it doesn’t exist! Definitely looks like you had a good time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

